It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides searchable online access to the 16th (2010) and 15th (2003) editions of the standard style manual, as well as a downloadable facsimile of the first edition (1906). Also includes Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide, and Chicago Style Q&A (editors' answers to questions submitted by readers, updated monthly).
"The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction." (source: website)
RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool. It is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
First time users will be asked to create an account for RefWorks. If you are attempting to access RefWorks from off campus you will be asked to login in using your campus username and password first. After that you will need to provide your RefWorks username and password.
Call Number: copy in stacks: LB2369 .G53 2016; copy in Reference Collection: Ref. LB2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
Scientific Style and Format is the most recognized, authoritative reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields. The seventh edition of this useful resource has been fully updated and expanded to reflect changes in recommendations from authoritative international bodies. New chapters cover the responsibilities of authors, editors, and peer reviewers in scientific publication and discuss copyright requirements and practices. The chapters on books and journals provide advice pertinent to both electronic and print publication, and authoritative online resources are listed where available. Both American and British styles are covered. Everyone involved in scientific publishing should have the seventh edition of Scientific Style and Format on hand.