Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Theory, Foundational Reading List: Chronological Order


Internet ArchiveThese foundational works span more than two millennia, from antiquity with each of the selected works contributing to the overall development of Political Theory and Philosophy. With a critical reading of these titles -- some informative and inspiring, some disconcerting, perhaps disagreeable. The views expressed run the political gamut, with a dose of religiosity thrown in.  The path through these important work ultimately leads to a more comprehensive understanding of the development and evolution of the Political theories that inform our contemporary views and perspectives.

Key: subscription Subscription  Open access Open Access web resource Web  Book


GREEK & ROMAN 


THE REPUBLIC

Plato (427 - 347, B.C.E.) (biography)

EBook Central   subscription

Project Gutenberg, trans. By Benjamin Jowett  Open access

 


THE ATHENIAN CONSTITUTION

Aristotle (384 - 322, B.C.E)  (biography)

Project GutenbergTrans. By Frederick Kenyon  Open access 

 


THE REPUBLIC OF CICERO

Marcus Tullius Cicero (106 - 43, B.C.E.) (biography)

Gutenberg ProjectTrans. By George William Featherstonhaugh  Open access 

 


MIDDLE AGES


CITY OF GOD, 2 Vols.

Aurelius Augustine, (354-430) (biography)

Vol. 1: Project Gutenberg Trans. Marcus Dods, 1871.  Open access

Vol. 2: Project Gutenberg Trans. Marcus Dods, 1871.  Open access

 


SUMMA THEOLOGICA, Parts I - II 

Saint Thomas Aquinas (1224/6—1274) (biography), 

Project GutenbergTrans. by English Dominican Province. Prepared for e-format by Sandra K. Perry  Open access

 


THE PRINCE 

Niccolo Machiavelli (1492-1527) (biography). 

Project GutenbergTrans. By W.K. Marriott.  Open access

Library Stacks, Trans. by Peter Bondanella and Mark Musa.  JC 143.M38 1984  

 


DISCOURSES ON THE FIRST DECADE OF TITUS LIVIUS

Niccolo Machiavelli (1492-1527)  (biography)

Project GutenbergTrans. By Ninian Hill Thomson. Open access

 


LEVIATAN. 1651

Thomas Hobbes (1588-1679) (biography)

Project Gutenberg  Open access

eBook Central   subscription


THE ENLIGHTENMENT


SECOND TREATISE OF GOVERNMENT, 1768

John Locke (1632-1704) (biography)

Project Gutenberg  Open access

Library Stacks JC153 .L85 1952  

 


The SPIRIT OF LAWS, in 2 Vols.

Charles -Louis de Secondat, baron de Montesquieu (1689-1755) (biography)

Vol 1. Internet Archive. Trans by Thomas Nugent  Open access

Vol. 2. Internet Archive. Trans by Thomas Nugent  Open access

 


THE SOCIAL CONTRACT : DISCOURSES. 1768

Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778) (biography)

Project Gutenberg  Open access


A DISCOURSE UPON THE ORIGIN AND THE FOUNDATION OF THE INEQUALITY AMONG MANKIND.

Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778)  (biography)

Project Gutenberg Open access

Library Stacks: src="//libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/5766/images/key-realbook11.png" style="width: 22px; height: 18px;" />

 


REFLECTIONS ON THE FRENCH REVOLUTION 

Edmund Burke (1729-1797). (biography)

Internet Archive Open access

Library Stacks: DC150.B852  

 


COMMON SENSE

Thomas Paine (1737-1809) (biography)

Project Gutenberg.  Open access

 


The RIGHTS OF MAN

Thomas Paine (1737-1809) (biography)

EBook Central   subscription

Internet Archive  Open access

 


A VINDICATION OF THE RIGHTS OF WOMAN

Mary Wollstonecraft (1759-1797) (biography)

Internet Archive  Open access

Library Stacks: HQ1596 .W6 1971   

 


THE LONG NINETEENTH CENTURY


An INTRODUCTION TO THE PRINCIPLES OF MORALS AND LEGISLATION

Jeremy Bentham (1748-1832) (biography)

Internet Archive  Open access


ON LIBERTY

John Stuart Mill (1806-1873) (biography)

Project Gutenberg  Open access

Library Stacks: JC585 .M6 1947  

 


The MANIFESTO Of The COMMUNIST PARTY 

Karl Marx (biography) & Frederick Engels. (biography)

Marxist.net  web resource

Library Stacks: HX276 .M3 1973  

 


CIVILIZATION AND ITS DISCONTENTS

Sigmund Freud (1856-1939) (biography)

Library Stacks,  Trans. and edited by James Strachey. BF173 .F682 1962  

 


DEMOCRACY IN AMERICA, in 2 Vols., 1840.

Alexis de Tocqueville (1805-1859). (biography)

Vol. 1, Hathi Trust Digital LibraryTrans. By Henry Reeve. Open access

Vol.2,  Hathi Trust Digital LibraryTrans. By Henry Reeve.  Open access  

 


MARXISM, FREEDOM, AND THE STATE

Mikhail Bakunin (1814-1876) (biography)

The Anarchist Library  web resource 

 


GOD AND THE STATE

Mikhail Bakunin (1814-1876)  (biography)

The Anarchist Library  web resource 

Library Stacks: HX833.B313  

 


The CONQUEST OF BREAD

Peter Kropotkin (1842-1921) (biography)

Project Gutenberg  Open access 

Library Stacks:  HX630.K763 

 


MEMOIRS OF A REVOLUTIONIST

Peter Kropotkin (1842-1921) (biography)

The Anarchist Library  web resource 

Library Stacks: HX915.K92 1971 

 


TWENTIETH CENTURY


IMPERIALISM: The HIGHEST FORM OF CAPITALISM

V.I. Lenin (1870-1924) (biography)

Internet Archive Open access

Library Stacks: HB501.L382  

 


The WRETCHED OF THE EARTH

Frantz Fanon () (biography)

Library Stacks: DT33.F313 1968  

Internet Archive Open access


The HUMAN CONDITION 

Hannah Arendt (1906-1975) (biography)

Library Stacks: HM211.A7 1998  


Simone de Beauvoir (1908-1986) (biography)

Library Stacks: HQ1208.B352 1971 

Internet Archive Open access


A THEORY OF JUSTICE. 1971

John Rawls (1921-2002)  (biography)

Library Stacks: JC578 .R38 2005  

 


ANARCHY, STATE, and UTOPIA

Robert Nozick (1938-2002) (biography)

Library Stacks: JC571.N68