Research Guides: HES Program Planning: Journal Summary

Useful Databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature indexes and abstracts articles, books, and dissertations from a wide breadth of biomedical disciplines, but specializes in nursing and allied health. Disciplines covered include nursing, nutrition, physical, occupational, and respiratory therapy, consumer health, dental hygiene and speech therapy.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. (EBSCO)
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Database coverage is 1970 to current. (ProQuest/VALE)
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles on sport & exercise science, sport management, physical education, physical, occupational & recreational therapy, kinesiology and human movement studies, sport psychology, leisure studies, and sport law. Full-text articles dating back to 1985.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Finding Articles

Using Scopus and Web of Science

Once you have a great article, look for both the cited references and the cited by articles to find additional articles that are related:

Scopus This link opens in a new window
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Full text database of scientific journal articles with data on who has cited them.
Web of Science® provides immediate data on who has cited research papers, covering over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.

Just copy the title of an article of interest and past it into Scopus or Web of Science in quotation marks:

Click on your Search Result to show the document details:

You can either scroll down and look at the References for that article at the bottom of the page (remember to click on the results to get the abstract and other details):

Or use the Cited by Documents to see what new articles cited the work: