Find Articles
There are two ways to find scholarly articles on geography topics: use Library Search, or search in a specialized library database. There isn't a database devoted solely to Geography, so try several options.
Searching for Journal Articles
An easy way to find some journal articles quickly is to use the Library Search box on the Campbell Library home page (www.lib.rowan.edu/campbell).
For example, to find scholarly journal articles on drone safety, begin by entering the words "drone safety" in the Library Search box.
- Check the box for Peer-Reviewed journals under the Limit To facet on the left sidebar, and click on Apply Filter. All results should now have a Peer-Reviewed icon.
- Choose a result and click on the Available Online link.
- Scroll down to the ViewOnline section and click on one of the database links to read the article online.
If you can't find articles on your topic in Library Search, try one of the library's specialized subscription databases using the Database Finder icon on the library homepage.
What is LibKey Nomad?
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for the Chrome, Firefox, and Edge web browsers.
Once you install it, you can use it to download full text articles to which we subscribe, from any publisher website where you find them. (Otherwise you would need to go to the library website to access the full text if you are off campus.)
When the full text PDF is available to you, you will see a LibKey Download PDF icon in the bottom left corner of the page.
If it is not, you will see a button labeled Access Options which will direct you to our Interlibrary Loan system.
Watch the short video shown below to learn how to download the extension for the browser you use.
- LibKey Nomad InstallationVideo showing you how to install LibKey Nomad
Library Article Databases for Geography
Use these subscription databases to locate published academic research in geography, planning and sustainability.
- GeoBase This link opens in a new windowSearch tool for scholarly literature in geography, earth, and environmental sciences. Includes many sources which are not available through Library Search.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Sustainability This link opens in a new windowAcademic and policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowHas articles about planning and sustainability.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles in a variety of social science journals.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowHas articles on geography, planning and sustainability from a European perspective.
Finding a Specific Article
To find a specific article for which you have a citation, use the Citation Search tool.
Go to the Search Tools section of the Campbell Library homepage and select Citation Search. The Citation Search function is also available on the menu bar of the Library Search interface.
Fill out the form with the complete citation for the article - article title, author names, publication title, year, and volume/issue or DOI number.
Example:
Prothero, Donald R. Species longevity in North American fossil mammals. Integrative Zoology, August 2014. Vol. 9, Iss. 4, pages 383-393.
Enter the citation into the appropriate fields in the online form, then click on Submit in the bottom right of the page.
For this example article, there are two databases which will take you to this article: EBSCO and Wiley. EBSCO doesn't have access to articles published in the past year, but this is a 2014 article so either database will work.
Click on one of the database links to access the article.