Research Guides: Children and Young Adult Literature: Literary Criticism, Book Reviews & Historical Research

Literary Criticism and Book Reviews

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of world literature.
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Book reviews of current fiction and non-fiction.
With coverage back to 1983, Book Review Digest Plus indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides both review excerpts and full-text reviews.
Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Database of book information.
Searchable database of English and Spanish language book, audio book, and video titles. (Bowker)
Education Source This link opens in a new window
World's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers.
Provides full text, indexing, and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search across our entire collection of GALE literary criticism databases.
Offers an integrated research experience by searching across Gale's premier literary databases. These include is a Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, 19th Century Literary Criticism Online, 20th Century Literary Criticism Online, Shakespearean Criticism Online, Gale's Literary Resource Center and Gale's Lit Finder.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks in a broad range of academic disciplines.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Works of poetry, drama and prose, with journal articles and criticism about them.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text database of current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
JSTOR can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.

Historical Research on Literature

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Online collection of early printed works from before 1700.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Children's Literature and Childhood
Primary sources related to the experience of childhood in the long nineteenth century (late 1700s to early 1900s).
Discovering Literature
Site currently unavailable (May 2024) due to a cyber attack. Primary sources from the British Library that explore how childhood was depicted in the literature of the 18th and 19th century, and how perceptions of childhood differed from those of today.

Children and Young Adult Literature

Literary Criticism and Book Reviews

Historical Research on Literature

Reviews of Children's Books