Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero

Guide on this free citation manager

Adding additional styles to Zotero

Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.

To install a style:

  1. Go to the Zotero Style Repository page.
  2. Search for the name of the style you need.
  3. Download the style (right-click the Install link and choose Save As).
  4. Open Zotero preferences. Click Cite, then Styles, then the "+" button. Select the style you downloaded (a .CSL file).

The new style will appear in Zotero's style lists.

Creating Quick Bibliographies

To create a bibliography from your Zotero library select the relevant references or collections. To select multiple sources hold the control key and click the items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.

Screenshot of the "Create Bibliography From Collection" option in the Zotero Library

Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK, and paste the Clipboard text into your word processor.

This method works with any word processor (or anywhere you can paste text).

Creating Your Bibliography While You Write

Screenshot of Zotero citation features in Microsoft Word: Add/Edit Citation, Add/Edit Bibliography, Document Preferences​Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds to your word processor a Zotero toolbar that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.

To add a citation click the first toolbar button ("Add/Edit Citation"). Search for and select the reference/s and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.

At the end of your paper, click the "Insert Bibliography" button. Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the "Document Preferences" button.

The toolbar looks different on different operating systems and different versions of Word. Mouse over the toolbar to see a description of each button's function.

Zotero with Google Docs

Zotero works with Google Docs! You must have the Zotero Connector installed in Chrome, Firefox, or Safari.

As in the Word screenshot above, look for the Zotero menu in your Google Docs editor.

Screenshot of Zotero menu in Google Docs