Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero

Guide on this free citation manager

Download the Chicago Annotated style

There are currently 2 annotated styles available from the Zotero Style Repository: Chicago and APA. To add these styles:

  1. Go to zotero.org/styles.
  2. Search "annotated."
  3. Click on the Chicago annotated style. Click "Confirm" when asked to to confirm installation of this style.

screenshot of a search for "annotated" in the Zotero Style Repository

Annotate the reference in Zotero

  1. In Zotero, select the reference you want to annotate.
  2. Add your annotation in the "Extra" field in the record.

screenshot of a Zotero library and the "Extra" field in a selected library item

Select the references you want for the bibliography

  1. Select the references you want to include in your bibliography.
  2. Right click on the selection and select "Create bibliography..."

screenshot of Zotero option "Create Bibliography from Selected Items..."

Export the bibliography from Zotero using Chicago Annotated Style

Zotero will ask you to choose a style (choose annotated!). Select how you want to save the bibliography. Click OK when you have makde a choice.

screenshot of output options provided when selecting to choose an annotated citation style

Here is your bibliography

screenshot of bibliography created by Zotero (rtf format for this example)

Credit

This page features material by Erin Mooney from Emory University Library's Zotero guide.