Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Plant Diversity

Guide for Plant Diversity class at Rowan University

Welcome

Welcome

This research guide is to help supports students taking Plant Diversity course at Rowan University 

If you would like to suggest a resource please email the Librarian at Campbell Library: Dan Kipnis (kipnisd@rowan.edu). Headshot Dan Kipnis

Locating

Locating books in the Rowan University Library

The Rowan University Libraries provide access to new books frequently. To search for them, go to the Campbell Library home page https://www.lib.rowan.edu/campbell and use the "Library Search" box there.

Type keywords such as...
 
tree identification
 
...and then use the filters on the left to choose a "Resource Type" of books.
 
Remember, different titles will appear in your results list when using different keywords, so try other keyword variations also, such as:
 
tree species

tree illustrations

The left side of the results screen will contain filters which will let you sort  this list of library materials by their "Resource Type" (check the box to the left of the word "books" or click "show more" if needed). You may use multiple filters on any results list, so also try to sort by "Date-newest" or "Subject" as you wish.

In addition, using Library of Congress call number: SB435.5 and QK41-QK500 will help locate additional books. These books are located on the 4th floor of the Campbell Library. 

Titles include: 

In Rowan University Library Advanced Search you can build an exact search for trees in book formats. 

library search for trees


REFERENCE COLLECTION

Rowan University Library maintains a reference collection on the second floor. These books cannot be checked out of the library and must be used in the building. 

Titles of interest include: 

Library Databases for Journals and Searching the Web for Resources

Library Databases for Journals and Searching the Web for Resources

Library databases contain journal articles, magazines, newspapers, data dashboards, and many other types of information to which we subscribe. You may use the "Library Search" box on the Campbell Library home page to search for the same topics above, such as...

tree identification

... or any other combination of keywords you wish, and then use the filters on the left to narrow your results list to articles, newspapers, or other kinds of sources offered. These filter menus are contextual (so they will change depending on the different keywords you choose) and you may need to "reset filters" to start a fresh search as needed.

Remember, all of the content in our subscription databases are not necessarily accessible through the "Library Search" box, especially the specialized resources within many of the business databases. Therefore, you must go to each library database separately in order to use the search box for each one, since they all work a bit differently.

Here are some library databases and other resources you may want to check on this topic:

GOOGLE SCHOLAR 

Google Scholar is a popular search engine for finding what are deemed scholarly works. Make sure you use the GS link from Database Finder to access full-text materials owned by Rowan University Library. 

Tips for searching Google Scholar include: 

Begin by creating a list of synonyms of your tree. Do some preliminary reading on the Internet including Wikipedia pages to learn all the different ways your tree can be identified as. Below is a screen shot of terms taken from Gingko biloba Wikipedia page. 

list of synonyms and scientific terms for ginko

Once you have your synonyms, pick the ones that you think are the most important. 

Then build your search strategy. The search below will look for tree synonyms for Gingko in the intitle of results. The downward line (|) is the short cut for OR'ing your terms in Google Scholar and then you can limit your search to educational domains by including site:edu. You can modify your results by removing intitle tags to get more results. 

  • intitle:ginkgo|intitle:"maidenhair tree"|intitle:ginkgoaceae|intitle:ginkgophyta|intitle:"ginkgo biloba" site:edu

Note: GS allows for 256 characters in the search box. Any search strategy longer than 256 characters will be cut off and not included in search. 

After running search you can limit by date range and have full-text access to citations that have FullText@RowanUniversity tag. 

screen shot of Google Scholar for synonyms of Gingko and limited to education sites.

Additional tips: 

  • Search for regional botanical gardens in Google. They tend to have experts who author content. 
  • Be sure to track all your sources!! Keep detailed records of where the information that you are gathering is coming from on the Internet. Remember to credit work done by others. If you have questions or any doubts if you are plagiarizing content please ask your Professor or librarian. 
  • If you need a space on campus to study and work with others, you can reserve group study rooms in the Campbell Library. These are very popular throughout the semester. They are easy to reserve and a perfect space for group work. 

INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE

If you find the perfect article or book and Rowan University Libraries does not own it you can use interlibrary loan to request it for free. 

  • You can request books using EZ-Borrow system. Books are mailed to the library and you pick them up and then return them to the library when finished. 
  • Illiad is the system to order article. Articles are emailed to you in 1 to 2 business days and you can download them to your computers. 

Resources for writing, organizing and generating bibliographies

Resources for writing, organizing and generating bibliographies

  1. For accessing help using APA style access APA Academic Writer. This resource is the official resource on APA style. Includes style guides, tutorials, research guides, and templates. NOTICE: Database will not work on Internet Explorer or Edge.
  2. Managing citations by organizing them and generating bibliographies use RefWorks. Access help videos using RefWorks via YouTube channel. 
  3. Remember to schedule an appointment to have your paper read by someone in the Writing Center located inside Campbell Library. 

Evaluating online sources

Evaluating online sources

To help with evaluating online sources, consult this guide: Evaluating Online Sources: A Toolkit

This toolkit includes simple strategies for complex thinking in evaluating online sources including: click restraint, SIFT and lateral reading. 

homepage of evaluating online sources: A toolkit authors by two librarians at Rowan University