Welcome
Welcome
This guide collects information and resources at Campbell Library, at Rowan, and in New Jersey that may be valuable to transgender, nonbinary, and otherwise gender nonconforming Rowan students and employees. If you have questions or suggestions, please get in touch with Ash Lierman at the library:
Email lierman @ rowan . edu (without the spaces)
Book a virtual or in-person appointment
NOTE: You can book an appointment with me if you need help finding information about ANYTHING, not just academic research! The booking form asks for your research topic, but no one sees that information except me, and you can be as vague about your question as you want if it makes you more comfortable.
Belonging Library at the Center for Belonging & Student Engagement
The Center for Belonging & Student Engagement, located on the first floor of Hawthorn Hall, also has a Belonging Library. This is a growing collection of lendable books on many different aspects of identity, including transgender identity, in a safe and discreet space. More information forthcoming online, or you can visit in person!
Names and Pronouns
Names and Pronouns
The resources below are helpful for those seeking to change name and/or pronoun information used for them at Rowan, or seeking to change their legal name and/or documents.
In Rowan Systems
-
Preferred Name ChangeIRT Knowledgebase article on how to implement a preferred name in campus systems. While this article is labeled "For Students," the same policy and form applies to employees as well.
-
Preferred Name Change form(Login required) Direct link to the IRT form for making a preferred name change. Submitting this form will automatically update: 1) Email and phone directories; 2) Zoom and WebEx; 3) Canvas (for students); Rowan ID card (for students).
Other systems may need to retain your legal name in accordance with state regulations, or may need to be manually updated. Please reach out to IRT support for help. -
Zoom: Add and Share Your PronounsIRT Knowledgebase article.
-
WebEx: Add and Share Your PronounsIRT Knowledgebase article.
Legal Name and Gender Designation Changes
-
RWJBarnabas Name Change ClinicRWJBarnabas Health, a New Jersey hospital system, offers a name change clinic providing legal advice on on gender-affirming name changes. Appointments are primarily virtual, and may be free if you meet income specifications.
-
Name Change for Adults - New JerseyA step-by-step guide to the legal name change process in the state of New Jersey from the New Jersey Courts. This process does normally require a court appearance and a $250 filing fee, although you may qualify for a fee waiver based on income and assets.
-
How do I update my gender marker on my NJ driver’s license?Information from the state of New Jersey on how to update the gender marker on your driver's license (can be changed to F, M, or X). This is done on a walk-in basis, and there is an $11 fee for a new card.
-
State of New Jersey Transgender Information HubHelpful information for trans and gender nonconforming NJ residents, including how to update your passport, birth certificate, and Social Security card.
-
Identity DocumentsFrom Advocates for Trans Equality, you can find legal document change procedures for any state from the menu on the page marked "Name Change, Driver's License & Birth Certificate Policies in."
-
Name Change ProjectAlso from Advocates for Trans Equality, this is a service you can apply to for pro bono legal support for name changes. Residents from a number of NJ counties and Philadelphia County are accepted; check the list to see if you qualify.
Information at Rowan Library
-
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves: A Resource by and for Transgender Communities
by
ISBN: 9780190092726Publication Date: 2022Chapter 8, Social Transition, talks through many considerations related to name and pronoun use from a trans perspective.
Bathrooms and Other Sensitive Spaces
Bathrooms and Other Sensitive Spaces
These resources are helpful for navigating the availability of bathrooms and similar private, frequently gendered spaces.
All-Gender Restroom Finders
-
Inclusive Spaces on Rowan University CampusesGoogle Maps overlay showing the locations of all-gender restrooms on all campuses, as well as lactation and sensory-friendly spaces.
-
Refuge RestroomsA crowdsourced global database/map of all-gender restrooms. Also available as a mobile app.
Information Resources
-
Transgender People and Bathroom AccessTalking points on the bathroom access issue from Advocates for Trans Equality.
-
Bathroom Ban Tracking MapFrom Movement Advancement Project.
Health Care
Health Care
The resources below are helpful for those seeking guidance and services for health care, including gender-affirming care.
Health Care at Rowan
-
Student Health ServicesStudent Health Services accepts appointments for illness or injury, or for sexual and reproductive health. Make an appointment at their site here.
-
Counseling and Psychological ServicesOutlines the basics about Wellness Center services for counseling. To make an appointment for counseling, call the Wellness Center at 856-256-4333.
Trans, Nonbinary, and GNC Health Care In the Area
-
Jefferson Pride CareJefferson Pride Care is a family medicine clinic in Haddonfield, NJ that offers primary and gender-affirming care. It is covered by both Rowan student and employee insurance plans. Call Jefferson's main appointment scheduling line, 1-800-JEFF-NOW (1-800-533-3669), to make a new patient appointment.
-
Mazzoni CenterAn LGBTQ+-focused medical center in Philadelphia, PA, providing a wide range of services including gender-affirming care. Providers at the Mazzoni Center are in-network for both Rowan student and employee insurance plans. Information on making an appointment is available on the page for each specific type of care.
-
PROUD Gender Center of New JerseyThe PROUD Gender Center at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital in New Brunswick, NJ provides a wide range of services including primary care, gender-affirming care, and surgery. RWJUH is in-network for both Rowan's student and employee health plans. The website includes a form for requesting an appointment.
-
The Artemis Center for GuidanceCounseling clinic located in Glassboro that is in-network for Rowan student health insurance. Robbenmarie Insogno and Robert Contarino both self-identify as specializing in LGBTQ+ and gender identity support.
-
Brandon Freeman, LPCBrandon Freeman is a Glassboro-based virtual-only counselor who is in-network for Rowan student insurance, and who self-identifies as specializing in LGBTQ+ and gender identity support. Please note there is currently a waiting list to see Brandon.
-
Krystle Lind, LPCKrystle Lind is a counselor available in nearby Turnersville who is in-network for Rowan student insurance, and self-identifies as specializing in LGBTQ+ and gender identity support.
-
Alyssa Meo, LPCAlyssa Meo is a Glassboro-based virtual-only counselor who is in-network for Rowan student insurance, and self-identifies as specializing in LGBTQ+ and gender identity support.
Information at the Library and Online
Information Online
-
Know Your Rights: HealthcareFrom Advocates for Trans Equality. Extensive guide on your rights around health insurance and health care.
-
FAQ About Health Provider DiscriminationFrom Lambda Legal, provides information about your rights if discriminated against by a health provider.
-
Know Your Rights: MedicareAlso from Advocates for Trans Equality, specifically discussing coverage rights under Medicare.
-
Support and Resources at the NJ Transgender Information HubIncludes sections on Medical Support, Mental Health Support, and other relevant resources.
-
Gender Affirmation RoadmapAn informational document on getting started with gender-affirming care from the Jefferson Health system.
E-Books at the Library
-
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves: A Resource by and for Transgender Communities
by
ISBN: 9780190092726Publication Date: 2022Section 3, Health and Wellness, covers many topics around trans health.
-
The Trans Guide to Mental Health and Well-Being
by
ISBN: 9781787755260Publication Date: 2022This empowering self-help guide provides advice and strategies for trans and/or non-binary people on a range of common mental health issues including anxiety, depression, body image, trauma, suicidal thoughts and dissociation. -
The Trans Self-Care Workbook
by
ISBN: 9781787753433Publication Date: 2020A creative journal and workbook with a difference, this book combines coloring pages celebrating trans identity, beauty and relationships, with practical advice, journaling prompts and space for reflection to promote self-affirmation and wellbeing. Our license allows you to print up to 100 pages. -
The Care We Dream Of: Liberatory & Transformative Approaches to LGBTQ+ Health
by
ISBN: 9781551528618Publication Date: 2021Through a series of essays and interviews, this book offers possibilities for more liberatory and transformative approaches to LGBTQ+ health and healing. -
The Remedy: Queer and Trans Voices on Health and Health Care
by
ISBN: 9781551526584Publication Date: 2016This anthology is a diverse collection of real-life stories from queer and trans people on their own health-care experiences and challenges. -
A History of Transgender Medicine in the United States: From Margins to Mainstream
by
ISBN: 9798855801217Publication Date: 2025The most comprehensive history of transgender medicine to date, as told by more than forty scholars, physicians, psychologists, and activists from trans, gender-diverse, and allied medical communities.
Employment & Career
Employment & Career
The resources below are helpful for those who want to learn more about job-seeking and other aspects of work as a transgender or gender nonconforming person.
Information at the Library and Online
Online Resources: Job Searching
-
TransWork Resources for Job- and Career-SeekersTransWork connects transgender and gender nonconforming job seekers to a job bank featuring positions at trans affirming employers. It offers resume workshops, interview preparation, and virtual job fairs.
-
Trans Employment ProjectAn organization seeking to connect trans job-seekers with inclusive employers. Subscription is free.
-
Out & Equal Career CenterThis nonprofit offers a Career Center to connect LGBTQ+ job seekers with inclusive employers and provides access to job boards.
-
Out ProfessionalsHosts networking events and offers career development opportunities tailored to LGBTQ+ communities. They also offer peer mentorship, industry insights, and job sharing among a professional LGBTQ+ network.
-
Trans Job Seeker Guide: Overcoming Obstacles in the Job MarketA helpful set of tips for navigating the job search.
Online Resources: Employee Rights & Advocacy
-
National Center for Transgender EqualityAdvocacy group focused on policy, legal rights, and economic justice for transgender individuals. They provide “know your rights” guides for workplace protection and discrimination prevention.
-
Employment Resources from the Transgender Law CenterTools and information on options for addressing workplace discrimination and inclusivity.
-
Know Your Rights: EmploymentInformation about your rights to freedom from discrimination in the workplace from Advocates for Trans Equality.
E-Books from the Library
-
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves: A Resource by and for Transgender Communities
by
ISBN: 9780190092726Publication Date: 2022Chapter 9, Work and Employment, has information and guidance on being trans as a job-seeker and at work.
-
Transitioning in the Workplace: A Guidebook
by
ISBN: 9781785928024Publication Date: 2018Based on the author's real experiences, a guide to coming out and transitioning at work. -
Transgender in the Workplace: The Complete Guide to the New Authenticity for Employers and Gender-Diverse Professionals
by
ISBN: 9781440858062Publication Date: 2018Focuses on "gender authenticity" as an asset transgender employees bring to the organization. -
Gender Ambiguity in the Workplace: Transgender and Gender-Diverse Discrimination
by
ISBN: 9781440863226Publication Date: 2018An examination of existing discrimination issues in workplaces. -
Transgender Employees in the Workplace: A Guide for Employers
by
ISBN: 9781785922282Publication Date: 2017From the perspective of employers, which is useful to understand when looking for a job.
Dealing with Discrimination
Dealing with Discrimination and Violence
The resources below are helpful for those looking for ways to respond to incidents of harassment, discrimination, violence, and other negative targeted behavior.
At Rowan
-
Reporting Form for Discrimination/Harassment/RetaliationUse this form to officially report discrimation, harassment, or retaliation based on gender identity and expression, and/or other protected identities.
-
Policy Prohibiting Discrimination in the Workplace and Educational EnvironmentThe University's written policy on discrimination. Note that the student to student discrimination section here is no longer accurate with the dissolution of the Division of Inclusive Excellence and Belonging. The Office of Student Equity and Compliance, Student Affairs, or the Dean of Students office are the most likely replacement contacts.
In New Jersey
-
File a Civil Rights Complaint with the New Jersey Division on Civil RightsNew Jersey law explicitly prohibits discrimination based on gender identity or expression in employment, housing, health care, education, and any type of business that sells or provides services to the public. Use this process to report any of these types of discrimination you experience.
Information at the Library and Online
Violence: Information Online
-
Surviving Violence: ResourcesFrom Trans Lifeline
-
Anti-Violence and Crisis ResourcesFrom Lambda Legal
-
Fighting Anti-Trans Violence: A ToolkitFrom Lambda Legal, a Q&A and set of resources on responses to anti-trans violence that acknowledges the role of police violence in the problem and explores alternatives.
-
Know Your Rights: Survivors of ViolenceFrom Advocates for Trans Equality, this guide is for trans survivors of intimate partner violence, domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.
-
Resources and Support for Transgender SurvivorsFrom the National Sexual Violence Resource Center
Discrimination: Information Online
-
Know Your Rights: EmploymentFrom Advocates for Trans Equality
-
FAQ on Transgender Workplace RightsFrom Lambda Legal
-
Know Your Rights: Housing and HomelessnessFrom Advocates for Trans Equality
-
Bystander Intervention TipsheetGuidance from the American Psychological Association for handling times when you witness discrimination.
E-Books from the Library
-
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves: A Resource by and for Transgender Communities
by
ISBN: 9780190092726Publication Date: 2022Chapter 10, Legal Issues, includes practical discussion around discrimination and other ways that law intersects with trans lives.
-
The Transgender Issue: Trans Justice is Justice For All
by
ISBN: 1839768398Publication Date: 2022Journalist Shon Faye gives an incisive overview of systemic transphobia and argues that the struggle for trans rights is necessary to any struggle for social justice. -
Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Discrimination
by
ISBN: 9789004345492Publication Date: 2018A short (but dense) legal history of LGBTQ+ discrimination. -
Gender Ambiguity in the Workplace: Transgender and Gender-Diverse Discrimination
by
ISBN: 9781440863226Publication Date: 2018An examination of existing discrimination issues in workplaces.
Social Connections
Social Connections
The resources below are helpful for students and employees wanting to connect with communities of other transgender, nonbinary, and otherwise gender nonconforming people.
At Rowan
-
Shades Of Unified Love (SOUL)A student organization providing a safe space and advocacy for queer people of color on campus.
-
PrismRowan's largest LGBTQIA+ student organization.
-
Out in STEM (oSTEM)Rowan chapter of oSTEM, a professional society for LGBTQ+ people in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM).
-
Wellness Center GroupsThe Wellness Center hosts the student groups Trans-Forming Together and In, Out, And In-Between, both of which trans and gender-nonconforming students may find helpful. See their descriptions for more information and current meeting times.
-
LGBTQIA+ Employee Resource CommunityInformation about the recently-established ERC.
-
Gender & Sexuality CenterThe Gender & Sexuality Center at Rowan is located in 214 Hawthorn Hall. The website is, hopefully temporarily, unavailable.
In NJ and Philadelphia
-
HiTOPSBased in Princeton, HiTOPS is an education and advocacy group aimed at LGBTQ+ youth and young adults throughout New Jersey, and provides numerous virtual and in-person opportunities specifically for trans community, including the annual Trans Youth Forum.
-
Trans Resource Center at William Way LGBT Community CenterA space for trans and gender diverse community at the William Way Center in Philadelphia, prioritizing BIPOC community members.
-
Programming: The Pride Center of New JerseyThe Pride Center of New Jersey is located in Highland Park, but many of their programs and support groups are available virtually.
Online
-
Support Groups at Trans LifelineA directory of online and in-person support group organizations maintained by Trans Lifeline.
-
Virtual Communities and Support Groups from QueerDocA resource list of virtual communities and support groups for transgender and gender diverse people and their families.
-
TrevorSpaceAn online social community for LGBTQ+ young people between 13 and 24 years old.
-
Trans Educators NetworkA community support resource for people working in PreK-12 schools, which may be helpful for trans and gender diverse students training as teachers, educational paraprofessionals, and educational leaders in the College of Education.
-
BTFA Collective: Black Trans Femmes in Fine ArtsBased out of New York but available to other geographical locations, this is a community specifically to connect black trans femme artists.
-
Gender and Sexuality Community at NASPAA national community for queer and trans student affairs professionals in higher education.
Clothing
Clothing
The resources below are helpful for those seeking low- or no-cost resources related to gender-affirming clothing.
At Rowan
-
Gender & Sexuality CenterThe Gender & Sexuality Center at Rowan, located in 214 Hawthorn Hall, supports some gender-affirming clothing resources. The website is, hopefully temporarily, unavailable.
In NJ and Philadelphia
-
Pransome (Philadelphia)A free tailoring and alterations service for trans and gender nonconforming people under 5'7", in collaboration with the William Way LGBT Community Center in Philadelphia.
-
Request a Gender-Affirming Garment from Garden State Equality (statewide)Free chest binders and tucking garments for 18+ trans New Jersey residents who cannot afford or safely obtain them. Fill out a request form, and garments are shipped anywhere in the state.
-
The Closet (Princeton)Created by the HiTOPS Trans Youth Advisory Board, s a free resource for young people 11-24 years old that provides access to identity-affirming clothing, toiletries, and self-care items.
-
Community Closet at the Pride Center of New Jersey (Highland Park)A drop-in resource at the Pride Center of New Jersey, providing LGBTQIA+ folks in need with free clothing and accessories in a safe, gender affirming, and welcoming environment.