Vocal Music

This is a continuously updated online version of the former historically significant print references: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and The Grove Dictionary of American Music. Articles include biographies, bibliographies, composers’ works lists, and illustrations. It includes numerous “tools and resources,” or indexes, for accessing the textual and musical content as well as links to related sites, sound archives, illustrations.

Provides streaming audio of music recordings, with genres including classical, jazz, folk, and some non-western world music.

A library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Aria texts and titles are translated with International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions in a variety of languages, including French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and English. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song, opera, and music.

A collection of classical music videos including concerts, operas, ballets, archives, documentaries, artist profiles and educational programs, among others.

Contains several hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.