Slavery and the Slave Trade
Africa and the Trans Atlantic Slave Trade
A section of the BBC's History page
African American History: The Library of Congress Memory Project
Five collections incorporating pamphlets, narratives, personal accounts
African American Women
A digital collection of the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library Duke University
African Origins
African Origins contains information about the migration histories of Africans forcibly carried on slave ships into the Atlantic. Using the personal details of 91,491 Africans liberated by International Courts of Mixed Commission and British Vice Admiralty Courts, this resource makes possible new geographic, ethnic, and linguistic data on peoples captured in Africa and pulled into the slave trade.
This section of the memory project includes 17 discrete collections.
The Anti-Slavery Literature Project
The Anti-Slavery Literature Project encompasses slave narratives, lectures, travel accounts, political tracts, prose fiction, poetry, drama, religious and philosophical literature, compendia, journals, manifestoes and children's literature. There is a complex and contradictory range of voices, from journalistic reportage to sentimental poetry, from racial paternalism and stereotyping to advocacy of interracial equality, from religious disputation to militant antislavery calls (description from the website). The Project is a cooperative effort of the English Department, Arizona State University the EServer, located at Iowa State University.
The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record / Jerome S. Handler & Michael L. Tuite, Jr.
The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.
Avalon Project
Documents on law, diplomacy, and history.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writer’s Project, 1936-38
Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves
Digital Library on American Slavery
A project of the University of North Carolina – Greensboro, the library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders and free people of color.
Documenting the American South
Provided by the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently, DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs (description from the website).
From Slavery to Freedom; An LC American Memory site
Presents 396 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics (description taken from the website).
The Geography of Slavery in Virginia
A digital collection of advertisements for runaway and captured slaves and servants in 18 and 19 Century Virginia newspapers. Building on the rich descriptions of individual slaves and servants in the ads, the project offers a personal, geographical and documentary context for the study of slavery in Virginia, from colonial times to the Civil War (text from the website).
Making of America
This site, from the University of Michigan, is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19 Century imprints.
The National Archives (UK): The Abolition of Slavery
Access a wealth of information on the trans-Atlantic slave trade from the National archive of the United Kingdom
New York Historical Society Manuscript Collections Relating to Slavery
The 14 collection included on the website are, according to the NHHS, some of the most important manuscript cs in their collection and includes diaries accounts, ship logs, bills of sale, personal papers, etc.
North American Slave Narratives
A subset of Documenting the American South
Recovered Histories
Anti-Slavery International has digitized its collection of eighteen and nineteen Century literature on the Transatlantic Slave Trade. Recovered Histories captures the narratives of the enslaved, slave ship surgeons, abolitionists, parliamentarians, clergy, planters, and rebels. Use the themed narratives as starting points or "Search Collection" to explore over 40,000 pages in the collection (quote from the website).
Slave Biographies: Atlantic Database Network
A grant-funded project at Michigan State University, Slave Biographies is intended to provide a platform for researchers of African slaves in the Atlantic World to upload, analyze, visualize, and utilize data they have collected, and to link it to other datasets, which together will complement each other in such a way as to create a much richer resource than the individual datasets alone. There is a significant need for such a collaborative research site about Atlantic slavery (taken from the website).
Slave Heritage Resource Center
"This is the story of Slaves, Slave owners, and those who looked the other way" (website).
Social Explorer
220 years of demographic data, 25,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements and 335,000 variables
Sugar in the Atlantic World
A digital exhibit at the Clements Library, University of Michigan.
UNESCO Culture: The Slave Route
From the United Nations Educational and Scientific, and Cultural Organization
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 
million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers, students, and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history. Click the logo for a Voyages Tutorial
(source: website).
World Digital Library
An extraordinary website with links provided by place, time, type of item and Institution.
Abolitionists and the Abolition Movement
Abolition in the United Kingdom
The movement in the late 18th and early 19th centuries to end the practice of slavery, whether formal or informal, in the United Kingdom, the British Empire and the world, including ending the Atlantic slave trade. (source; website)
Abolitionism in the United States
Abolitionism in the United States was the movement before and during the American Civil War to end slavery in the United States. In the Americas and western Europe, abolitionism was a movement to end the Atlantic slave trade and set slaves free. (source: website)
The Abolition of the Slave Trade
From the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, a division of the New York Public Library
The Abolition Project
A comprehensive page covering far more on the topic of slavery than just the abolitionists.
A Brief History of the American Abolitionist Movement
John R. McKivigan, Mary O'Brien Gibson Professor of History, Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis
British Influence on the Abolition Movement in America
An address, given by Frederick Douglass, in Scotland on April 17, 1846. Reproduced online on the Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition, at Yale University.
Campaign for Abolition
In 1807, the British government passed an Act of Parliament abolishing the slave trade throughout the British Empire. Slavery itself would persist in the British colonies until its final abolition in 1838. However, abolitionists would continue campaigning against the trade of slaves after this date.
Chronology: Who Banned Slavery When?
A timeline created by Reuters staff on the 200 year anniversary of the abolishment of the trans-Atlantic Slave Trade.