Skip to main content

International Studies

International Relations, Intertnational Affairs

Introduction

Introduction

The time for increased focus on International Studies is now.  The world has taken a sharp turn inward, in terms of politics. One now regularly reads or hears descriptions of a world promoting nativism and xenophobia. 

This inward trend is clearly stated in the political campaigns if the current administration in the White House but also in the Brexit movement in the U.K. and in political campaigns in Europeans countries such as the Netherlands, France, Hungary, and  Austria, just to name a few. 

This Library guide is designed to introduce resources that can help you with your learning and your research on topics with a focus on international Studies. Please take a moment to click the various tabs to the left to become familiar with the layout and contents of this Guide.

Library of Congress Classification

Library of Congress Classification System - Various Relevant Classes

Library of Congress Classification : International Relations

Subclasses and Ranges

JZ5-6530 International relations 
JZ5.5-18 Periodicals 
JZ24-38 Societies, associations, academies, institutes, etc., 
for the study of international relations 
JZ63-1153 Sources 
JZ221-1153 By region or country 
JZ1249-1254 Relation to other disciplines and topics 
JZ1305-2060 Scope of international relations. Political theory. 

Diplomacy 
JZ1329.5-1395 By period 
JZ1400-1454 Diplomatic and consular service 
JZ1464-2060 Scope of international relations with regard to 
countries, territories, regions, etc. 
JZ3674-3875 State territory and its parts 
JZ3685 Boundaries 
JZ3686-3875 International waters 
JZ4835-5490 International organizations and associations 
JZ4841-4848 Political non-governmental organizations. 

NGOs 
JZ4850-5490 Intergovernmental organizations. IGOs 
JZ4853-4934 League of Nations 
JZ4935-5160 United Nations 
JZ5511.2-6300 Promotion of peace. Peaceful change 
JZ5514-5526 Societies, associations, academies, institutes, etc., 
for peace promotion, research and education 
JZ5527-5532 Congresses and conferences 
JZ5587-6009 International security. Disarmament. Global survival 
JZ6010-6060 Pacific settlement of international disputes 
JZ6360-6377 Non-military coercion 
JZ6385-6405 The armed conflict. War and order 
JZ6422-6422.5 Neutrality. Non-participation in wars. Norms of neutrality 
JZ6530 Humanitarian aspects of war

Loading

LC CLassification

Library of Congress Classification : International Relations

Subclasses and Ranges

JZ5-6530 International relations
JZ5.5-18 Periodicals
JZ24-38 Societies, associations, academies, institutes, etc.,
for the study of international relations
JZ63-1153 Sources
JZ221-1153 By region or country
JZ1249-1254 Relation to other disciplines and topics
JZ1305-2060 Scope of international relations. Political theory.

Diplomacy
JZ1329.5-1395 By period
JZ1400-1454 Diplomatic and consular service
JZ1464-2060 Scope of international relations with regard to
countries, territories, regions, etc.
JZ3674-3875 State territory and its parts
JZ3685 Boundaries
JZ3686-3875 International waters
JZ4835-5490 International organizations and associations
JZ4841-4848 Political non-governmental organizations.

NGOs
JZ4850-5490 Intergovernmental organizations. IGOs
JZ4853-4934 League of Nations
JZ4935-5160 United Nations
JZ5511.2-6300 Promotion of peace. Peaceful change
JZ5514-5526 Societies, associations, academies, institutes, etc.,
for peace promotion, research and education
JZ5527-5532 Congresses and conferences
JZ5587-6009 International security. Disarmament. Global survival
JZ6010-6060 Pacific settlement of international disputes
JZ6360-6377 Non-military coercion
JZ6385-6405 The armed conflict. War and order
JZ6422-6422.5 Neutrality. Non-participation in wars. Norms of neutrality
JZ6530 Humanitarian aspects of war

 

Find Books & related materials

Rowan University Library Catalogs

Rowan Library Catalog
Search for holdings at Rowan University

ProfSearch
Rowan University Libraries' Next Generation Discovery Platform

Rowan Library Research Guides
A wide selection of subject based guides to help you get started on your assignments

The Rowan Library Website
Link to the library resources, catalogs, journals, resources, and much more from the Library website.

Libraries

Consortial and Comprehensive Searching

Open Library

Project Gutenburg

WorldCat  Highly recommended!
The world's biggest catalog. Search for all books available in libraries.

Electronic Resource Search Tools

International Affairs

Over 200 highl-quality English language resources related to International Studies.

Internet Public Library Online

A comprehensive site on Online Resources. Use search Terms such as International Studies, International Affairs, International Relations to retrieve hundreds of vetted and recommended sites. 

 

IMF Fund Annual Report 2015

Databases

Databases

Journals

Journals

Note: This check indicates that the journal is viewed highly in the field of International Studies


 

A
 American Journal of International Law
 American Journal of Political Science
  American Political Science Review
    Annual Review of Political Science
    Australian Journal of International Affairs

B
√  British Journal of Politics and International Relations
    Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists

C
    Cambridge Review of International Affairs
    Conflict Management and Peace Science 
 
Cooperation and Conflict

E
   European Journal of International Law
√ European Journal of International Relations
   European Union Politics

F
 Foreign Affairs
 Foreign Policy

G
    Georgetown Journal of International Affairs
 Global Governance
 Global Policy

H
   Harvard International Review 
   Human Rights Quarterly

I
 International Affairs (0020-5850)
 International Organization
  International Relations
    International Relations of the Asia-Pacific
 International Security
    International Studies Perspectives
 International Studies Quarterly

 International Studies Review

J
   Journal of Common Market Studies
 Journal of Conflict Resolution
 Journal of International Affairs
 Journal of Peace Research
   Journal of Politics

M
   Marine Policy
 Millennium: Journal of International Studies

N
   New Political Economy

O
   Orbis

P
   Perspectives on Politics
   Political Science Quarterly

R
   Review of International Organizations
 Review of International Political Economy
 Review of International Studies
   Review of World Economics

S
  Security Dialogue
 Security Studies 

T

   Terrorism and Political Violence
   Third World Quarterly

W
 Washington Quarterly
    West European Politics
    World Economy
 World Politics

 

 

Administration & Society

Alternatives: Global, Local, Political

American Politics Research

Armed Forces & Society

Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists

China Information: A Journal on Contemporary China Studies

Comparative Political Studies

Competition & Change

Conflict Management and Peace Science

Cooperation and Conflict

East European Politics and Societies

Ethnicities

European Journal of International Relations

European Journal of Political Theory

European Union Politics

Global Social Policy: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Public Policy and Social Development

Index on Censorship

India Quarterly: A Journal of International Affairs

Insight on Africa

International Area Studies Review

International Journal: Canada’s Journal of Global Policy Analysis

International Political Science Abstracts: Documentation Politique Internationale

International Political Science Review

International Relations (London)

International Review of Administrative Sciences

International Studies (2)

Jadavpur Journal of International Relations

Journal of Asian Security and International Affairs

Journal of Conflict Resolution

Journal of Contemporary History

Journal of Developing Societies: A Forum on Issues of Development and Change in All Societies

Journal of European Social Policy

Journal of International Political Theory

Journal of Peace Research

Journal of Theoretical Politics

Latin American Perspectives: A Journal on Capitalism and Socialism

Local Economy: The Journal of the Local Economy Policy Unit

Media, War & Conflict

Millennium: Journal of International Studies

Party Politics: The International Journal for the Study of Political Parties and Political Organizations

Political Research Quarterly

Political Science

Political Theory: An International Journal of Political Philosophy

Politics & Society

Politics, Philosophy & Economics

Public Policy and Administration

Public Works Management & Policy: Research and Practice in Infrastructure, Technology, and the Environment

Race & Class: A Journal on Racism, Empire and Globalisation

Research & Politics

Review of Public Personnel Administration: The Journal of Public Human Resource Management

Review of Radical Political Economics

Security Dialogue

State and Local Government Review

State Politics & Policy Quarterly

Studies in Indian Politics

Teaching Public Administration

The American Review of Public Administration

The ANNALS of the American Academy of Political and Social Science

The International Journal of Press/Politics

Urban Affairs Review

Urban Studies: An International Journal of Research in Urban Studies

War in History

World Policy Journal

Titles marked with a dagger † represents a journal with a mix of full texts and abstracts.

Titles marked with an asterisk * contain article abstracts only. To find the text search Google Scholar for the article title, or try the various database recommend in another tab on this site. 

African Journal of Legal Studies

Akademik İncelemeler Dergisi (Journal of Academic Inquiries)

al Nakhlah

All Azimuth: A Journal of Foreign Policy and Peace

Alternatives: Turkish Journal of International Relations

Ambassadors Review

American Diplomacy

Americas Quarterly

Athena Intelligence Journal

AUSTRAL: Brazilian Journal of Strategy & International Relations

Bildhaan: An International Journal of Somali Studies

Bilgi

The Cato Journal

Caucasian Regional Studies [Archive]

The Caucasian Review of International Affairs

Central European University Political Science Journal

Chimera Journal

Comparative Connections

Connections

Counter Terrorist Trends and Analysis

Critical Review

CTC Sentinel

Cultures & Conflits

Democracy at Large [Archive]

The Diplomatic Courier †

Economic Perspectives

Elections Today

Ethics & International Affairs Journal 

European Affairs

European Journal of International Law *

European Journal of Social Quality *

Fletcher Security Review

Foreign Affairs †

Foreign Policy *

French Politics, Culture & Society †

Georgetown Journal of International Affairs †

German Politics and Society *

Global Change, Peace & Security *

Global Issues

The Goettingen Journal of International Law

Harvard Journal of Middle Eastern Politics and Policy

Human Rights and Human Welfare - Review Essays

Insight Turkey †

Intermarium

International Affairs *

International Affairs: A Russian Journal of World Politics, Diplomacy and International Relations *

International Economic Review

International Issues

International Issues & Slovak Foreign Policy Affairs 

International Journal of Communications Law and Policy

International Journal of Korean Studies

International Organization *

International Politics *

International Relations of the Asia-Pacific *

International Security *

The International Spectator †

Iranian Review of Foreign Affairs

Journal of Current Chinese Affairs

Journal of Economic Perspectives *

Journal of Global Analysis

Journal of International Affairs *

The Journal of International Law and International Relations †

Journal of International Relations and Development †

The Journal of International Security Affairs *

Journal of Military and Strategic Studies

Journal of Palestine Studies *

Journal of Politics in Latin America

Journal of Security Sector Management

Journal on Migration and Human Security

Macalester International

Middle East Review of International Affairs

Naklah

The National Interest *

The Nonproliferation Review

The Objective Standard †

Obrana a strategie (Defence & Strategy)

The OECD Observer

The Online Journal of Peace and Conflict Resolution

Ortadoğu Yıllığı (Middle East Yearbook) †

Pacific Affairs *

Perceptions

Perspectives: The Central European Review of International Affairs

Political Science Quarterly †

PRISM

Romanian Journal of Political Science

Security Studies *

Social Sciences

Strategic Analysis

Strategic Insights

Studies of Changing Societies: Comparative and Interdisciplinary Focus †

Survival *

Theoria *

Turkish Policy Quarterly †

Turkish Review

Uluslararasi Iliskiler

UNISCI Discussion Papers

US Foreign Policy Agenda

The Washington Quarterly

The Whitehead Journal of Diplomacy and International Relations

WIDER Angle

Woodrow Wilson School Journal of Public and International Affairs *

World Policy Journal

Acta Universitatis Danubius : Relationes Internationales

Africa Spectrum

Analele Universităţii Creştine „Dimitrie Cantemir”, Seria Istorie – Serie nouă = AUCDI Journal

Asia-Pacific Journal : Japan Focus

Austral : Brazilian Journal of Strategy & International Relations = Austral: Revista Brasileira de 
Estratégia e Relações Internacionais

Baltic Journal of European Studies

Baltic Region

Baltijskij Region

Cadmus

Cadernos de Relações Internacionais = Cadernos de RI

Ceriscope

Contexto Internacional

Croatian International Relations Review

Global Media Journal : Mediterranean Edition = GMJ: Mediterranean Edition

Interface : a Journal for and about Social Movements

International Development Policy/Revue Internationale de Politique de Développement

International Journal of Conflict and Violence

International Journal of Euro-Mediterranean Studies = Mednarodna Revija za Evro-Mediteranske Studije

International Organisations Research Journal

International ResearchScape Journal

JANUS.NET : e-journal of International Relations

Journal of China and International Relations

Journal of Conflict Transformation & Security = Journal of Conflict Transformation and Security

Journal of Current Southeast Asian Affairs

Journal of Danubian Studies and Research

Journal of International Relations = Medzinárodné vzťahy

Journal of Politics in Latin America

Journal of Scientific Initiation on International Relations

Lithuanian Annual Strategic Review

Polis: Revista de Stiinte Politice

Revista Brasileira de Poliacutetica Internacional

Revista CIDOB d'Afers Internacionals

Revista CIDOB d'Afers Internacionals

Revista de Estudios Internacionales MediterráneosRevista de Paz y Conflictos

Revista de Estudos e Pesquisas sobre a Américas

Revista Româna de Studii Baltice si Nordice = Romanian Journal for Baltic and Nordic Studies

The tools listed here can be used to search for specific titles or to determine whether titles not listed are available.

Browzine at Rowan University

ProfSearch

Library Catalog

Loading

Audios and Videos

Videos

Middle East- North Africa

Benghazi in Crisis

A FRONTLINE report in Benghazi Libya, originally aired May 3, 2016.

The Good Country Index

In 2014 Simon Anholt created an index called the Good Country Index.  What is a good country?  Simon Anholt's conception of a Good Country is based on a career of experience that has shaped his beliefs. It is a mindset that about 350 million of the world's citizens, perhaps including you, believe in and agree with what he has to say about the state of the world we live in and the way forward.

This section of the guide includes links to the Good Country Website and specific pages on the site. To the left are several YouTube guides that present the concept of a Good Country and the Good Country Party.

  

Selected Web Sites, A-Z

Websites Listed Alpabetically

African Union

Amnesty International 

The Arab League

Asia Cooperation Dialogue

Association for Conflict Resolution (ACR)

Association of Professional Schools of International Affairs

The APSIA lists member schools and offers additional information to help those interested ina career in International Studies and Service.

Association for the Prevention of Torture

 

Femmes Africa Solidarité

Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) 

FoodFirst Information and Action Newtwork 

Freedom House: 25 Years of Championing Democracy

Freedom House supports frontline activists in their efforts to defend fundamental rights, including to document abuses, advocate for justice, end impunity, and fortify the self-protection of human rights defenders. We also provide emergency assistance to human rights defenders who come under threat and work with activists to broaden public support for upholding human rights.

Freedom House: Freedom of the World Report, 2016 (data since 1998)

Freedom House:  Freedom of the Press Report, 2015 (data since 2002)

Freedom House: Freedom on the Net, 2015 (Data since 2011)

Freedom House: Special Reports

Fundación Escuela Nueva

 

United Nations (UN) Homepage

United Nations Permanent Missions

United Nations Databases (Use this link for a complete list)

UN Official Documents and Bibliographic Databases

UN Treaties Declarations and Legislative Sources

UN Member States

193 Member States

Security Council Membership since 1945

UN Terminology

Nomenclature, technical or specialized terms and common phrases in all six UN official languages.

UN Multimedia

  • UNIFEED
    Broadcast-quality videos from throughout the UN system.
  • UN inAction
    Television series, reports on the work of the UN and its agencies around the world.
  • UNPhoto
    Collection dating back to the mid-1940s chronicling the history of the Organization and its work.
  • UNRadio
    Daily news and weekly programmes, interviews as well as audio materials from meetings and events.
  • UNPublications
    Catalogue of publications in many languages in print, electronic and multimedia formats.

UN Civil Society

List of civil society organizations and online registration.

UN Human Rights Issues

Documents on human rights issues arranged by Charter-based bodies.

UN Humanitarian Issues

  • Refworld
    Reports and documents relating to refugees.
  • ReliefWeb
    Global hub on humanitarian emergencies and disasters.

UN Statistical Data

United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization

United Nations Industrial Development Organization

Universal Postal Union 

Loading

Select Websites by Type

Websites

BRAC

We are the world’s largest development organisation, dedicated to empowering people living in poverty. We operate across 11 countries, touching the lives of 1 in every 55 people.

CARE

Children's Defense Fund

Crisis Group

Femmes Africa Solidarité

FoodFirst Information and Action Newtwork 

Freedom House: 25 Years of Championing Democracy

Freedom House supports frontline activists in their efforts to defend fundamental rights, including to document abuses, advocate for justice, end impunity, and fortify the self-protection of human rights defenders. We also provide emergency assistance to human rights defenders who come under threat and work with activists to broaden public support for upholding human rights.

Freedom House: Freedom of the World Report, 2016 (data since 1998)

Freedom House:  Freedom of the Press Report, 2015 (data since 2002)

Freedom House: Freedom on the Net, 2015 (Data since 2011)

Freedom House: Special Reports

Fundación Escuela Nueva

International Committee of the Red Cross

International Rescue Committee

Mercy Corp

One Acre Fund

Oxfam International

Partners in Health

Pratham

NGOs make an enormous difference and parallel the efforts of Governments in eradicating hunger, advancing education, in conflict remediation, supporting environmental sustainability, and promoting self reliance.    

Amnesty International 

Association for the Prevention of Torture

Association for Conflict Resolution (ACR)

Crisis Group

Femmes Africa Solidarité

FoodFirst Information and Action Newtwork 

Fundación Escuela Nueva

International Committee of the Red Cross

International Rescue Committee

Mercy Corp

One Acre Fund

Oxfam International

Partners in Health

Pratham

The Association of Professional Schools of International Affairs

The APSIA lists member schools and offers additional information to help those interested ina career in International Studies and Service.

The International Studies Association (ISA)

"Representing 100 countries, ISA has over 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 6 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 28 thematic groups (Sections) and 3 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas." (ISA Website)

Loading

Overarching Theories

RU IS : Interdisciplinary Program

About the International Studies inter-disciplinary program.

Rowan University now offers a Bachelor of Arts degree in International Studies (I.S.). Students may select one of two  specializations or they may pursue a BA degree with one of several Double Major offerings. Because of the inter-departmental nature of this agree program, The Library's Research Guide can be especially useful in directing you to the appropriate resources and offering additional guidance.  For more detailed explanation of the International Studies Degree program, follow this link to the International Studies Website. Also link to the Program Guide.

Please note that if you are interested in pursuing an International Studies major you should consult the program coordinator as early as possible in your academic career in order to develop an effective sequence of courses.  

For more details see the International Studies webpage: Study Abroad.  For more information about Study Abroad, contact the International Center in Robinson 117, (856) 256-4500 x3105, ic@rowan.edu.

Rowan University, International Studies Program

Degree Earned: 
Bachelor of Art

International Studies is an interdisciplinary major designed to prepare you for careers in an increasingly global world. As an International Studies major, you will undertake a rigorous program of study--international politics, economics, geography, languages, history, and cultures--to analyze major issues facing the world community and understand your own society in a broader context. You will also learn how to apply interdisciplinary approaches to global problems and issues and acquire transferable skills in communication, collection and analysis of data, and research. Specializations are available in

  • International Business and Economics
  • Global and Comparative Perspectives
  • Middle East and African Studies
  • Asian Studies
  • European and Russian Studies
  • Latin American and Iberian Studies

International Studies majors will be well-positioned to build careers within a wide range of companies, foundations, and governmental organizations that require an in-depth knowledge of international issues or to continue on to graduate programs in a variety of fields.

Sample Courses:

  1. Cultural Geography
  2. Earth, People, And The Environment
  3. Introduction To Cultural Anthropology
  4. Religions Of The World

Possible Careers:

  1. Healthcare
  2. Law
  3. Government
  4. Education
  5. International Business

Site Info

Conditions and Terms of Use

The guide is posted on the Rowan University Libraries' Library Guides site with the primary purpose of offering links to information about countries, states, and international and transnational organizations, for educational and research purposes.  It is hoped that it will provide guidance to students and researchers.  Rowan Library Library Guides are hosted on the Springshare LibGuides portal, to which Rowan University Libraries subscribes.  Please send comments, suggestions, corrections to Bruce Whitham via email.

Rowan University makes no claim to freely available websites nor does it accept responsibility for the information, views or opinions expressed by those who have authored or compiled the content or by those who are quoted on the sites. 

The inclusion of any site on this webpage should not be considered an endorsement of any product of service offered on the linked sites or by the website service providers.  

The use of this guide infers acceptance of the Terms of Use, spelled out on the Rowan University Libraries site. A link to the Terms of Use is provided. If you do not agree to abide by these terms you are required to leave the site.  


Contact Information

Bruce Whitham, Research & Instruction Services. Tel: 856.256.4979. Email: whitham@rowan.edu