Research Guides: International Studies: Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal, magazine, and news articles in all academic disciplines.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search across our entire collection of GALE literary criticism databases.
Offers an integrated research experience by searching across Gale's premier literary databases. These include is a Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, 19th Century Literary Criticism Online, 20th Century Literary Criticism Online, Shakespearean Criticism Online, Gale's Literary Resource Center and Gale's Lit Finder.
Australia & New Zealand Database This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database containing scholarly materials published in Australia and New Zealand.
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles from select Canadian newspapers.
This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s.
Continental Europe Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides scholarly content published in many European countries.
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries, including France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference works on American government, current affairs, politics and public policy.
Contains resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Individual resources available in the Library include the following: CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher Plus Archives; CQ Weekly; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; and the Supreme Court Yearbook.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents for U.S. national security topics.
Contains a comprehensive collection of primary documents including declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of peer-reviewed, scholarly Open Access ebooks.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of open access (OA) journals and journal articles that are free to read.
East & South Asia Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides scholarly content published in many East Asian and South Asian countries.
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
East Europe, Central Europe Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides scholarly content published in East European and Central European countries.
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in economics.
Index to articles published in the economics field from 1969 to the present. Links to full text available for articles in journals to which Rowan University subscribes.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, award-winning educational films, independent films, and helpful instructional videos.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles about the environment.
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
India Database (1998 - current) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text, scholarly journals, all published in India.
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource providing full-text scholarly journals published in India. Includes fields of study such as business, medicine, science, technology, social sciences and humanities. Most coverage is from the last five years and updated daily with new content.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives stretching back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Provides information from some of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks in a broad range of academic disciplines.
Latin America & Iberia Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly content published in many Latin American countries.
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Middle East & Africa Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides scholarly content published in many Middle Eastern and African countries.
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles on defense and military topics.
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of modern world history.
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid-15th century to the present.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from a large collection of newspapers worldwide.
NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international sources, including The Washington Post, Miami Herald, Philadelphia Inquirer, Trenton Times, USA Today, London Times, The Economist China Daily (Beijing).
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Articles, papers and reports on international public affairs topics.
Contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Global market information database and analysis tool for business research, from Euromonitor.
Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing comprehensive data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The system can support a wide range of business functions and research projects such as industry analysis, export and market entry strategies, trend monitoring, company analysis, modeling and forecasting, general business reference. The package provides expert analyst comment on emerging industry, country, and consumer trends, full text market, company, and country reports, as well as internationally comparable market statistics on industries, countries, and consumers.
Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language general reference resource.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in a variety of social science journals.
Covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from several countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives.
Turkey Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides scholarly content published in Turkey.
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Turkey. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

United Nations Libraries around the World
Since the inception of the United Nations, UN libraries have provided information services to the UN Secretariat, the permanent missions and the general public.(source:website)
United Nations Resources and Documents
Link to a list of Databases and collections available from the Dag Haamarskjöld Library, UN, New York

U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a broad range of previously classified U.S. federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Includes sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies.
Covers major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond.
UK & Ireland Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides scholarly content published in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-current) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of current research in political science.
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Coverage from 1975 – current. Click the Get-It button to link to full text, when available.

Columbia International Affairs Online
Resources on international affairs covering more than 180 research institutes, publishers, government agencies, e-books and journals worldwide. Also includes working papers, policy briefs, and case studies. Includes maps, data and stats compiled by the Economist Intelligence Unit, the world’s foremost provider of country, industry and management analysis for about 201 countries.