Research Guides: Art Research Guide: Finding Articles

Finding Articles: Why Articles?

Much new research in art history and theory is published in peer-reviewed journals (and in books from academic presses). Peer-review is a process where articles are vetted by experts in the field, so they generally carry more academic weight than newspaper reviews, blog posts, and trade magazines.

Periodical Indexes

Begin your search for art-related articles by searching these online indexes.

Art Full Text
Provides full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Includes indexing of art reproductions and exhibition reviews.
more...less...
Coverage dates: Indexing 1984+, Abstracting 1994+, “select” Full Text 1997+
artdiscovery.net: Virtual Catalogue for Art History
An international specialized meta catalogue allowing the integrated retrieval of bibliographic records and other objects of distinctive art historical databases.
Currently, artlibraries.net gives access to more than 12 million records (as of October 2010), including a high percentage of records for articles in periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, exhibition catalogues and exhibition books, etc., as well of records for archival and photographic materials and online resources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary, full-text database. Coverage 1975-present; varies by title.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 6,600 journals.

BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art & RILA: Répertoire de la litterature de l'art
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art, courtesy of the Getty Research Institute. Includes citations for articles in over 1,200 journals.
more...less...
BHA covers 1990-2007. Single search also includes RILA, the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (1975-1989)
Humanities Full Text
Index to periodicals in art, history, literature, linguistics, philosophy and religion. Coverage dates: Indexing & Abstracting, 1984- ; Selected Full Text, 1994- .

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of full-text articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines including art, art history & architecture.
Coverage includes the full text from volume 1, number 1 through the current date in some cases or, more often, up to a period of embargo from six months to five years depending on the arrangements with the title's vendor.
Architectural Digest Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of design, includes inspirational ideas, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts from the years 1922 to 2011.
Recognized as the international authority on design and architecture, and a showcase for some of the world’s most beautiful homes, Architectural Digest is renowned for its immeasurable influence in the world of interior design and offers nearly 90 years of publishing starting from the earliest issues in 1922 through 2011. It also features the AD100, the Architectural Digest list of top 100 architects and interior designers worldwide.

Journals Beyond Rowan

If you are seeking an article from a journal that is not in our digital or print collections, you may request a copy of it through our Illiad Interlibrary loan system.

ILLiad
Obtain journal articles, dissertations, video materials, or other items that are NOT books. Use E-ZBorrow for books. If the book you require is not available from any of the participating libraries in E-ZBorrow, you may then request it through ILLiad