Art Research Guide

(From Cornell University)

Provides access to art history websites, such as subject gateways, image databases, search engines, or mailing lists. The collection covers the full range of European medieval, modern, and contemporary art history, and aesthetics. The selected websites are checked for their scientific relevance and recorded following library standards.

Gateway to locating holdings of the archival collection of thousands of participating libraries, museums, and archives. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.

Collection on ancient Greek and Roman art and historical objects at the Classical Art Research Centre at the University of Oxford.

Integrated catalog covering the collections of three museum libraries: Brooklyn Museum Libraries & Archives, Frick Collection Art Reference Library, and The Museum of Modern Art Library.

Includes:

Inventories of American Painting & Sculpture including over 400,000 works in public and private collections nationwide.

Photograph Archives Catalog containing over 10,000 digital images documenting American art and artists

Pre-1877 Art Exhibition Catalogue Index which has descriptive information on 136,494 art works shown in 1,057 exhibitions held in this country and Candada up through 1876.

Collection of roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the visual arts in America.

The Public Art Archive documents public artworks across the globe, providing free access to information about public artworks in one central repository.

Catalogues raisonnés — scholarly compilations of an artist's body of work — are critical tools for researching the provenance and attribution of artwork. This database includes two electronic resources — a database of published catalogues raisonnés and one of catalogues in preparation.

The Art Genome Project is the classification system and technological framework that powers Artsy. It maps the characteristics (we call them “genes”) that connect artists, artworks, architecture, and design objects across history. There are currently over 1,000 characteristics in The Art Genome Project, including art historical movements, subject matter, and formal qualities.

The Dictionary of Art Historians is a free, privately funded biographical dictionary of historians of western art written and maintained by scholars. It compiles the documented facts of an historian's life in order to serve as a background for understanding a specific text and the historiography of art.