This guide provides links and instructions to Campbell Library's resources and services that members of the Rowan University community can access online. Even with classes fully online and the library building closed, the majority of what the library offers is still available to help with your research.
Use the navigation menu to move between pages. Each page focuses on one of the most common tasks for which you may need the library's support. There are multiple boxes on each page that cover subtopics of the page topic, which you can see and jump to from the tabs on the left.
For help with any technical issues with our online resources, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org
For more detailed help with research in a particular subject area, please browse our Research Guides:
For in-depth research assistance for a class or project, please use any of the following to reach out to a subject librarian:
For questions about your checked out materials and library policies, please contact email@example.com
For questions about Interlibrary Loan, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org Only electronic ILL requests (such as for articles and book chapters) are currently available.
For help with this guide, please contact Ashley Lierman at email@example.com
You can also ask quick questions via chat by clicking the button below:
The library's scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, and more are available online. These articles are organized into searchable databases. You will be asked to log in with your Rowan username and password when you open a database from off campus.
Subjects: This drop-down menu lets you view a list of databases for a subject area, like English, Education, Biology, etc.
Database Types: Some databases contain things other than articles. This drop-down menu lets you see only the databases with certain types of content.
If you're seeing fewer databases than you think you should, you may have selected an option you've forgotten about! Try clicking the button at the top that says "Clear Filters/Browse All Databases" to reset your view.
So you've found an article that interests you. How can you access and read it?
On your list of results, look for links below the article that say PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text. If these are available, they're the easiest way to get to the article.
Sometimes PDF/HTML Full Text links are not available below an article. If not, you should see a button with a Rowan torch that says "Get It!" instead:
Click this button to automatically check if the library owns the article anywhere online.
On the next page that displays, there will be one or more links in the section marked "View Online." Clicking on any of these should take you to the article. (screenshot)
On the next page that displays, the View Online section will not be shown. Instead, a section marked "How to get it" will appear, with a link to the Interlibrary Loan request form. (screenshot)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service the library offers. Articles and other electronic items the library does not own can be requested from other libraries, and provided online to our users. This process can take up to 1-2 days, depending on the material.
You can submit an ILL request either using the Request from Interlibrary Loan link via the Get It! button as shown above, or by going directly to ILLiad via the Interlibrary Loan link on the library website.
In ILLiad, use the appropriate link under "New Request" in the left-hand menu to open the request form.
Use Google Scholar to search for the more scholarly materials that Google has found on the Internet. Add to the power of Google Scholar: link to Rowan University Libraries' resources.
Now when you search in Google Scholar from this browser, your results should link directly to full text of each article, courtesy of Rowan University Libraries.
The best way to find e-books the library owns is by using Library Search, the main search box on the library homepage.
To find e-books the library owns on a particular topic:
When you find an e-book that you would like to use, follow these steps to get access.
Probably not. While we can order most digital articles, book chapters, and other shorter materials for you through Interlibrary Loan (see the Find Articles page of this guide), most institutions' license terms for e-books will not allow them to lend these materials. If Rowan doesn't own an e-book already, we may be able to order individual chapters for you, but it is unlikely we'll be able to get the whole book. Furthermore, Interlibrary Loan for physical books is currently suspended until further notice.
Please find and contact your subject librarian to let them know what you need. We'll do our best to find a way to get you what you need.
To read and dowload ebooks, you may need the following software:
The library has access to several services that provide educational streaming video, which can be assigned for classes or used by students independently.
Browse the following links for available films. You will be prompted to log in with your Rowan username and password when accessing these services.
A number of online resources are available through the library to help with citing sources.
The library subscribes to several citation managers, which are software tools that can help you save, organize, and cite sources you find when searching in library databases. You can choose and use any of the options below that works best for you.
Library Search and many of the library's databases will automatically generate citations for materials that you find there, which you can copy and paste. Here are instructions for some of our most commonly-used resources. Always check automatically-generated citations for accuracy!
If you need more information on citing in a particular style, here are some in-depth guides available online.
Even though Research & Instruction librarians can't come work with your classes in person right now, there are still a number of options for how to arrange research instruction for your students online.
These are interactive, asynchronous activities that can be assigned as part of an online course. Students complete these modules independently, and their work can then be evaluated to determine where additional help is needed.
How to use:
Contact: Ashley Lierman (firstname.lastname@example.org)
How long does it take? About 30 minutes
What will students learn? Students will learn how to quote, paraphrase successfully, and cite sources, both in-text and in bibliographies, as well as necessary information about annotated bibliographies.
How will they learn it? Reading short explanations and recommendations, completing practice questions, practicing skills, and receiving reference materials they can save and consult later.
In which courses would this be most helpful? Courses with early undergraduate students where they must cite sources in written assignments.
Implementation instructions: It is strongly recommended that the module be a required assignment, though pass/fail evaluation should be sufficient. At the end of the module, students will receive a summary of all their responses that can be downloaded as a PDF and submitted as proof of completion. Since some activities in the module require students to compose their own quotations and paraphrases, it is also recommended to establish some means of giving students feedback on this work, either from the instructor or from exchanging work with a peer for review.
How long does it take? About 30-40 minutes
What will students learn? Students will learn to evaluate online sources using “lateral reading” strategies developed by Mike Caulfield and the Stanford History Education Group (described in this Evaluating Online Sources guide).
How will they learn it? Reading short explanations and viewing videos about different approaches to evaluating online sources, and completing practice activities which help apply these evaluative skills to real-life situations.
In which courses would this be most helpful? Courses at any level where students may need to use web sources and critique their value, such as when critically exploring a particular topic or current event..
Implementation instructions: It is strongly recommended that the module be a required assignment, though pass/fail evaluation should be sufficient. Students should complete all of the response portions of this module, as they provide a useful learning experience.
Librarians at Campbell welcome the opportunity to collaborate with you to create custom research instruction for use online. You can contact us in any of the following ways:
Please note: Online library instruction doesn't have to mean devoting time to a synchronous or recorded session! You can ask librarians for resources to embed in your course for students, to be available as a contact to students, or to consult with you and/or your students on the best ways to approach research projects online. Let us know your needs, and we'll figure out how to meet them together.
These links provide some additional options for simple tutorials created by other college and university libraries.
The due date for all currently checked-out items has been postponed to August 31. If you would like to return your books in the meantime, you can use the book drop outside the library if you're on campus, or otherwise mail materials to Campbell Library. Graduating seniors will receive prepaid UPS labels in the mail so they can return their books at no cost to themselves.
You are currently welcome to order electronic articles, book chapters, and similar digital items that Rowan does not own through Interlibrary Loan, and they will be delivered electronically. Interlibrary Loan services for print items (physical books, videos, and other items) have been suspended. It also may not be possible to borrow full electronic books through Interlibrary Loan. If you need access to an e-book Rowan doesn't own, please use the link below to find and contact the appropriate subject librarian: