Skip to main content

Online Access and Services

A guide to using library resources and services remotely as classes move fully online for the near future.

Welcome

Welcome

See Rowan University Libraries' COVID-19 page for overview and current updates.

What is this?

This guide provides links and instructions to Campbell Library's resources and services that members of the Rowan University community can access online. Even with classes fully online and the library building closed, the majority of what the library offers is still available to help with your research.

How do I use this guide?

Use the navigation menu to move between pages. Each page focuses on one of the most common tasks for which you may need the library's support. There are multiple boxes on each page that cover subtopics of the page topic, which you can see and jump to from the tabs on the left.

What if I need help?

 

Technical Issues

For help with any technical issues with our online resources, please contact librarysupport@rowan.edu

 

Research Help

For more detailed help with research in a particular subject area, please browse our Research Guides:

 

Help from a Librarian

For in-depth research assistance for a class or project, please use any of the following to reach out to a subject librarian:

 

Borrowing and Policies

For questions about your checked out materials and library policies, please contact circulation@rowan.edu

For questions about Interlibrary Loan, please contact rowanill@rowan.edu Only electronic ILL requests (such as for articles and book chapters) are currently available.

 

Using This Guide

For help with this guide, please contact Ashley Lierman at lierman@rowan.edu

 

Chat

You can also ask quick questions via chat by clicking the button below:

More Rowan Resources for Teaching and Learning Online

Find Articles

Find Articles

The library's scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, and more are available online. These articles are organized into searchable databases. You will be asked to log in with your Rowan username and password when you open a database from off campus.

Databases

Database Finder

Subjects: This drop-down menu lets you view a list of databases for a subject area, like English, Education, Biology, etc.

Database Types: Some databases contain things other than articles. This drop-down menu lets you see only the databases with certain types of content.

If you're seeing fewer databases than you think you should, you may have selected an option you've forgotten about! Try clicking the button at the top that says "Clear Filters/Browse All Databases" to reset your view.

Most Popular Databases

Getting the Full Article

So you've found an article that interests you. How can you access and read it?

Full Text Links

On your list of results, look for links below the article that say PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text. If these are available, they're the easiest way to get to the article.

Get It! Button

Sometimes PDF/HTML Full Text links are not available below an article. If not, you should see a button with a Rowan torch that says "Get It!" instead:

Get It! button

Click this button to automatically check if the library owns the article anywhere online.

 

If the library DOES own the article:

On the next page that displays, there will be one or more links in the section marked "View Online." Clicking on any of these should take you to the article. (screenshot)

 

If the library DOES NOT own the article:

On the next page that displays, the View Online section will not be shown. Instead, a section marked "How to get it" will appear, with a link to the Interlibrary Loan request form. (screenshot)

 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan  (ILL) is a free service the library offers. Articles and other electronic items the library does not own can be requested from other libraries, and provided online to our users. This process can take up to 1-2 days, depending on the material.

You can submit an ILL request either using the Request from Interlibrary Loan link via the Get It! button as shown above, or by going directly to ILLiad via the Interlibrary Loan link on the library website.

In ILLiad, use the appropriate link under "New Request" in the left-hand menu to open the request form.

  1. Fill out the request form with at least all of the required information. (The form may be filled in automatically if you use the Interlibrary Loan link after using the Get It! button. Be sure to check it if so.)
  2. Click the Submit button at the bottom to submit the request.
  3. When your item is ready, you will receive an email notifying you at your Rowan email address. Log into ILLiad and click "Electronically Received Articles" in the left-hand menu to see your materials.
  4. It is recommended to download the PDF of any received material to your computer as soon as possible, as received materials will be removed from ILLiad after a few weeks.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to search for the more scholarly materials that Google has found on the Internet.  Add to the power of Google Scholar:  link to Rowan University Libraries' resources.

  1. From the Google Scholar home page, click the button in the top left with three horizontal lines: Google Scholar menu button example
  2. Select Settings.
  3. In the Settings area, click the option in the left navigation that says Library links.
  4. In the search box marked Show library access links for (choose up to five libraries):, search for Rowan University.
  5. An option should appear below the search box that reads "Rowan University - FullText@RowanUniversity" with a check-box next to it. Click the check-box so it is selected.
  6. Click Save in the lower right.

Now when you search in Google Scholar from this browser, your results should link directly to full text of each article, courtesy of Rowan University Libraries.

Google Scholar Search

Find E-Books

Find E-Books

The best way to find e-books the library owns is by using Library Search, the main search box on the library homepage.

Finding E-Books on a Subject

To find e-books the library owns on a particular topic:

  1. Search for your topic in Library Search.
  2. On the left side of the list of results, under "Limit to," select "Available online," and under "Resource Type," select "Books." If these options do not appear, try reloading the page. You may also have to click the "Show More" link under "Limit To" to see the option for Books. (screenshot
  3. This will limit your results only to e-books on your topic available to the Rowan community. (screenshot)

Accessing and Using E-Books

When you find an e-book that you would like to use, follow these steps to get access.

  1. Click on either the title of the book or the Available Online link below it.
  2. In the next screen, there should be at least one link in the section marked View Online. Clicking on any link that appears here should take you to the contents of the book. (screenshot)
  3. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Rowan username and password.
  4. The contents of the book may look different depending on the service that provides it. Most, however, will offer the option to read the book online, download PDFs of individual chapters, or download the entire book. Reading online or downloading one chapter at a time are generally preferred, as downloading the entire book can be a cumbersome process and may require third-party software on your computer.

What if I want an e-book Rowan doesn't have?

Can I get an e-book from Interlibrary Loan?

Probably not. While we can order most digital articles, book chapters, and other shorter materials for you through Interlibrary Loan (see the Find Articles page of this guide), most institutions' license terms for e-books will not allow them to lend these materials. If Rowan doesn't own an e-book already, we may be able to order individual chapters for you, but it is unlikely we'll be able to get the whole book. Furthermore, Interlibrary Loan for physical books is currently suspended until further notice.

If I need a book Rowan doesn't own, what can I do?

Please find and contact your subject librarian to let them know what you need. We'll do our best to find a way to get you what you need.

Ebook Software

To read and dowload ebooks, you may need the following software:

Find Videos

Find Videos

The library has access to several services that provide educational streaming video, which can be assigned for classes or used by students independently.

Streaming Video Services

Browse the following links for available films. You will be prompted to log in with your Rowan username and password when accessing these services.

Cite Sources

Cite Sources

A number of online resources are available through the library to help with citing sources.

Citation Management Tools

The library subscribes to several citation managers, which are software tools that can help you save, organize, and cite sources you find when searching in library databases. You can choose and use any of the options below that works best for you.

Copying Citations from Library Resources

Library Search and many of the library's databases will automatically generate citations for materials that you find there, which you can copy and paste. Here are instructions for some of our most commonly-used resources. Always check automatically-generated citations for accuracy!

Library Search

  1. After searching in Library Search (the main search box on the library homepage), click on the three dots to the upper right of any result you want to cite. This will open a set of options below the item. (screenshot)
  2. Click the button marked "Citation." (screenshot)
  3. This will open a citation generator below the item, with a short list of possible citation styles to the left and the citation for the currently selected style on the right. Select your citation style and copy and paste the citation.

EBSCO Databases (Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, ERIC, and more)

  1. After searching in an EBSCO database, click the title of any result you want to cite.
  2. In the next screen, look for the list of Tools down the right-hand side. The Cite option appears toward the bottom. (screenshot)
  3. Click the Cite option to open a list of citations for the item in different citation styles. Scroll through the list until you find your citation style, and copy and paste the citation.

ProQuest Databases (ProQuest Central, PsycINFO, and more)

  1. After searching in a ProQuest database, click the checkbox next to any result you want to cite.
  2. Click the "quotation marks" button ProQuest Cite button at the top of your list of results to open the Cite pop-up window. (screenshot)
  3. Select your citation style from the drop-down list to generate the appropriate citation, and copy and paste the citation.

JSTOR

  1. After searching in JSTOR, find the "Cite this item" button next to any result you want to cite, and click the button. (screenshot)
  2. In the pop-up window, citations will load in MLA, APA, and Chicago style. (Loading may take a moment.) Copy and paste the appropriate citation.

Guides

If you need more information on citing in a particular style, here are some in-depth guides available online.

For Faculty: Online Library Instruction

FAQs

FAQs

I have a book checked out! Can I/do I have to return it?

The due date for all currently checked-out items has been postponed to August 31. If you would like to return your books in the meantime, you can use the book drop outside the library if you're on campus, or otherwise mail materials to Campbell Library. Graduating seniors will receive prepaid UPS labels in the mail so they can return their books at no cost to themselves.

 

Can I still use Interlibrary Loan?

You are currently welcome to order electronic articles, book chapters, and similar digital items that Rowan does not own through Interlibrary Loan, and they will be delivered electronically. Interlibrary Loan services for print items (physical books, videos, and other items) have been suspended. It also may not be possible to borrow full electronic books through Interlibrary Loan. If you need access to an e-book Rowan doesn't own, please use the link below to find and contact the appropriate subject librarian: