Global Security

The IOM is the leading inter-governmental organization of migration that creates solutions to migration problems, promotes international cooperation regarding migration issues, and provides humanitarian assistance to all migrants. Their website contains numerous educational resources on migration such as glossaries, databases, reports, press rooms, online bookstores for publications, and The Migration Data Portal. The Migration Data Portal is one of the best resources for providing accurate and comprehensive global data on migration statistics and information.

The World Bank is a global organization that has established goals to end extreme poverty within the next generation, to push countries to create better living standards for all citizens, and to promote a global “shared prosperity.” International migration has significant implications for poverty growth; therefore, the Word Bank has created a broad agenda to provide evidence-based policy advice, to analyze the remittance costs that migrants send back to their home countries, to strengthen global partnerships, and more. Some of the resources that the World Bank Group has released includes publications, annual remittance data, books, the Africa Migration Project, and multimedia.

The UN refugee agency that works to provide better futures for refugees, internationally displaced communities, and stateless people. The UNHRC has provided numerous emergency assistance in the past such as clean water, sanitation, healthcare, shelters, transport, etc. to help displaced migrants return home, integrate, or resettle. The website contains more information regarding the UNHCR and what it does, various international emergencies, news, stories, global partners with the UNHCR, and many resources on ways to get involved and help.

Provides data and analysis on internal displacement and works to help policymakers to make decisions about the improvement of the lives of internationally displaced people, or those at-risk of becoming displaced in the future. Their website includes numerous sources of data and analysis, focus areas of different types of displacement, news, and various resources.

The humanitarian bureau of the U.S. Department of State, PRM aims to provide protection and ease the suffering of displaced migrants by creating humanitarian policies and responses, building global partnerships, offering life-sustaining assistance, and much more. Their website lists key topics of PRM such as humanitarian assistance by region overseas, the U.S. refugee admissions program, and the bureau’s various policy issues.

A non-profit, human rights organization intended to protect the rights of migrants who are displaced, specifically, by climate change. The organization’s project has conducted extensive in-field research on the human rights implications of climate change, which has strengthened their advocacy efforts to protect those who are displaced. More information regarding the issue of climate displacement, news stories, various perspectives, reports, and information of the organization itself can be found through the link.

Global supplier of geographic information system (GIS) software (mapping and spatial analytics software). With Esri’s software feature ArcGIS StoryMaps, its Story Maps team created an immersive, interactive, multimedia case study of climate migration of various locations around the world. The “Climate Migrants” Story Map contains in-depth information of displaced communities in Alaska, Island Nations, Bangladesh, Darfur, Syria, and the U.S. Coast.

The EU Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations department, which specializes in providing assistance, relief, and protection to anyone around the globe who is affected by either natural or man-made disasters. This page lists descriptions of the issue along with facts, figures, news, field blogs, and more information.

The International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) is the world’s largest humanitarian network that aims to reduce vulnerabilities, strengthen resilience, and foster a culture of peace around the world. The network primarily focuses on solving issues in disaster response and recovery, development, and social inclusion and peace; however, they also specialize in migration and displacement as well. Their page on “Migration and Displacement” lists the organization’s work for migration and displacement such as their policies, strategies, programs, virtual volunteer services, learning materials, press releases, reports, and more.

The RAND Corporation Research organization focused on and public policy related to issues including global security, health care, and social and economic well-being. The Corporation has topic pages regarding migration, forced migration, and migration law with extensive research collections. Various journal articles, reports, essays, briefs, press and more regarding migration can be found on these pages.

The Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organization focused on policy making that fosters prosperity, equality, opportunity, and well-being for all. The organization’s topic page on “Migration” contains key publications related to migration issues and a wide range of data on migration and integration issues. The OECD’s several databases dedicated to international migration include the OECD International Migration database, a Database on Immigrants in OECD countries (DIOC), and further data on the Indicators of Immigrant Integration.

Human Rights Watch is a non-governmental organization that investigates and reports various cases of human rights violations in order to create policy changes within governments and governmental organizations. The organization focuses on defending numerous human rights topics, including those for refugees and migrants. Their topic page for refugees and migrants includes overview information, educational videos, reports, current events, and much more.

Amnesty International is a non-governmental organization that advocates for universal human rights, including rights for refugees, asylum-seekers, and migrants. The organization’s page for refugees, asylum seekers, and migrants lists educational information regarding the human rights issues, campaigns, laws, community sponsorship, and much more. The page also features “Related Content” with a search engine that provides excellent content for migration information such as country reports, research, news, etc.