Global Security

The WHO works with 194 Member States, across six regions, and from more than 150 offices to achieve better health for everyone. Violence against women happens to be a major public and clinical health problem that violates human rights, so WHO plays a big role in bringing attention to and responding to violence against women. Their health topic page contains overview information, fact sheets, data, WHO response, publications, multimedia, and much more.

Resources and background information from the UNHCR. The UNHCR is the UN refugee agency that works to provide better futures for refugees, internationally displaced communities, and stateless people. The agency also offers protection to refugees and other persons of concern who are affected by GBV. The UNHCR works with numerous partners, governments, and communities to certify that their objectives to 1) reduce the risk of GBV for all persons of concern and 2) ensure all survivors of GBV have access to quality services are carried out. Their page on GBV contains overview information on the issue, UNHCR policies and strategies, publications, networks and knowledge hubs, and further resources.

The World Bank Group is a global organization that aims to end extreme poverty within the next generation, to push countries to create better living standards for all citizens, and to promote a global “shared prosperity.” GBV has significant implications for social and economic costs with some countries spending about 3.7% of their GDP on violence against women. Therefore, the World Bank is committed to addressing GBV through investment, research and learning, and collaboration with stakeholders.

WAPPP advances women and gender equity in economic opportunity, political participation, and education by creating knowledge, training leaders, and informing public policy and organizational practices. Their main mission is to equip leaders and changemakers with evidence-based strategies to advance women and gender equity. The WAPPP website offers tabs on more information regarding their organization, research insights, news and events, teaching and training, and more.

The UNFPA is the UN sexual and reproductive health agency. Its mission is to deliver a world where every pregnancy is wanted, every childbirth is safe, and every young person’s potential is fulfilled. The UNFPA works to fight GBV by providing information, data, publications, selected videos, and more resources on GBV.

The global champion for gender equality, working to develop and uphold standards and create an environment in which every woman and girl can exercise her human rights and live up to her full potential. UN Women supports UN Member States as they set global standards for achieving gender equality, and works with governments and civil society to design laws, policies, programs, and services needed to ensure that the standards are implemented and benefit all women worldwide. Their website offers a digital library, news and events, partnerships, and further information on what they do, where they work, and how they work.

UNICEF works in over 190 countries and territories to reach disadvantaged children and adolescents and to protect the rights of children, everywhere. Adolescent girls face the greatest risk of GBV; therefore, UNICEF works worldwide to prevent and respond to GBV in emergencies. Their humanitarian action page on GBV contains UNICEF’s response, a global overview of UNICEF GBViE portfolio, reach of the programs, risk mitigation, inter-agency leadership, tech and innovation, and more resources.

The Council of Europe is a leading human rights organization that includes 47 member states, working to protect all human rights. Their Gender Matters website contains non-formal education methods for preventing and addressing gender-based violence with young people. Their website menu includes the issues of gender, gender-based violence and human rights instruments, a set of activities, and more resources.

The ICRC) is an independent, neutral organization that operates worldwide, helping people affected by conflict and armed violence and promoting the laws that protect victims of war. ICRC address sexual violence and violence against women by stepping up its efforts to prevent the crimes and help the victims. The ICRC’s topic page on sexual violence and violence against women includes descriptions on the issue, special reports, inclusive progamming during COVID-19, and numerous articles, photos, and videos.

The Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) is the leading UN entity on human rights. It seeks to promote and protect all human rights, help empower people, assist governments, and inject a human rights perspective into all UN programmes. The OHCHR works with and assists governments in fulfilling their human rights obligations, speaks out against human rights violations worldwide, develops a forum of today’s human rights challenges, works with a wide range of partners, and much more. Its page on Women’s Human Rights and Gender Equality contains OHCHR’s work on gender equality, numerous issues in focus, and other organizations involved.

The GBV AoR works collectively to improve the effectiveness and accountability of humanitarian response for the prevention, risk mitigation, and response to all forms of gender-based violence; to ensure that the agency and capacity of survivors is recognized and reinforced; and to effectively employ primary prevention efforts in order to address underlying gender inequality. The GBV AoR coordinates and provides global level interagency policy advice and guidance on GBV responses. Their website offers tools and resources, news and events, minimum standards, key documents, and more.

A consensus-based coalition of 19 international NGOs working to advance the Women, Peace and Security agenda at the United Nations and around the world. The organization partners with women human rights defenders, peacebuilders and civil society leaders from conflict affected countries to advocate for the full and equal participation of women in all efforts to create and maintain international peace and security, as well as for the respect of women’s human rights. Their website contains their work, a range of thematic issues, publications, news and updates, and more.

A nonprofit organization that works around the globe to save lives, defeat poverty, achieve social justice, and fight for women and girls. CARE believes that everyone deserves a life free from violence; therefore, they have created a health topic page for GBV. Their topic page includes highlighted programs that fight against GBV and CARE’s prevention, risk mitigation, response, and advocacy.