Research Guides: Civil and Environmental Engineering: Additional Library Resources for Civil Engineering

Additional Library Resources for Civil Engineering

This page covers additional library sources for civil engineering research such as reference books and databases, government sites, and patents.

Government Databases

EPA Enforcement and Compliance History Online
Database providing integrated searches of EPA and state data for 800,000+ regulated facilities, including inspection, violation, and enforcement for the Clean Water Act, Clean Air Act, and hazardous waste laws; Safe Drinking Water Act data, Toxics Release Inventory data, National Emissions Inventory data, and Water Quality Data.
National Transportation Library - Integrated Search
The National Transportation Library is a repository and open science access portal (ROSAP) curated by the U.S. Department of Transportation. It is a good source for all sorts of transportation-related data and content produced by the federal government.
New Jersey Environmental Digital Library
A collection of online resources relating to New Jersey's environment.
North American Transportation Statistics Database
Government website offering transportation statistics across the United States, Canada, and Mexico in comparable quantities.

Federal and state government sites contain essential information relevant to civil engineers.

National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration
Up to date information about climate, ocean and environmental issues.
NOAA Climate Atlas
U.S. government data on climate.
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
U.S. Geological Survey

Engineering Reference Databases

These library databases provide essential engineering reference information.

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
E-book collection of engineering reference books and related content.
AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill is an innovative online encyclopedia and learning resource providing seamless access to the world's most trusted collection of critical, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional videos, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library provides access to the Annual Book of Standards in online subscription format.
Collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

Please note that you will be asked to agree to the license the first time your computer’s IP address connects. Once you have agreed to the terms of the license, you should not see this message again.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Physical, chemical, and materials property data and analytical tools for civil, mechanical, chemical, and electrical engineering applications.
Knovel offers physical/chemical/materials properties data, analytical tools, and full text handbooks and reference books for civil, mechanical, chemical, and electrical engineering applications.

ANSI standards search
Standards can be identified for free using this search but you have to purchase the desired standard.

Civil Engineering Reference Books

Civil engineering reference books are located in the T section (TA through TH) in the 2nd floor Reference Room of Campbell Library, or available online through the library website. These are a few examples.

2015 International Building Code Illustrated Handbook
e-book
Encyclopedia of Engineering Geology
e-book
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater
4th floor QD142.A5
Structural Steel Designer's Handbook
e-book
Traffic Engineering Handbook
e-book

A policy on geometric design of highways and streets by Institution of Engineering and Technology
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2018

Patent Searching

Google Advanced Patent Search
Google's patent search form - the easiest way for novice searchers to find patents quickly.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Search the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office databases for issued patents: full text from 1976, full page images since 1790.

For more help with patent searching, please visit my Patent Searching research guide.

Patent Searching Guide
Guide to patent searching by the Rowan University engineering librarian.