Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Shakespeare: Find Articles

A starting point for Shakespearean studies

Search for Articles in Journals and Books

OUR RECOMMENDATIONS

Literary Reference Center
Information on authors and their works, plot summaries book reviews, poems, short stories and more.

MLA Bibliography
Index to articles and other material on modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore. Covers subjects from prose to poetry, genres to literary forms, national literatures and regional dialects. (VALE/Ebsco)

MLA International Bibliography
The Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations, dates back to the 1920's, and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and includes many links to full text. This database includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500 titles, with full journal names standardized and ISBN attached.

MLA Directory of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. This information has been gathered by the MLA staff with the cooperation of MLA bibliographers and the editors represented in these listings. Over 5,500 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.

Google Scholar: Shakespeare Criticism
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites (quote from website).


OTHER GOOD CHOICES

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals; PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals.

CBCA Complete
CBCA Complete, with 600 full text titles, is the most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available today. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, CBCA Complete features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines. Can also be searched as part of ProQuest Central.

Literature Resource Center
A literature reference database; includes access to content from Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, and a variety of other online sources of literary criticism and biography.  (Gale)

MLA Bibliography
Index to articles and other material on modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore. Covers subjects from prose to poetry, genres to literary forms, national literatures and regional dialects. (VALE/Ebsco)