Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Supreme Court of the United States : Research

Databases and Search Tools

WestlawNext Campus Research

Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources.

America: History and Life

The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

JSTOR

Archive of full-text scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines.

Project Muse

Full-text database of current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.

Science Direct

This full-text database of scientific, medical, business, behavioral and social science journals. The database is very comprehensive and, despite its title, it should not be overlooked by those in the social sciences.  Published by Elsevier and available through arrangements with VALE.  

Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)

Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases.

Find Cases

 Findlaw

FindLaw's search-able database of the Supreme Court decisions since 1893 (U.S. Supreme Court Decisions: U.S. Reports 150-, 1893-). Browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and search-able by citation, case title and full text (description from the website).

Google Scholar

Contains U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791. Powerful search tools for all courts.Select those you want form the initial Google Scholar page. 

Justia's U.S. Supreme Court Center

Links to opinions, news, constitutional law blogs, and other resources on the Court.  Cases back to 1759 are included in this resource.

Open Jurist

OpenJurist's mission is to provide access to published United States legal opinions, Code and legal resources without charge. Contains United States Reports beginning in 1790. 

Public Library of Law

PLoL is one of the largest free law libraries in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place (so says the website).

Supreme Court Slip Opinions

The Supreme Court site publishes new slip opinions as soon as they are announced.

 

Selected Websites about the Supreme Court

ABA's Preview Briefs

Founded in 1878, the ABA is committed to supporting the legal profession with practical resources for legal professionals while improving the administration of justice, accrediting law schools, establishing model ethical codes, and more.

SCOTUS blog

A very informative blog from the United States Supreme Court

ACLU Blog of Rights

The ACLU is our nation's guardian of liberty, working daily in courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties that the Constitution and laws of the United States guarantee everyone in this country (text from the website)

Dorf on Law

Law, Politics, Economics, and more from Michael Dorf, Neil Buchanan, Sherry Colb, and others

Justia Verdict

Legal analysis and comments from Justia.com

American Constitution Society

Shaping debate, building networks, making a difference"  The American Constitution Society (ACS) believes that law should be a force to improve the lives of all people. 

Americans United - Blogs

Americans United for Separation of Church and State is a nonpartisan educational and advocacy organization dedicated to advancing the constitutional principle of church-state separation as the only way to ensure freedom of religion, including the right to believe or not believe, for all Americans.  Their expressed view: an America where everyone can freely choose a faith and support it voluntarily, or follow no religious or spiritual path at all, and where the government does not promote religion over non-religion or favor one faith over another.