Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Supreme Court of the United States : Welcome


The Supreme Court of the United States constitutes one of the Three branches of our government. It is powerful, some say the most powerful of the branches, dynamic in its evolution, and political as has been witnessed many time through its history. The total number of justices sitting on the Court is nine (since 1869). These positions are appointed. For more about the structure of the Federal Courts, follow these links. 

The Creation of the Supreme Court
Original and Complete text from the Avalon Project


Subject Librarian

Phyllis Meredith's picture
Phyllis Meredith
Phyllis Meredith

Research & Instruction Librarian
Rowan University Libraries/Campbell
Rowan University
Glassboro, New Jersey