Historical Newspapers: Library Databases

This page includes links to historical newspaper databases, as well as to primary source databases that include historical newspapers. To the extent possible, individual newspaper titles that are included in primary source databases have been listed under the respective database.

You can also search in historical newspaper web resources and digital collections, or search Google for the kinds of newspapers you need (e.g., historical newspapers Africa, newspapers Civil War).

Historical Newspaper Databases

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles from nearly 300 Canadian newspapers.
Offers unparalleled access to the full text of nearly 300 newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s. Canadian Newsstand content is updated daily so researchers always have timely access to new information.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes historical coverage from 1959-1989.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990. (ProQuest)
Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper digital archive of many significant U.S. and some international newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.
Historical Newspapers: New Jersey Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Image-based digitizations of New Jersey historical newspapers, including Asbury Park Press (1905-present), Bergen Record (Hackensack) (1895-present), Courier News (Bridgewater) (1961-present), Courier-Post (Cherry Hill /Camden) (1950-present), The Daily Journal (Vineland) (1925-present), Daily Record (Morristown) (1974-present), Home News Tribune (East Brunswick) (1903-present), and North Jersey Herald News (Passaic) (1872-present). For newspapers still publishing, coverage extends to within days of the current issue.
Miami Herald Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage from the Miami Herald from 1982 to present and its blogs from 2003 to present.
Also includes images from 1911 through 1982
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from a large collection of newspapers worldwide. Includes both older and current coverage. Click "A-Z Source List" for a full list of publications and publication dates.
NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international sources, including The Washington Post, Miami Herald, Philadelphia Inquirer, Trenton Times, USA Today, London Times, The Economist China Daily (Beijing).
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Access to The New York Times (1851 - 2017).
Presents PDF pages of the newspaper, preserving the visual sense of the publication. This online format replaces the microfiche archival coverage.
Philadelphia Inquirer (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Access to the Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 -2001)
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Access to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette and predecessors (1786-2003)
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
News articles from regional business publications.
Daily updates provide comprehensive full text for regional business publications including titles from Crain Communications. (Ebsco)
San Francisco Chronicle: Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Articles from 1869 to present day, from this newspaper which covers the San Francisco Bay Area in California, .
Sunday Times Historical Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Archive of the London newspaper The Sunday Times 1822 - 2016.
Thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large.
Times-Picayune Collection With Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
American newspaper published in New Orleans, Louisiana, from 1837- to present.
U.S. Newsstream (1980-current) This link opens in a new window
Articles from over 1300 newspapers and news content sites worldwide.
Provides access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Backfiles for most newspapers are included, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and additional features. Includes New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Online access to back issues of the Wall Street Journal, 1889 - 1999.
Newspaper coverage is from 1889 through 1996. For more recent issues of the Wall Street Journal, select the Wall Street Journal (current) link.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Online access to back issues of The Washington Post, 1877-1999.
Includes PDF images of nearly all content published in the Washington Post from the beginning, 1877, through 1997. Search the Washington Post Current edition for information after this end date.

Newspapers in Accessible Achives

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Archives of searchable historical primary source materials. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.
Accessible Archives makes available vast quantities of archived historical information, not previously furnished available online. Primary source materials have been assembled into databases with a strict attention to detail allowing access to specific information with pinpoint accuracy. Online full-text search capabilities and digital imaging permits the user to search and manipulate this information in ways never before possible.

African American Newspapers

African American Newspapers in the South, 1870-1926

America and World War I Parts I-3. American Military Camp Newspapers

Anatomy of Protest in America Series: Newspapers, 1729-1922

The Athens Republique

The Banner-Enterprise

The Bee

The Black Dispatch

The Canadian Observer

The Charleston Mercury

The Christian Recorder

The Civil War Part I. A Newspaper Perspective

Anatomy of Protest in America Series: Newspapers, 1729-1922

The Athens Republique

The Banner-Enterprise

The Bee

The Black Dispatch

The Canadian Observer

The Charleston Mercury

The Christian Recorder

The Civil War Part I. A Newspaper Perspective

The Liberator

The Lily

The Louisianian

The Maryland Gazette

The Muskogee Cimeter

The Nashville Globe

National Anti Slavery Standard

Native Americans in History: Part I: Newspapers, 1728-1922

The Negro Business League Herald

The New Citizen (Votes for Woman)

The New York Herald

News of the Day

The 19th Amendment Victory: A Newspaper History, 1762-1922

The North Star

Old Post Union

The Pennsylvania Gazette

Pennsylvania Newspaper Record

The Pennsylvania Packet

Provincial Freeman

Quarantine and Infectious Disease Control Series: Newspapers, 1736-1922

The Remonstrance

The Republican

The Revolution

Richmond Enquirer

The South Carolina Gazette

The Gazette of the State of South Carolina

The South Carolina Gazette

The Gazette of the State of South Carolina

Vincennes Courant

Vincennes Gazette

Vincennes Weekly Courant and Patriot

Vincennes Weekly Gazette

Weekly Vincennes Gazette

Vincennes Times

The Virginia Gazette

Weekly Advocate

The Western Woman Voter

The Woman's Tribune

Women's Suffrage

Newspapers in AM Explorer

AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.

American Indian Newspapers

Service Newspapers of World War Two

Newspapers in Primary Sources (Proquest)

Primary Sources Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Three hundred multidisciplinary resources providing access to thousands of primary source documents, including archival collections, government documents, periodicals, newspapers, and video. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.

American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)

American Israelite

Arizona Republican 1890-2007

Atlanta Constitution

Atlanta Daily World

Austin American Statesman

Baltimore Afro-American

Boston Globe

Calgary Herald

Chicago Defender

Chicago Tribune

Chinese Newspaper Collection

Christian Science Monitor

Cincinnati Enquirer 1841-2009

Civil War Era

Cleveland Call & Post

Communist Newspapers 1917-2013

Dayton Daily News

Detroit Free Press 1831-1999

Edmonton Journal

Globe and Mail

Guardian and Observer

Hartford Courant

Indianapolis Star 1903-2004

Irish Times

Jerusalem Post

Jewish Advocate

Jewish Exponent

Korea Times 1956-2016

Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals

Los Angeles Sentinel

Los Angeles Times

Louisville Courier-Journal (1830-2000)

Michigan Chronicle

Minneapolis Star Tribune 1867-2001

Nashville Tennessean 1812-2002

New York Amsterdam News

New York Tribune 1841-1962

Newsday (Nassau Edition)

Norfolk Journal and Guide

Ottawa Citizen

Philadelphia Inquirer 1860-2001

Philadelphia Tribune

Pittsburgh Courier

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette 1786-2003

Regina Leader-Post

San Francisco Chronicle

Saskatoon Star Phoenix

Scotsman

South China Morning Post Subscription

St. Louis Post Dispatch 1874-2003

St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times

The Province

Times of India

Toronto Star

Vancouver Sun

Victoria Times-Colonist

Windsor Star