Newspapers - Historical

The historical newspaper resources listed in this guide include major national and international newspapers,  newspaper databases (Rowan login required), and web sources with historical coverage.

For any topic, you can begin with resources on the Library Databases page.

For more focused topics, you may want to start with a topic-specific page (e.g., African American Newspapers, New Jersey Newspapers)

Click "Jump to Current Newspapers" for a separate guide listing current newspapers.

Within Rowan Library

Specific Newspaper Publications:

• Most newspapers and news magazines to which the library has access can be located via the Journal Finder (within Library Search). When you locate the correct title, check the publication dates and where the item is available.
• Historical newspaper titles that are provided through library databases like Historical Newspapers (Proquest) and Accessible Archives are NOT usually indexed in Journal Finder. If you are looking for an historical newspaper and do not find it in Journal Finder, please also search Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) under the "Publications" tab.

Specific Newspaper Articles: 

• Try a Newspapers search in Library Search to locate a specific newspaper article (not the entire publication).
• If you do not find a specific newspaper article in Library Search, try searching for the specific newspaper publication (see instructions in the paragraph above). (Some newspapers are not indexed in Library Search. This includes some articles from Newsbank Access World News and Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)).

Beyond the Library

For those items you don't find available through the Library, you may wish first to see if they’re freely available online (search the Google News Archive or do a general Google search).

If they are not freely available online, search in WorldCat for other libraries that have the item (do a title search and limit the format to newspapers). You can then request a specific item via interlibrary loan, or you may wish visit the library or archive that houses the materials.