African American Newspapers

African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
African American newspapers published in the U.S. from 1827-1998.
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Individual black newspapers that are included in the African American Newspapers collection (above) are listed here and can be searched separately.
African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Diverse African newspapers from 1800-1922.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans, as recorded by the news media.
Civil War Collection This link opens in a new window
Online archive of newspaper articles published in and books during the U.S. Civil War.
Contains the full text of major articles from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies.
Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper digital archive of many significant U.S. and some international newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.

Primary Sources Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Includes numerous African American newspapers. See the Subcollections Guide for the full list of newspaper titles.