New Books Purchased by Campbell Library

by Daniel Kipnis on 2019-12-20T15:22:00-05:00 | 0 Comments

Re-Rooting the Learning Space by Jennifer S. Thom

ISBN: 9460914292

Publication Date: 2012-01-01

To understand a living system, such as a tree, in an ecologically systemic way involves more than simply reducing the tree down to its parts or by analyzing the tree from part to whole. Not only does one need to study the tree's leaves, stems, branches, trunk, root system, and its interaction with the environment but from many vantage points to make sense of how each part exists in dynamic relationship with the others as an integrated system. The same is true about the purpose of this book. It is not meant to be a recipe for how to teach mathematics well or to serve as simply a descriptive account of a teaching practice. It is in essence, a systemic exploration into the embeddedness and co-emergence of theory and practice in mathematics teaching. This book is ideal for undergraduate and graduate courses in mathematics education and curriculum studies. With its up close and contextual forms of data and a variety of interpretive methods used for the analyses, this book is highly suitable for courses in research. The audience includes professors, teacher educators, and in-service teachers who are interested in ecological theories and how these inform mathematics teaching and learning. "

Chance in the World by Carl Hoefer

ISBN: 019090741X

Publication Date: 2019-09-10

Probability has fascinated philosophers, scientists, and mathematicians for hundreds of years. Although the mathematics of probability is, for most applications, clear and uncontroversial, the interpretation of probability statements continues to be fraught with controversy and confusion. What does it mean to say that the probability of some event X occurring is 31%?In the 20th century a consensus emerged that there are at least two legitimate kinds of probability, and correspondingly at least two kinds of possible answers to this question of meaning. Subjective probability, also called "credence" or "degree of belief" is a numerical measure of the confidence of some person or some ideal rational agent. Objective probability, or chance, is a fact about how things are in the world.It is this second type of probability with which Carl Hoefer is concerned in this volume, specifically how we can understand the meaning of statements about objective probability. He aims to settle the question of what objective chances are, once and for all, with an account that can meet the demands of philosophers and scientists alike. For Hoefer, chances are constituted by patterns that can be discerned in the events that happen in our world. These patterns are ideally appropriate guides to what credences limited rational agents, such as ourselves, should have in situations of imperfect knowledge. By showing this, Hoefer bridges the gap between subjective probability and chance. In a field where few scholars have given adequate treatment to interpreting statements of chance, Hoefer develops a philosophically rich theory which draws on the disciplines of metaphysics,ontology, and philosophy of science.

101 Careers in Mathematics by Andrew Sterrett (Editor)

ISBN: 0883857863

Publication Date: 2014-12-30

This third edition of the immensely popular 101 Careers in Mathematics contains updates on the career paths of individuals profiled in the first and second editions, along with many new profiles. No career counselor should be without this valuable resource. The authors of the essays in this volume describe a wide variety of careers for which a background in the mathematical sciences is useful. Each of the jobs presented shows real people in real jobs. Their individual histories demonstrate how the study of mathematics was useful in landing well-paying jobs in predictable places such as IBM, AT & T, and American Airlines, and in surprising places such as FedEx Corporation, L.L. Bean, and Perdue Farms, Inc. You will also learn about job opportunities in the Federal Government as well as exciting careers in the arts, sculpture, music, and television. There are really no limits to what you can do if you are well prepared in mathematics. The degrees earned by the authors profiled here range from bachelor s to master s to PhD in approximately equal numbers. Most of the writers use the mathematical sciences on a daily basis in their work. Others rely on the general problem-solving skills acquired in mathematics as they deal with complex issues.

A Mathematician's Practical Guide to Mentoring Undergraduate Research by Michael Dorff; Allison K. Henrich; Lara Pudwell

ISBN: 9781470449346

Publication Date: 2019-09-29

A Mathematician's Practical Guide to Mentoring Undergraduate Research is a complete how-to manual on starting an undergraduate research program. Readers will find advice on setting appropriate problems, directing student progress, managing group dynamics, obtaining external funding, publishing student results, and a myriad of other relevant issues. The authors have decades of experience and have accumulated knowledge that other mathematicians will find extremely useful. This book is a wonderful resource for those interested in engaging undergraduates in research. The authors' extensive experience in mentoring undergraduates in research is evident throughout. --Joseph A. Gallian, Director of the University of Minnesota Duluth REU, Former President of MAA, Former Director of MAA Project NExT You do not need to be a mathematician to appreciate ``A Mathematician's Practical Guide to Mentoring Undergraduate Research''. The book is filled with useful information, advice, and ideas for faculty engaging in undergraduate research based on the most successful ideas from the undergraduate research community. -- Julio Rivera, Emeritus President of the Council on Undergraduate Research A remarkably entertaining compendium of useful information for anyone interested in mentoring undergraduates in mathematical research. With wisdom gathered over their collective decades of experience, the authors provide a complete starter kit for successful undergraduate research groups in the mathematical sciences. --Kathryn Leonard, Director of the Center for Undergraduate Research in Mathematics at Occidental College This book is published in cooperation with the Council on Undergraduate Research.

Women Who Count by Shelly M. Jones

ISBN: 1470448890

Publication Date: 2019-08-16

Women Who Count: Honoring African American Women Mathematiciansis a children's activity book highlighting the lives and work of 29 African American women mathematicians, including Dr. Christine Darden, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson, and Dorothy Vaughan from the award-winning book and movie Hidden Figures. It is a must-read for parents and children alike.

From Servant to Queen by John Heard

ISBN: 9781107124134

Publication Date: 2019-04-11

With a few notable exceptions, pure mathematics in Britain at the beginning of the nineteenth century was mainly a recreation for amateurs. Drawing on primary sources, John Heard provides an engaging account of the process by which it rose to become an academic discipline of repute which by the First World War was led by G. H. Hardy, and supported by the internationally-respected London Mathematical Society. In chronicling that rise, this book describes key contributions and the social environment in which mathematicians operated, using contemporary commentary where appropriate. No mathematical knowledge is required, and readers with a wide range of interests and backgrounds will find much to enjoy here. The material is presented from an impartial point of view, and provides full references to help any researchers who want to dig deeper into the original sources. The result is a unique insight into the world of Victorian mathematics and science.

Hilbert's Tenth Problem by M. Ram Murty; Brandon Fodden

ISBN: 1470443996

Publication Date: 2019-06-12

Introduction; Cantor and infinity; Axiomatic set theory; Elementary number theory; Computability and provability; Hilbert's tenth problem; Applications of Hilbert's tenth problem; Hilbert's tenth problem over number fields; Background material; Bibliography; Index.

Abstraction and Infinity by Paolo Mancosu

ISBN: 0198746822

Publication Date: 2017-02-15

Paolo Mancosu provides an original investigation of historical and systematic aspects of the notions of abstraction and infinity and their interaction. A familiar way of introducing concepts in mathematics rests on so-called definitions by abstraction. An example of this is Hume's Principle,which introduces the concept of number by stating that two concepts have the same number if and only if the objects falling under each one of them can be put in one-one correspondence. This principle is at the core of neo-logicism.In the first two chapters of the book, Mancosu provides a historical analysis of the mathematical uses and foundational discussion of definitions by abstraction up to Frege, Peano, and Russell. Chapter one shows that abstraction principles were quite widespread in the mathematical practice thatpreceded Frege's discussion of them and the second chapter provides the first contextual analysis of Frege's discussion of abstraction principles in section 64 of the Grundlagen. In the second part of the book, Mancosu discusses a novel approach to measuring the size of infinite sets known as thetheory of numerosities and shows how this new development leads to deep mathematical, historical, and philosophical problems. The final chapter of the book explore how this theory of numerosities can be exploited to provide surprisingly novel perspectives on neo-logicism.

Emergence and Expansion of Pre-Classical Mechanics by Rivka Feldhay (Editor); Jürgen Renn (Editor); Matthias Schemmel (Editor); Matteo Valleriani (Editor)

ISBN: 9783319903439

Publication Date: 2018-10-26

This book is divided into two sections. The first section is concerned with the emergence and expansion of a form of mechanical knowledge defined by us as pre-classical mechanics. The definition purports to the period roughly between the 15th and the 17th century, before classical mechanics was formulated as a coherent and comprehensive mechanical theory in the sequel of Newton's work. The investigation of problems that were isolated from each other at the time but cohered into some kind of stable broad intellectual framework characterizes pre-classical mechanics. The second section is dedicated to specific case studies that present the application of a pre-classical framework to determined problems and to the investigation of specific natural phenomena. It consists of five case studies that illustrate in detail a reconstruction of pre-classical mechanics in particular constellations. Early modern theoretical, technical and social contexts transformed ancient and medieval mechanical knowledge in the course of its transmission.

Calculated Surprises by Johannes Lenhard

ISBN: 9780190873288

Publication Date: 2019-03-18

If all philosophy starts with wondering, then Calculated Surprises starts with wondering about how computers are changing the face and inner workings of science. In this book, Lenhard concentrates on the ways in which computers and simulation are transforming the established conception of mathematical modeling. His core thesis is that simulation modeling constitutes a new mode of mathematical modeling that rearranges and inverts key features of the established conception. Although most of these new key features--such as experimentation, exploration, or epistemic opacity--have their precursors, the new ways in which they are being combined is generating a distinctive style of scientific reasoning. Lenhard also documents how simulation is affecting fundamental concepts of solution, understanding, and validation. He feeds these transformations back into philosophy of science, thereby opening up new perspectives on longstanding oppositions. By combining historical investigations with practical aspects, Calculated Surprises is accessible for a broad audience of readers. Numerous case studies covering a wide range of simulation techniques are balanced with broad reflections on science and technology. Initially, what computers are good at is calculating with a speed and accuracy far beyond human capabilities. Lenhard goes further and investigates the emerging characteristics of computer-based modeling, showing how this simple observation is creating a number of surprising challenges for the methodology and epistemology of science. These calculated surprises will attract both philosophers and scientific practitioners who are interested in reflecting on recent developments in science and technology.

The Paper Puzzle Book by Ilan Garibi; David Goodman; Yossi Elran

ISBN: 9789813202405

Publication Date: 2017-09-15

ALL YOU NEED IS PAPER All the puzzles inside are made out of paper -- from simple teasers to extreme brain workouts ORIGINAL DESIGNS Co-developed by a mathematician, an origami artist and a mechanical puzzle maker, this inventive book provides a unique and invaluable collection of a large, comprehensive and diverse variety of paper puzzles. And they only require a sheet of paper and perhaps a pair of scissors EASY TO CHALLENGING There are 99 unique puzzles including paper strip puzzles, M bius strips and flexagons, two-dimensional sheet folding, 'fold-and-cut' puzzles, 3D dissections and constructions, sequence folding puzzles, origami puzzles and even paper toys and magic. PROVIDES HOURS OF FUN Anyone of any age can find hours of enjoyment and challenge LEARNING GEOMETRY, MATHEMATICS AND PROBLEM-SOLVING CHALLENGES CAN BE FUN For students and teachers; parents and children; amateur and skilled mathematicians, and puzzle lovers. LEARN CONCEPTS AS YOU GO Many of the puzzles are new and original, they complement the classic puzzles that are included and all of them come with a solution as well as a mathematical and geometrical explanation that can be easily understood by all. The layout of the book, with its extensive puzzles, solutions and detailed descriptions, make it a sure candidate as the paper puzzle 'bible' for enthusiasts and puzzle lovers everywhere.

Hilary Putnam on Logic and Mathematics by Geoffrey Hellman (Editor); Roy T. Cook (Editor)

ISBN: 9783319962733

Publication Date: 2018-12-17

This book explores the research of Professor Hilary Putnam, a Harvard professor as well as a leading philosopher, mathematician and computer scientist. It features the work of distinguished scholars in the field as well as a selection of young academics who have studied topics closely connected to Putnam's work. It includes 12 papers that analyze, develop, and constructively criticize this notable professor's research in mathematical logic, the philosophy of logic and the philosophy of mathematics. In addition, it features a short essay presenting reminiscences and anecdotes about Putnam from his friends and colleagues, and also includes an extensive bibliography of his work in mathematics and logic. The book offers readers a comprehensive review of outstanding contributions in logic and mathematics as well as an engaging dialogue between prominent scholars and researchers. It provides those interested in mathematical logic, the philosophy of logic, and the philosophy of mathematics unique insights into the work of Hilary Putnam.

Problems with a Point by William I. Gasarch; Clyde Kruskal

ISBN: 9789813279728

Publication Date: 2019-04-01

Ever notice how people sometimes use math words inaccurately? Or how sometimes you instinctively know a math statement is false (or not known)? Each chapter of this book makes a point like those above and then illustrates the point by doing some real mathematics through step-by-step mathematical techniques. This book gives readers valuable information about how mathematics and theoretical computer science work, while teaching them some actual mathematics and computer science through examples and exercises. Much of the mathematics could be understood by a bright high school student. The points made can be understood by anyone with an interest in math, from the bright high school student to a Field's medal winner.

Connecting Humans to Equations by Ole Ravn; Ole Skovsmose

ISBN: 3030013367

Publication Date: 2019-02-25

Connecting Humans to Equations: A Reinterpretation of the Philosophy of Mathematics presents some of the most important positions in the philosophy of mathematics, while adding new dimensions to this philosophy. Mathematics is an integral part of human and social life, meaning that a philosophy of mathematics must include several dimensions. This book describes these dimensions by the following four questions that structure the content of the book: Where is mathematics? How certain is mathematics? How social is mathematics? How good is mathematics? These four questions refer to the ontological, epistemological, social, and ethical dimension of a philosophy of mathematics. While the ontological and epistemological dimensions have been explored in all classic studies in the philosophy of mathematics, the exploration of the book is unique in its social and ethical dimensions. It argues that the foundation of mathematics is deeply connected to human and social actions and that mathematics includes not just descriptive but also performative features. This human-centered and accessible interpretation of mathematics is relevant for students in mathematics, mathematics education, and any technical discipline and for anybody working with mathematics.

Add a Comment

Mathematics