Skip to main content

Statistical and Data Sources: Websites A-Z

A to Z

Click the letter above for an alphabetical listing of selected data and statistical websites.

10-Sector Database (GGDC)

From Groningen Growth and Development Centre (GGDC), University of Groningen

"The GGDC 10-Sector Database provides a long-run internationally comparable dataset on sectoral productivity performance in Africa, Asia, and Latin America. Variables covered in the data set are annual series of value added, output deflators, and persons employed for 10 broad sectors." (source: website)


Link Compilations

The following pages contain compilations of links to public data sources for various subjects. Many of the sources are free:

Awesome Public Datasets

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): State Snapshots 

AHRQ is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

"The State Snapshots provide state-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help state officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their state." (source: website)

 

Agenzia Per L'Italia Digitale (Italy)

Access more than 10,000 datasets produced by more than 75 governments

 

Agriculture, United States Department of (USDA) resources:

[also listed on the "U" tab as "United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) resources"]

A network of 18 research sites around the U.S. is collecting long-term data on agriculture, climate change, ecosystems, and natural resource conservation, These data are vital to developing safe and sustainable agricultural production systems.

 

The mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making.

 

The Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) collection is a catalog and archive of data, tools, and resources that support LCA for agriculture and related areas of research. It is complementary to the USDA LCA Commons Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) database, and provides access to a wider range LCA data and tools.

Life Cycle Assessment (also known as life cycle analysis, or cradle-to-grave analysis) is a method of assessing environmental impacts associated with all stages of a product's life. For example, it measures impact from raw material extraction to materials processing, manufacture, distribution, use, repair and maintenance, and disposal or recycling. The goal of LCA is to compare the full range of environmental effects assignable to products and services by quantifying all inputs and outputs of material flows, and then assessing how these material flows impact the environment. This information is used to improve processes, support policy, and provide a sound basis for informed decisions. (source: website)

 

Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data (ALFRED®)

From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

ALFRED® allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real-time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time.

Per the St. Louis Fed website: " Most users are interested in FRED® and not ALFRED®. In other words, most people want to know what's the most accurate information about the past that is available today (FRED®not what information was known on some past date in history (ALFRED®)."

(Also, see listing for FRED® on the "F" tab and GeoFRED® on the "G" tab.)

 

Amazon Web Services (AWS) Public datasets

Public Data Sets on AWS provides a centralized repository of public data sets that can be seamlessly integrated into AWS cloud-based applications. AWS is hosting the public data sets at no charge for the community, and like all AWS services, users pay only for the compute and storage they use for their own applications. Learn more about Public Data Sets on AWS and visit the Public Data Sets forum.

 

American FactFinder

From the U.S. Census Bureau. American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
 

American National Election Studies (ANES)

To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Central to this mission is the active involvement of the ANES research community in all phases of the project. (Source: website)
 

Archaeology Data Service

The Archaeology Data Service (UK) supports research, learning and teaching with freely available, high quality and dependable digital resources. It does this by preserving digital data in the long term, and by promoting and disseminating a broad range of data in archaeology. The ADS promotes good practice in the use of digital data in archaeology, it provides technical advice to the research community, and supports the deployment of digital technologies.
 

ARL Statistics

"ARL Statistics is a series of annual surveys that describe the collections, expenditures, staffing, and service activities for Association of Research Libraries (ARL) member libraries. Statistics have been collected and published annually for research libraries since 1907-08." (source: website)

 

Association of Religion Data Archives

Search or browse over 870 data files including surveys, polls, and other date submitted by researchers.
 

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Australia statistics and census data

 

BHO | British History Online - Datasets

Datasets are born digital materials that have been edited and prepared by historians. British History Online has transformed the original databases into web pages. (source:website)

The Book Sector in Europe: Facts and Figures 

This brochure collects such a wide range of data focusing on book publishing. Book publishing is the largest cultural industry in Europe, and European publishing (uniquely among European cultural industries) is a world leader. 

Border Crossing Data - United States - Mexico - United States - Canada

From the Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Box Office Guru 

Movie ratings

Box Office Mojo

Movie ratings

BoxOffice Pro

Movie ratings

Britain Through Time, A Vision of

Find places, statistical atlases, census, population and demographic reports

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)

[also listed on the "E" tab as "Economic Analysis, Bureau of (BEA)"]

From the U.S. Department of Commerce, the sites provide national regional, international, and interactive data. 

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)

[also listed on the "L" tab as "Labor Statistics, Bureau of (BLS)"]

A massive amount of statistical information available on this U.S. Government website, including:

"The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amounts of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."  (source: website)

"Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys approximately 146,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 623,000 individual worksites in order to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on non-farm payrolls." (source: website)

"The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. The CE program provides these data in tables, databases, news releases, reports, and public-use microdata files.

CE data are collected by the Census Bureau for BLS in two surveys, the Interview Survey for major and/or recurring items and the Diary Survey for more minor or frequently purchased items. CE data are primarily used to revise the relative importance of goods and services in the market basket of the Consumer Price Index." (source: website)

Bureau of Transportation Statistics

[also listed on the "T" tab as "Transportation Statistics, Bureau of"]

Part of the U.S. Department of Transportation, the U.S. Bureau of Transportation statistics offers data regarding various transportation topics including airlines and airports, freight transport, passenger travel, intermodal transportation, and infrastructure. Data is available at varying geographic levels including local, state, national, and international. Also listed under "T" as "Transportation Statistics, Bureau of (U.S.)"

Data Portal of the Dutch Government

 

Data.gov

The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web-based and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

 

Data.gov.uk

There has been a growing realization [of] the power of Linked Data for exposing, sharing, and connecting pieces of data and information using uniform resource identifiers (URI). It is being used widely across the public and private sectors to build an online information architecture. Linked Data is the underpinning technology that enables many of the new ways of working that we are beginning to see across government.  List of Linked Datasets & Vocabularies: environment, finance, legislation, location, ordnance, transport, statistics, reference.

 

DataCite

A not-for-profit organisation formed in London on 1 December 2009. Our aim is to establish easier access to research data on the Internet increase acceptance of research data as legitimate, citable contributions to the scholarly record support data archiving that will permit results to be verified and re-purposed for future study.

 

DataHub

From the Open Knowledge Foundation, 8,000+ free datasets covering various topics. Includes large datasets from national governments

 

DataOne

DataONE is a community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data.

Data.world

A financially well support enterprise with a focus on large data. Includes some free downloadable datasets. 

DBpedia

DBpedia is a crowd-sourced community effort to extract structured information from Wikipedia and make this information available on the Web. DBpedia allows you to ask sophisticated queries against Wikipedia, and to link the different data sets on the Web to Wikipedia data. 

 

Death on the Job, The Toll of Neglect: A National and State-By-State Profile of Worker Safety and Health in the United States

Annual report from the AFL-CIO, the umbrella federation for U.S. unions, covering "workplace fatalities, injuries, illnesses, the number and frequency of workplace inspections, penalties and public-employee coverage under the Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSH Act). . . . state of mine safety and health." Published since 1992.

 

Delaware Open Data Portal

From the State of Delaware

 

The Demographic and Health Surveys Program

From U.S. Agency for International Development (U.S. AID)

Widely considered one of the most important sources of health information pertaining to developing countries. The data is used when evaluating health, nutrition, and population programs. Topics include: child survival rates, family planning, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections (STIs), infectious diseases, maternal and child health, nutrition and reproductive health. Includes data from more than 300 surveys in more than 90 countries. Includes summary level statistics and microdata (available free for academic use following free registration).

 

The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)

"The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations. tDAR's use, development, and maintenance are governed by Digital Antiquity, an organization dedicated to ensuring the long-term preservation of irreplaceable archaeological data and to broadening the access to these data." (source: website)

 

Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS) from the International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Multinational trade data reflecting total imports and exports by trading partners. Data from 1948 to present; values presented in U.S. dollars. 

Available in the Data-Planet Statistical Datasets database:

 

Dow Jones Industrial Average® (DJIA) data:

 

Dryad Lab

The Dryad Digital Repository makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable. It is freely reusable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.

Easy Access to FBI Arrest Statistics: 1994-2012

Easy Access to FBI Arrest Statistics (EZAUCR) was developed to provide access to juvenile arrest statistics at the national, state, and county level. Arrest statistics are presented for 29 detailed offense categories. Users can select displays based on counts or rates for juveniles, adults, or all ages combined.

 

EBRI Databook on Employee Benefits

From the Employee Benefit Research Institute (EBRI)

First published in 1990, the EBRI Databook "includes data from dozens of sources to provide a comprehensive analysis of how the employee benefits system works, who and what its various functions affect, and its relationship with the U.S. economy." Currently, this publication is maintained online and updated when new data becomes available. The date a chapter was updated is displayed next to the chapter's link. 

 

EconData 

From Interindustry Forecasting at the University of Maryland (Inforum)

"Several thousand economic time series, produced by a number of U.S. Government agencies and distributed in a variety of formats and media, can be found here...These series include national income and product accounts (NIPA), labor statistics, price indices, current business indicators, and industrial production." (source: website)

 

Economic Analysis, Bureau of (BEA)

[also listed on the "A" tab as "Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)"]

From the U.S. Department of Commerce, the sites provide national regional, international, and interactive data. 

 

Economic Freedom of the World 

From the Fraser Institute

"The Fraser Institute is an independent non-partisan research and educational organization based in Canada." (source: website) Economic Freedom of the World is an annual report that uses 42 pieces of data to measure economic freedom in 157 nations. Data assessment includes 5 major areas:  (1) size of government: expenditures, taxes, and enterprises; (2) legal structure and security of property rights; (3) access to sound money; (4) freedom to trade internationally; and (5) regulation of credit, labor, and business.  Coverage from 1970 to present. 

The Economic Freedom of the World index data is available in a tool that allows searching, filtering, and export. In addition, all World Bank Development Indicators are included, enabling users to draw correlations between economic freedom and wealth, health, literacy, and other economic outcomes. (Note: free registration required to access the data system.)

 

Economic Research and Data

From the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System ("Federal Reserve Board")

"Economists at the Federal Reserve Board conduct innovative research on a broad range of topics in economics and finance." Includes data releases, and links to tools including the Data Download Program (DDP), where users can download data related to selected Federal Reserve Board statistical releases. (source: website)

Also, refer to individual Federal Reserve Bank websites for additional economic and finance data.

 

Editorial Projects in Education (EPE) Research Center 

From the publishers of Education Week

Includes reports and data. The Education Counts database contains more than 250 state-level K-12 education indicators (including public school salary data). Many indicators span multiple years.

 

Education Data and Statistics

Data about and related to education collected from a variety of sources and presented by the U.S. Department of Education.

Includes links to the following popular resources:

Comprehensive and nationally comparable data regarding higher education institution outcomes. Includes statistics on completion rates, educational debt, federal loan repayment, and alumni post-college earnings. Sources of data include: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), National Student Loan Data System, and tax records from the U.S. Department of Treasury.  Full datasets behind the College Scorecard, additional data regarding financial aid and earnings, aand associated documentation are also available for download. 

Includes data regarding: federal student aid programs, loan/grant disbursement, Title IV, cohort default rates, Guaranty Agency Reports, & Heightened Cash Monitoring.

"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is a congressionally mandated project administered by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences (IES).​ NAEP, first administered in 1969, is the largest continuing and nationally representative assessment of what our nation’s students know and can do in subjects such as mathematics, reading, science, and writing. Standard administration practices are implemented to provide a common measure of student achievement. 

Teachers, principals, parents, policymakers, and researchers all use NAEP results to assess progress and develop ways to improve education in the United States. The results of NAEP are released as The Nation’s Report Card, and are available for the nation, states, and in some cases, urban districts. The Nation's Report Card is the only ongoing assessment of what U.S. students know and can do in different subjects." (source: website)

 

EH.net 

From the Economic History Association

Links to economic history data series. International coverage.

 

Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR)

From the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). 

"All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free." (source: website) 

Includes filings by corporations, funds, and individuals. Coverage details.

 

Electronic Disclosure for Investors' Network (EDINET) (Japan)

From the Financial Services Agency, Japan.

Access to public securities documents filed within Japan. 

 

Energy, U.S. Department of: Open Energy Data

From the U.S. Department of Energy. Access energy datasets, search and developer tools, and the Public Data Listing for the Department of Energy. (The Public Data Listing is a machine-readable list of all of the publicly available datasets maintained by the Department and its program and staff offices). 

 

Energy Information Administration (EIA), U.S.

Part of the U.S. Department of Energy, the EIA "collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment." (source: website) 

Covers: coal, electricity, natural gas, petroleum & other liquids, nuclear & uranium, renewable & alternative fuels, total energy, consumption, efficiency. Features energy analysis &projections, financial market analysis & financial data for major energy companies, and environmental impact data (greenhouse gas data, electric power plant emissions, voluntary reporting).

Also, see the EIA's Open Data tools.

 

Enigma

With its integrated public data platform and data discovery and analytics tools, Enigma helps organizations and individuals fuse, organize, and explore data to make smarter decisions. Since 2012, Enigma has collected more than 100,000 different datasets from public agencies. Enigma's public data platform unifies billions of data points from more than 5,000 local, state, federal, and international sources. Topics range from government spending contracts, patents, and SEC filings, to asset ownership, bills of lading, and liens. Explore the data labs listed in the footer of the website and create a free account to search and download datasets. 

 

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC): Statistics

"The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is a bipartisan government Commission...responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information. It is also illegal to discriminate against a person because the person complained about discrimination, filed a charge of discrimination, or participated in an employment discrimination investigation or lawsuit.

Most employers with at least 15 employees are covered by EEOC laws (20 employees in age discrimination cases). Most labor unions and employment agencies are also covered. The laws apply to all types of work situations, including hiring, firing, promotions, harassment, training, wages, and benefits."

The website provides access to EEOC Enforcement and Litigation Statistics, Employment Statistics (aggregated data from EEO-1EEO-3EEO-4EEO-5, and Federal Sector Employment reports), Equal Employment Opportunity Data Posted Pursuant to the No Fear Act, Special Reports, and the Census 2000 Special EEO File that "will serve as the primary external benchmark for comparing the racial, ethnic and gender composition of an internal workforce, within a specified geography and job category, and the analogous external labor market." (source: website)

 

European Data Portal

The European Data Portal harvests the metadata of public data made available across Europe. This portal is developed by the European Commission with the support of a consortium.

 

European Union Open Data Portal

The European Union Open Data Portal is the single point of access to a growing range of data from the institutions and other bodies of the European Union (EU). The EU Open Data Portal is managed by the Publications Office of the European Union. Implementation of the EU's open data policy is the responsibility of the Directorate-General for Communications Networks, Content and Technology of the European Commission. (source: website)

 

Eurostat: Your Key to European Statistics

Click the Data tab for a wealth of information.

 

Executive Office for Immigration Review (U.S. Department of Justice) - Statistics and Publications

Includes access to asylum statistics, statistics yearbooks, and other statistics. 

Facebook Graph API

Use the HTTP-based Graph API to query Facebook user data that is not private. 

 

FedStats

A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official Federal statistics (source:website)

 

Federal Mediation & Conciliation Service

"The Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, created in 1947, is an independent agency whose mission is to preserve and promote labor-management peace and cooperation." (source: website) The website includes work stoppages data and collective bargaining notice (F-7) data. 

 

Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®)

From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

FRASER® is "both a digital library of economic history and a repository of the institutional history of the Federal Reserve System. As such, FRASER® preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents." (source: website)

 

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED®)

From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

FRED® offers U.S. and international time series data for economic research

(Also, see listing for ALFRED® on the "A" tab and GeoFRED® on the "G" tab.)

 

Follow the Money

From the National Institute on Money in State Politics

The nonpartisan, nonprofit National Institute on Money in State Politics compiles comprehensive campaign-donor, lobbyist, and other information from government disclosure agencies nationwide and makes it freely available. The Institute receives its data in either electronic or paper files from the disclosure agencies with which candidates must file their campaign finance reports. The Institute collects the information for all state-level candidates in the primary and general elections and then puts it into a database. Data is broken down into numerous industry and business classifications within 19 general economic sectors. (source: website) Refer to "What's On This Website?" page for an overview of the data on the website. 

 

France

Open platform for French public data

 

Freedom House

"Freedom House is an independent watchdog organization dedicated to the expansion of freedom and democracy around the world." Freedom House was founded in 1941 and is structured as a U.S.-based nonpartisan 501(c)(3) U.S. Government funded non-governmental organization (NGO). Freedom House supports frontline activists in their efforts to defend fundamental rights, including to document abuses, advocate for justice, end impunity, and fortify the self-protection of human rights defenders. We also provide emergency assistance to human rights defenders who come under threat and work with activists to broaden public support for upholding human rights.

Freedom House: Freedom in the World Report (data since 1998)

Freedom House:  Freedom of the Press Report (data since 2002)

Freedom House: Freedom on the Net (data since 2011)

Freedom House: Special Reports

 

The Futon Critic

Television ratings

Gallup

Gallup delivers analytics and advice to help leaders and organizations solve their most pressing problems. Combining more than 80 years of experience with its global reach, Gallup knows more about the attitudes and behaviors of employees, customers, students and citizens than any other organization in the world.

 

Gapminder

"Gapminder is an independent Swedish foundation with no political, religious, or economic affiliations."  (source: website) This website includes data and visualizations regarding various socioeconomic indicators for countries and multiple territories. Some data back to the year 1800. Data is well-sourced, simplifying further research.

 

GeoCommons

GeoCommons is a community contributed collection of open data from around the world. Uploaded by the public, data are often from public and open government websites and sources. The searchable archive includes more than 150,000 datasets as GeoJSON stored in Github and available to preview, download, or explore in ArcGIS.com. (source: website)

 

GeoHive

GeoHive is a site with all kinds of population statistics. The main component is tabulated population statistics: current, historical, estimates, projections, cities, agglomerations, etc. But also geopolitical data like the administrative divisions of countries (provinces, counties and such) of all nations of this world. In the resources section one can find a long list of national statistical agencies and other interesting resources.(source: website)

 

Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM)

From the Global Entrepreneurship Research Association, London Business School

Data from global study of entrepreneurship (covers more than 100 countries; data from more than 200,000 interviews a year over nearly 20 years). Examines "the entrepreneurial behavior and attitudes of individuals" and "the national context and how that impacts entrepreneurship." Includes key indicators, full individual-level datasets, reports, and country profiles. (source: website)

 

Genomic Data Sharing (GDS)

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) Genomic Data Sharing Policy expects that genomic research data from NIH-supported studies involving human specimens as well as non-human and model organisms will be submitted to an NIH-designated data repository.
 

Geographical Federal Reserve Economic Data (GeoFRED®)

From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

"GeoFRED® allows you to create, customize, and share geographical maps of data found in FRED®. Easily access the details and adjust how the data are displayed. You can also transform the data and download it according to geographic category and time frame." (source: website)

(Also, see listings for ALFRED® on the "A" tab and FRED® on the "F" tab.)

GitHub Open Source Community

The largest open source community in the world with millions of open source projects on Github, a development platform space for developers.  

Google Finance

Access 40 years' worth of stock market data, updated in real time. 

 

Google Public Data

Start here. Google Public data searches dozens and dozens of the major data sources for public data.

 

Google Trends

Contains statistics on Google search volume (as a proportion of total search) for any provided term, since 2004, across various regions of the world and in various languages. Also, identifies content trending on YouTube. 

 

Grapevine

"Since 1960, Grapevine has published annual compilations of data on state tax support for higher education, including general fund appropriations for universities, colleges, community colleges, and state higher education agencies. Each year’s Grapevine survey has asked states for tax appropriations data for the new fiscal year and for revisions (if any) to data reported in previous years." (source: website)

 

Greenland in Figures

All aspects of Greenland presented in figures.

 

Guide to State and Local Workforce Data

From the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration's Office of Workforce Development

This document, available in Microsoft Word and PDF formats, contains "links to a wealth of state and local employment and economic data from government and private sector sources." (source: website) Lists sources for job vacancy, unemployment and employment, occupation, credentials and skills, compensation, benefits, productivity, safety and health, labor-management (including union data), inflation and consumer expenditures, poverty, and low income (including homelessness) at the sub-national level.

 

Guidestar

Major source of data regarding non-profit organizations. Register for a free account in order to access additional data. 

Harvard Dataverse

From the Institute of Quantitative Social Science (IQSS), Harvard University Library, and Harvard University Information Technology

"Dataverse is an open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data."

"A Dataverse repository is the software installation, which then hosts multiple dataverses. Each dataverse contains datasets, and each dataset contains descriptive metadata and data files (including documentation and code that accompany the data). As an organizing method, dataverses may also contain other dataverses." (source: website)

The Harris Poll

Harris conducts polls on business health and life, politics, and sports. 

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)

From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

"HCUP is the Nation's most comprehensive source of hospital data, including information on in-patient care, ambulatory care, and emergency department visits. HCUP enables researchers, insurers, policymakers and others to study health care delivery and patient outcomes over time, and at the national, regional, State, and community levels...HCUP databases are derived from administrative data and contain encounter-level, clinical and non-clinical information including all-listed diagnoses and procedures, discharge status, patient demographics, and charges for all patients regardless of payer (e.g., Medicare, Medicaid, private insurance, uninsured), beginning in 1988." (source: website)

Healthdata.gov

This site is dedicated to making high-value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.

Historical Corporate Reports

From Watson Library, Columbia University

Historical Corporate Reports Online

From University of Pennsylvania Library

Historical Development: Economic Growth (GGDC)

From Groningen Growth and Development Centre (GGDC), University of Groningen

Provides access to GGDC's three databases on historical development: Maddison Historical StatisticsComparative Historical National Accounts, and the Modern Times Project. "These data sets provide long time series on indicators of economic growth, for a wide set of countries. Some of these series go as far back as the AD 1, allowing us to analyse relative economic performance from a truly historical perspective. For this purpose, internationally harmonised economic indicators have been constructed using clear and documented sources and methods." (source: website)

Historical Statistics of the United States

From the U.S. Census Bureau

Editions of Historical Statistics of the United States:

Catalog record for print of 1789 to 1945 edition, held by Rowan University

“This volume Is a completely revised and expanded version of Historical Statistics of the United States, 1789-1946, issued in 1949. Compiled by the Bureau of the Census with the cooperation of the Social Science Research Council, this new historical supplement to the Statistical Abstract ot the United States presents in compact and convenient form more than 8,000 statistical time series (mostly on an annual basis) which cover periods from 1610 to 1957.” (source: website)

“A two-part compendium updating and expanding the second edition, Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1957. This bicentennial edition, includes more than 12,500 time series, mostly annual, providing a statistical history of U.S. social, economic, political, and geographic development during periods from 1610 to 1970.”  (source: website)

Catalog record for print of Colonial Times to 1970 edition, held by Rowan University

History Data Service (UK)

The History Data Service data collection brings together over 650 separate studies transcribed, scanned or compiled from historical sources. The studies cover a wide range of historical topics, from the seventh century to the twentieth century. Although the primary focus of the collection is the United Kingdom, it also includes a significant body of cross-national and international data collections. Examples of topics covered include 19th and 20th-century statistics, manuscript census records, state finance data, demographic data, mortality data, community histories, electoral history and economic indicators.

HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base

Presented by the U.S. Census Bureau and supported by the President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief.

Hollywood Stories dataset

From InformationisBeautiful.net

Movie ratings. Coverage: 2007-2013. Includes lead studio, composite review score, story type, genre, grosses, budget, and profitability. 

Home Prices (U.S.), 1890-Present (note: this link opens an Excel Workbook)

Historical housing market data used in Yale University economic professor Robert Shiller's book, Irrational Exuberance [Princeton University Press 2000, Broadway Books 2001, 2nd edition, 2005], showing home prices since 1890 are updated monthly. (the first sheet tab of the workbook is a graph; the second sheet tab contains the dataset)

Housing and Urban Development (HUD), U.S. Department of: User Datasets

"HUD provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by [HUD's Office of Policy Development and Research] PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population." (source: website)

IEDA | Interdisciplinary Earth Science Alliance

The IEDA data facility’s mission is to support, sustain, and advance the geosciences by providing data services for observational geosciences data from the Ocean, Earth, and Polar Sciences.

iKNOW (International Knowledge Network of Women in Politics)

iKNOW provides, for free, relevant resources and publications related to the political empowerment of women and support women politicians, practitioners, academics, experts, and the general public alike. More than 54 different resources can be searched by keyword, type of resource, and theme. 

ILOSTAT

From the International Labour Organization (ILO)

"...the primary source for cross-country statistics on the labour market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies." (source: website)

IMD 2016 World Competitiveness Scoreboard 

From IMD World Competitiveness Center

The IMD World Competitiveness Scoreboard presents the 2016 overall rankings for the 61 economies covered by the WCY. The economies are ranked from most to least competitive.

IMD World Competitiveness Online 

From IMD World Competitiveness Center

Online database with 20-year time series on competitiveness for 61 countries. 

Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), U.S. - Statistics

ICE has prioritized its limited resources on the identification and removal of criminal aliens and those apprehended at the border while attempting to unlawfully enter the United States. The ICE Immigration Removals Report provides an overview of ICE Fiscal Year civil immigration enforcement and removal operations. (source: website)

Immigration Data & Statistics

From the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Includes access to the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, datasets regarding lawful permanent residents, refugees & asylees, U.S. naturalizations, U.S. nonimmigrant admissions, population estimates for unauthorized immigrants, nonimmigrants, and lawful permanent residents, as well as data visualizations and more. 

Index of Economic Freedom

From The Wall Street Journal and The Heritage Foundation

Data from an annually published guide that tracks the advancement in economic freedom, prosperity, and opportunity. The Index covers ten freedoms (property rights, freedom from corruption, government spending, fiscal freedom, business freedom, labor freedom, monetary freedom, trade freedom, investment freedom, financial freedom) in 186 countries since 1995.

The Index of Economic Freedom guides from 2006 to present are available online. Rowan University holds the print version from 1995 (the first edition) to present at call number HB95.I48

Industry Statistics Portal

From the U.S. Census Bureau.
Provides access to industry-level economic data. 

InformationisBeautiful.net: Data

Links to datasets covering various topics.

Integrated Health Interview Series

From Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota
Annual harmonized microdata on people in the U.S. National Health Interview Survey from the 1960s to the present. 

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Tax Statistics

There is a lot more here about Taxes and the IRS than just stats. 

International Labor Comparisons (ILC) program

From The Conference Board

"The International Labor Comparisons program prepares trends of manufacturing labor productivity and unit labor costs that are comparable across countries. ILC examines country data series, identifies areas where concepts are not aligned, and adjusts series to a comparable basis. Productivity, unit labor costs, and underlying data series are available for 19 countries in North America, Europe, and Asia." (source: website)

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world (source:website).

Interesting Social Media Datasets

From KDnuggets (August 2014)

Internet Movie Database (IMDb)

To find movie budget statistics and awards won, look under the entry for the movie.

Internet World States

Provides a variety of Statistics related to Internet use, globally and by region. 

Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

ICPSR is a unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan. 

Widely used social science data repository. Some datasets available for public use, some accessible only via institutional subscription, some data is restricted. (Note: free registration required.)

IPSOS

IPSOS provides data through polling and market analysis primarily for the private sector. delivering information and analysis needed for marketing and sales.

IPUMS-CPS

From Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota
Harmonized microdata on people in the Current Population Survey, every March from 1962 to the present. 

IPUMS-DHS

From Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota

"IPUMS-DHS is a project designed to help researchers conduct comparative analyses of the Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS), the main source of information on health in the developing world." The microdata come from nationally-representative health surveys carried out in low and middle resource countries since the 1980s to present. (source: website)

IPUMS Higher Ed

From Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota

Microdata from leading surveys for studying the science and engineering workforce in the United States, 1993 to the present.

IPUMS International Census Microdata

IPUMS International is a project dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world.
Its goals are 
to collect and preserve data and documentation;  Harmonize data;  Disseminate the data absolutely free!

IPUMS Time Use

From Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota

Historical and contemporary American Time Use microdata from 1965 to the present

IPUMS USA Census Microdata 

IPUMS USA is a project dedicated to collecting and distributing United States census microdata.

Is School Funding Fair? A National Report Card

A "sophisticated comparative analysis of public school finance in the United States, examining the level and distribution of school funding within each state in relation to student need." From Rutgers University Graduate School of Education and the Education Law Center. Includes links to downloadable reports (2010, 2012, 2014+) and interactive reports (2007 to 2013).

Israel Social Sciences Data Center

 The Israel Social Sciences Data Center (ISDC) was established by the Faculty of Social Sciences at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, with a mission to collect, preserve and distribute data of interest to the academic community.  The ISDC now houses approximately 1000 datasets including national sample surveys, local studies, census micro-data and government records in selected fields as well as macroeconomic and regional series. Several databases are available through the Web.

Journal of Open Archaeology Data (JOAD)

JOAD publishes peer-reviewed data papers describing archaeological datasets and where to find them. Authors must agree to make their datasets freely available in a public repository, where anyone with an Internet connection may download them.

 

Justice Statistics, Bureau of (BJS) 

BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. 

Kauffman Foundation

The Kauffman Foundation is one of the largest private foundations in the United States. Established in the mid 1960s by the late entrepreneur and philanthropist Ewing Marion Kauffman, the Foundation focuses on education and entrepreneurship, which Ewing Kauffman viewed as two ends of a continuum. 

The link above lists data sources that reviewers have used in building the State of the Field, a compilation of knowledge on entrepreneurship research written by experts in the field. 

Also, see the "data sources" section in each State of the Field topic area for overviews of the best data sources for various types of research topics. (source: website)

Kenya Open Data Portal

Freely accessible public government data sets.

Key Indicators of the Labour Market (KILM)

From the International Labour Organization (ILO)

A multi-function research tool consisting of country-level data on 17 key indicators of the labor market from 1980 to the latest available year. ILOSTAT and LABORSTA are its primary sources. (source: website)

Key Workforce Trends

(Note: Archived, most data through 2012. Not all data available but the available time series are valuable to researchers.) Provides tables and charts from the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration (ETA) of annual statistics as far back as consistent data exist for employment, unemployment, earnings, and educational attainment. To obtain statistics for more recent years, refer to the "Source" section to identify the resource used and then locate that resource elsewhere. 

Kids Count Data Center

KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States. The indicators featured in the Data Book are also available in the Data Center. (source:website)

LABORSTA

From the International Labour Organization (ILO)

(Note: LABORSTA is not being updated and gradually will be replaced with ILOSTAT (see the "I" tab). However, ILOSTAT is not yet complete so use LABORSTA for household spending, consumer price indices, and international labor migration statistics, through the year 2008.)

 

Labor, United States Department of (DOL)

[also listed on the "U" tab as "United States Department of Labor (DOL)"]

From the menu bar on the DOL website, select "Popular Topics: Statistics" and "Youth & Labor: Child Labor Statistics" 

 

Labor Statistics, Bureau of (BLS)

[also listed on the "B" tab as "Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)"]

A massive amount of statistical information available on this U.S. Government website, including:

"The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amounts of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."  (source: website)

"Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys approximately 146,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 623,000 individual worksites in order to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on non-farm payrolls." (source: website)

"The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. The CE program provides these data in tables, databases, news releases, reports, and public-use microdata files.

CE data are collected by the Census Bureau for BLS in two surveys, the Interview Survey for major and/or recurring items and the Diary Survey for more minor or frequently purchased items. CE data are primarily used to revise the relative importance of goods and services in the market basket of the Consumer Price Index." (source: website)

 

Livingston Survey

"The Livingston Survey was started in 1946 by the late columnist Joseph Livingston. It is the oldest continuous survey of economists' expectations. It summarizes the forecasts of economists from industry, government, banking, and academia. The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia took responsibility for the survey in 1990.

The Livingston Survey's web page offers the actual releases, documentation, mean and media forecasts of all the respondents as well as the individual responses from each economist. The individual responses are kept confidential by using identification numbers." (source: website)

Medicaid Data Sources 

From the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

Also, see the Non-Identifiable Data Files page for links to additional datasets available for public use.

 

Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)

From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

"MEPS is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals and their medical providers, and employers across the United States, conducted annually since 1996...The most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage in the United States...MEPS is the only national data source measuring how Americans use and pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending. Annual surveys of individuals and families, as well as their health care providers, provide data on health status, the use of medical services, charges, insurance coverage, and satisfaction with care." (source: website)

 

Medicare.gov: data

From the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

Includes the following datasets: Hospital Compare, Nursing Home Compare, Physician Compare, Home Health Compare, Dialysis Facility Compare, Supplier Directory, Hospice Data Directory.

 

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report 

The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.

Data included in MMWR:

Includes links to data published in MMWR from the National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System and 122 Cities Mortality Reporting System

Data for selected nationally notifiable diseases reported by the 50 states, New York City, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories are collated and published weekly in the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR). Cases reported by state health departments to CDC for weekly publication are provisional because of ongoing revisions of information and delayed reporting. Case counts in these query tables are presented as they were published in the MMWR. Therefore, numbers listed in later MMWR   weeks may reflect changes made to these counts as additional information becomes available.

  • MMWR Table III (Mortality): historical data (from Week 1, 1996 through Week 39, 2016)

As part of its national influenza surveillance effort, CDC receives weekly mortality reports from 122 cities and metropolitan areas in the United States within 2-3 weeks from the date of death. These reports summarize the total number of deaths occurring in these cities/areas each week, as well as the number due to pneumonia and influenza. Data are published weekly in the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR).Data is reported by age group (Under 28 days, 28 days –1 year, 1-14 years, 15-24 years, 25-44 years, 45-64 years, 65-74 years, 75-84 years, and ≥ 85 years).

 

Motion Picture Association of America

Movie ratings

 

NASA's Data Portal

From the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

"This site is a continually growing catalog of publicly available NASA Datasets, APIs, Visualizations, and more."

National Agricultural Statistics Service

Providing timely and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture.

The National Archives (UK)

The Office for National Statistics (ONS) is the UK’s largest independent producer of official statistics and is the recognised national statistical institute for the UK. It is responsible for collecting and publishing statistics related to the economy, population, and society at national, regional and local levels. It also conducts the census in England and Wales every ten years. ONS plays a leading role in national and international good practice in the production of official statistics.

National Archives of Criminal Justice

NACJ facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

Files with authors or sources listed are available from the NBER or are otherwise associated with the NBER research program. Also, see NBER Economic Indicators and Releases

National Bureau of Statistics of China 

(note: view in Internet Explorer)

National Center for Biotechnology Information

The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

National Center for Education Statistics

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

This sitemap provides an overview of the NCES website. Particularly useful pages include:

National Center for Health Statistics

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Click the "Data and Tools" tab for access to public use data files and documentation, data tools, data visualizations, and data analysis aids.

[Also, see listing for Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) on the "C" tab]

National Center for Juvenile Justice

The National Center for Juvenile Justice (NCJJ), a division of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges provides data gathered national and sub-national studies on crime and delinquency since 1973.

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics

National Gang Center - Demographics

Respondents provided information regarding the estimated ages of gang members in their jurisdictions.

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA): Data

"NHTSA was established by the Highway Safety Act of 1970 and is dedicated to achieving the highest standards of excellence in motor vehicle and highway safety." NHTSA is part of the U.S. Department of Transportation. Much of the data accessible from this website is provided by the National Center for Statistics and Analysis: "The National Center for Statistics and Analysis (NCSA), an office of the NHTSA, is responsible for providing a wide range of analytical and statistical support to NHTSA and the highway safety community at large." (source: website)

National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)

From Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota

Aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States from 1790 to the present. 

National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)- Resources: Graphs & Data

The NLRB is "an independent federal agency that protects the rights of private sector employees to join together, with or without a union, to improve their wages and working conditions." This section of the website features downloadable data as well as charts and tables that reflect the Agency's work.

National Library of Medicine resources:

"Health Statistics provide information for understanding, monitoring, improving and planning the use of resources to improve the lives of people, provide services and promote their well-being. This course describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use information about their structure as you search."

"Serving the Information Needs of the Health Services Research Community"

 

"...includes some of the major sources of health and general statistics in the United States and a brief list of international resources."

National Park Service: Integrated Resource Management Applications (IRMA) Portal

The IRMA Portal "provides easy access to National Park Service applications that manage and delivery resource information to parks, partners and the public." (source: website) Access to park visitor use statistics, water quality and quantity data, occurrence and status of species in more than 300 NPS national parks, and documents and datasets about natural and cultural resources in the parks. 

National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC)

The NSIDC "supports research into our world's frozen realms: the snow, ice, glaciers, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth's cryosphere. NSIDC manages and distributes scientific data, creates tools for data access, supports data users, performs scientific research, and educates the public about the cryosphere." (source: website)

NationMaster

NationMaster is where stats come alive! We are a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations.

New Jersey State Data Center

The New Jersey State Data Center (NJSDC) is a cooperative project of the State of New Jersey and the U.S. Bureau of the Census. A variety of statistical reports from State and Federal agencies may be accessed through the NJSDC network. Data from the state and sub-state demographic and economic data prepared by the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development are also available through the NJSDC. (source: website)

New Jersey, State of:  Open Data Center

New Jersey, State of: Transparency Center

Includes: property tax records, public employee payroll records, agency performance budgeting data, state expenditure and revenue data, state pension recipient records, data from independent authorities, and purchasing data for state vendors. 

New York Times Developer Network

New York Times API clearinghouse and community. Search portions of the The New York Times. APIs available for articles, book reviews, movie reviews, Times Newswire, top stories, and more. 

Nielsen.com Top Ten 

Discover what Americans are watching, reading, playing, browsing, buying and more.

Nielsen television ratings from USATODAY.com

Nielsen ratings for all broadcast network series and cable telecasts in prime time and most-tweeted about shows for the week. 

NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)

From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

NCEI puts a priority on interpreting and applying scientific understanding to our extensive array of climate datasets. Some of the products and output derived from this effort include extreme event and dynamically generated climate information. NCEI is the world’s largest provider of weather and climate data. Land-based, marine, model, radar, weather balloon, satellite, and paleoclimatic are just a few of the types of datasets available. (source: website)

North Atlantic Population Project

From Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota

Census microdata from Canada, Denmark, Great Britain, Germany, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, and the United States from 1703 to 1911. Complete-count data from 1800s censuses of Canada, Great Britain, Germany, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, and the U.S.

North American Transportation Statistics

Statistics On-Line Database presents information on transportation and transportation-related activities among Canada, the United States, and Mexico, both within individual countries and between the countries. 

Numbeo

Numbeo is the world’s largest database of user contributed data about cities and countries worldwide. Numbeo provides current and timely information on world living conditions including cost of living, housing indicators, health care, traffic, crime, and pollution.

The Numbers

Movie budgets and ratings

Oak Ridge National Laboratory Center for Transportation Analysis

"Oak Ridge National Laboratory is a national multi-program research and development facility managed by UT-Battelle, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy...Activities of the Oak Ridge National Laboratory's Center for Transportation Analysis (CTA) include "transportation energy and environmental concerns, safety and security challenges, planning and policy issues, systems engineering, military transportation, and transit visibility." (source: website) The CTA website includes fact sheets, publications, data, statistical analysis, and more.  

 

OECD Data

Find, compare and share the latest OECD data: charts, maps, tables and related publications. 

 

Open Data Impact Map

The Open Data Impact Map, a project of the Open Data for Development Network (OD4D), is a public database of organizations that use open government data from around the world. Open Data is publicly available data that can be accessed and reused by anyone free of charge.

Open Data Pennsylvania

From the State of Pennsylvania

OpenDataPhilly

OpenDataPhilly is a catalog of open data in the Philadelphia region. In addition to being the official open data repository for the City, it includes data sets from many organizations in the region. (source: website)

Open Doors Data

From the Institute of International Education (IIE)


Open NASA

"Open data to spur innovation." 32,089 Data Sets; 323 Code Respositories, 52 APIs

 

Open White House

Browse White House datasets

 

 

Penn World Table

From Groningen Growth and Development Centre (GGDC), University of Groningen

Includes information on relative levels of income, output, input, and productivity. Coverage: data from 1950 to 2014 for more than 182 countries.

 

Pennsylvania, Open Data

From the State of Pennsylvania

 

Pew Charitable Trusts

The Pew Charitable Trusts is driven by the power of knowledge to solve today's most challenging problems. Pew applies a rigorous, analytical approach to improve public policy, inform the public and invigorate civic life. Pew Research Center makes its data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time.  

 

Pew Research Center: Datasets

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. 

 

[OpenData]Philly

OpenDataPhilly is a catalog of open data in the Philadelphia region. In addition to being the official open data repository for the City, it includes data sets from many organizations in the region. (source: website)

 

The Political Terror Scale

The Political Terror Scale (PTS) project was started by Michael Stohl and several graduate students at Purdue University in the early 1980s essentially as a way of empirically testing whether U.S. foreign aid was being sent to countries that violated international human rights standards, thereby being in violation of federal law. The five level coding scheme employed by the PTS was taken directly from the 1980 Freedom House Yearbook and it has been used ever since.

 

PollingReport.com

Self-described as an independent, nonpartisan, resource on trends in American public opinion.

 

Population Reference Bureau (PRB)

PRB informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations.  Search hundreds of indicators, thousands of locations, and easily create custom reports to print, download, and share.

 

Productivity Level Database (GGDC)

From Groningen Growth and Development Centre (GGDC), University of Groningen

"The GGDC Productivity Level Database provides data on relative prices and labor productivity across countries for 42 major economies and up to 35 industries in 2005. These data complement the World Input-Output Database  [see "W" tab of this guide] and are largely based on the results of the 2005 International Comparisons Program (ICP), which estimates purchasing power parities (PPPs) for a global sample of countries...(latest update in July 2013)." (source: website)

Quandl

Free version of a subscription resource that includes "hundreds of free data sets from 'central banks, exchanges, brokerages, governments, statistical agencies, think-tanks, academics, research firms and more.'" (source: website)

Free account registration is required in order to download data.

 

Quinnipiac University Polls

Known for its exactness and thoroughness, the Quinnipiac poll is featured regularly in The New York Times, The Washington Post, USA Today, The Wall Street Journal and on national network news broadcasts. In 2010, respected public opinion polling analyst Nate Silver ranked the Quinnipiac University poll as most accurate among major polls conducting surveys in two states or more. (source: website)

 

RAND: American Life Panel (ALP)

From the RAND Corporation

"The ALP is a nationally representative, probability-based panel of over 6000 members ages 18 and older who are regularly interviewed over the internet for research purposes." (source: website) Surveys for which data is available span a variety of topics. 

(Note: free registration is required to access datasets)

 

Realtor.com Data

Housing inventory and sales trends, reports, and additional research

 

Redfin Data Center

Downloadable housing market data includes pricing, sales, and inventory statistics. 

 

Regione Piemonte (Italy's Piedmont region)

 

Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org) 

Global registry of more than 1,500 research data repositories covering various academic disciplines (strong focus on the sciences). 

 

ReportLinker

Search engine and directory of industry data sources, ideal for market research. Access to ReportLinker is free and access to many of the listed resources is also free. 

 

S&P CoreLogic Case-Shiller Home Price Indices

U.S. Home Price Indices originally developed by Wellesley College economics professor Karl Case and Yale University economics professor Robert Schiller. From 1991-2002, this data was produced by Case Shiller Weiss, Inc. It is now produced by CoreLogic. Many of these price indices, including 20 cities, low-, medium-, and high-tier home price indices, condominium indices, and a U.S. national index are now published by Standard & Poor's and can be found at the link above. Eleven of these indices are traded at the Chicago Mercantile Exchange. Information on these futures markets can be found here. (source: website)

 

SEDAR - System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval (Canada)

From the Alberta Securities Commission

"...provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by issuers with the thirteen provincial and territorial securities regulatory authorities ("Canadian Securities Administrators" OR "CSA") in the SEDAR filing system." (source: website)

 

Small Area Health Insurance Estimates (SAHIE)

The Small Area Health Insurance Estimates (SAHIE) program was created to develop model-based estimates of health insurance coverage for counties and states. This program builds on the work of the Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates (SAIPE) program. SAHIE is the only source of single-year health insurance coverage estimates for all U.S. counties.

 

U.S. Small Business Association (SBA) resources:

-Business Data and Statistics

Designed for use by would-be entrepreneurs, includes links to data regarding industries, businesses, and targeted consumer groups. 

-Open Data Sources

Links to SBA datasets available for public use

-Small Business Data Resources (last updated in 2013)

"...major sources of data collected by the U.S. government and available for research on small business." (source: website)

 

Social Explorer

This is the free edition of a popular subscription resource. The free edition provides access to data visualizations only (no table reports). Various data sources including American Community Survey and U.S. Census. 

 

South Australia Government Data Directory

The portal contains open datasets released by South Australian Government Agencies and Local Councils.  Data.SA helps citizens, businesses, entrepreneurs and industry discover openly licensed data so that it can be transformed into ideas, applications, and visualisations which benefit the community.

 

Social Security Administration (SSA): Research, Statistics, & Policy Analysis

Program statistics and data files are filterable by: release date, subject, title, and type. The website also provides access to public-use data files. 

 

Socrata Open Data Network

U.S. government-related data and data visualization tools

 

Sports Data Resources

From the Statistics in Sports Section of the American Statistical Association. 

A listing of data resources and online sports statistics forums for a number of sports.

 

Stanford Large Network Dataset Collection

Component of the Stanford Network Analysis Project (SNAP) from Stanford University

"A collection of more than 50 large network datasets from tens of thousands of nodes and edges to tens of millions of nodes and edges. In includes social networks, web graphs, road networks, internet networks, citation networks, collaboration networks, and communication networks." SNAP has been under continuous development since 2004 and reflects Stanford researchers' analysis of large information and social networks. (source: website)

 

State Higher Education Finance (SHEF)

Statista: The statistics portal

Statista is one of the largest providers of statistical information, primarily business research. Much content is not free but there is some interesting basic data at no cost so it is worth a look.  

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States series (U.S. Census Bureau)

Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. The U.S. Census Bureau site provides access to the Statistical Abstracts from 1878 through 2012. For later years and data downloadable in Excel format from the 1970 edition onward, use the database link below for the ProQuest resource.

 

 

Statistics Canada

Find census and other statistical Data from the Government of Canada. The Census Program provides a statistical report of the country every five years. The last census was conducted in May 2011 and consisted of the Census of Agriculture, the Census of Population, and the 2011 National Household Survey. 

 

Statistics Japan

Information 

 

StatsAmerica

"StatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business, which is ranked among the nation's top business schools. With support from the Economic Development Administration, we have developed a unique and useful set of tools and reports, as well as providing access to other EDA-funded projects.

We obtain thousands of data items from hundreds of data sets from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data. While StatsAmerica adds value to these data through easy access and functionality, we acknowledge the direct agency source of the data on every table, profile or map." (source: website)

Subsidy Tracker 3.0

From Good Jobs First, a national policy research center

This is "a national search engine for economic development subsidies and other forms of government financial assistance to business." Data is presented at the company level. (source: website)

 

Sustainable Governance Indicators (SGI)

From Bertelsmann Stiftung

Bertelsmann Stiftung is the largest private operating non-profit foundation in Germany. "As a cross-national and comparative survey [of OECD and EU countries] designed to identify and foster successes in effective policymaking, the SGI explores how governments target sustainable development." (source: website) Focuses on various indicators categorized under the following areas: economic, social, and environmental policy performance; quality of democracy; and governance (executive capacity and executive accountability). Coverage dates: January 2005 to present.

Total Economy Database (TED)

From The Conference Board, "a global, independent business membership and research association working in the public interest."

"The Conference Board Total Economy Database is a comprehensive database with annual data covering GDP, population, employment, hours, labor quality, capital services, labor productivity, and total factor productivity for about 123 countries in the world." (source: website)

 

Terra Populus

From Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota

Integrated data on population and the environment, from 1960 to the present. Microdata, geographic area-level data, raster data. 

 

Trade Statistics 

From the Office of Trade Policy & Analysis, International Trade Administration (ITA)

The ITA, part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, "strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements." (source: website)

 

Transparency International

Transparency International is an international, non-governmental organization (NGO) devoted to combating corruption and preventing corruption-related criminal activities. Its research outputs include:

  • Corruption Perceptions Index- annual corruption ratings for a country's public sector (1995 to present)
  • Global Corruption Barometer- the only worldwide public opinion survey on views and experiences of corruption (2003 to present)
  • Global Corruption Report- each report delves into a particular corruption issue (ex: education, health, politics) (2001 to present)
  • Bribe Payers Index- (now defunct) ranking of the wealthiest nations by their businesses' propensity to bribe abroad (1999, 2002, 2006, 2008, 2011)

 

Transport Databook

From The Transport Politic

"In order to improve availability of transportation-related data, The Transport Politic provides interactive charts and tables, updated as frequently as possible, with data documenting trends in U.S. related to travel. Sources and date of last update are noted for each."  (source: website)

 

Transportation Statistics, Bureau of

[also listed on the "B" tab as "Bureau of Transportation Statistics"]

Part of the U.S. Department of Transportation, the U.S. Bureau of Transportation statistics offers data regarding various transportation topics including: airlines and airports, freight transport, passenger travel, intermodal transportation, and infrastructure. Data is available at varying geographic levels including local, state, national, and international. Also listed under "B" as "Bureau of Transportation Statistics (U.S.)"

 

UK Data Service

"UK's largest collection of social, economic, and population data resources." (source: website)

(note: free registration required)

 

UK Government: Statistics

Published and forthcoming statistics from various government departments regarding a multitude of policy areas

 

UN COMTRADE

From the United Nations

UN COMTRADE is a "repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables." It "...stores more than 1 billion trade data records fro 1960. Over 140 reporter countries provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics detailed by commodities and other partner countries. These data are subsequently transformed into the United Nations Statistics Division standard format with consistent coding and valuation..." (source: website)

 

UNCTADstat

From the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

Includes data center containing UNCTAD statistics, Country Profiles enabling comparison of key indicators by country, and an infographic library reflecting key facts. The data center contains statistical data useful for analyzing international merchandise and service trade, economic trends, foreign direct investment, external financing sources including remittances, population and labor force, commodities, and maritime transport for individual countries and for economic and trade groupings. 

 

Understanding Children's Work

"UCW is an inter-agency research cooperation initiative involving the International Labour Organisation (ILO), UNICEF and the World Bank." (source: website) The website provides country reports on child labor and youth employment, research reports, child labor, schooling and related indicators, and more.

 

UNdata

A single access point to search 36 databases with a total of 60 million records from the United Nations. Individual databases are listed on the website.

 

UNESCO Institute for Statistics

From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO)

"..cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories." (source: website)

 

UNICEF Statistics

From the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)

Statistics regarding women and children. Data available by topic or country.

 

UNICEF : Statistics and Monitoring - Country Studies

From the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)

All children have a right to survive, thrive and fulfill their potential - to the benefit of a better world. UNICEF works for a world in which every child has a fair chance in life.

 

Uniform Crime Reporting - Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

Four annual publications, Crime in the United StatesNational Incident-Based Reporting SystemLaw Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics are produced from data received from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily participating in the program. The crime data are submitted either through a state UCR Program or directly to the FBI’s UCR Program.

 

United Nations Statistics Division

The UN Statistics Division Collects,compiles and provides access to a wealth of data across a wide spectrum including economic, demographic, health gender, geography, and much more. Use UNdata to search. UNdata to search. 

 

United States Census Bureau

[also listed on the "C" tab as "Census Bureau, United States"]

The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. We honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share our expertise globally, and conduct our work openly.

The Census Bureau is working to increase our use of visualization in making data available to the public, and this gallery is an early part of that effort. The first posted visualizations will pertain largely to historical population data, building on prior work done to portray historical changes in the growth and redistribution of the U.S. population. For later visualizations, the topics will expand beyond decennial census data to include the full breadth of Census Bureau data sets and subject areas, from household and family dynamics, to migration and geographic mobility, to economic indicators.(source: website)

 

United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) resources:

[also listed on the "A" tab as "Agriculture, United States Department of (USDA) resources"]

A network of 18 research sites around the U.S. is collecting long-term data on agriculture, climate change, ecosystems, and natural resource conservation, These data are vital to developing safe and sustainable agricultural production systems.

 

The mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making.

 

The Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) collection is a catalog and archive of data, tools, and resources that support LCA for agriculture and related areas of research. It is complementary to the USDA LCA Commons Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) database, and provides access to a wider range LCA data and tools.

Life Cycle Assessment (also known as life cycle analysis, or cradle-to-grave analysis) is a method of assessing environmental impacts associated with all stages of a product's life. For example, it measures impact from raw material extraction to materials processing, manufacture, distribution, use, repair and maintenance, and disposal or recycling. The goal of LCA is to compare the full range of environmental effects assignable to products and services by quantifying all inputs and outputs of material flows, and then assessing how these material flows impact the environment. This information is used to improve processes, support policy, and provide a sound basis for informed decisions. (source: website)

 

United States Department of Labor (DOL)

[also listed on the "L" tab as "Labor, United States Department of (DOL)"]

From the menu bar on the DOL website, select "Popular Topics: Statistics" and "Youth & Labor: Child Labor Statistics" 

 

Universal Postal Union's Statistical Database

"The International Bureau of the Universal Postal Union (UPU) has published postal statistics regularly since the first edition in 1875...The UPU's statistical database...contains data from over 200 countries or territories and includes approximately 100 indicators of postal development...The data is collected annually from all UPU member countries and published in the Postal Statistics Yearbook." (source: website)

 

Urban Institute

Think tank's website containing statistics, maps, and graphs regarding economic and social policy.

 

U.S. Home Prices, 1890-Present (note: this link opens an Excel Workbook)

Historical housing market data used in Yale University economic professor Robert Shiller's book, Irrational Exuberance [Princeton University Press 2000, Broadway Books 2001, 2nd edition, 2005], showing home prices since 1890 are updated monthly. (the first sheet tab of the workbook is a graph; the second sheet tab contains the dataset)

 

USA.gov

"Our mission is to create and organize timely, needed government information and services and make them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice." (source: website)

Visa Statistics

From the U.S. Department of State. Includes: immigrant visa statistics, nonimmigrant visa statistics, graphs, and annual reports. 

 

Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin

From the ​U.S. Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture

"The WWCB provides a vital source of information on weather, climate and agricultural developments worldwide, along with detailed charts and tables of agrometeorological information that are appropriate for the season. The Bulletin is posted every Tuesday by 4:00 p.m. (ET). Posting will be delayed to the next business day when federal offices are closed."

Wiki Data

Wiki Source is a repository for data that may be accessed by the "client wikis" connected to the repository. By maintaining the data in the repository, content loaded dynamically from Wikidata does not need to be translated nor has to be kept up to date in each individual client Wiki. The data in Wikidata is published under the Creative Commons Public Domain Dedication and is freely available to use.

WomanStats

The WomanStats Project is a team of approximately twelve undergraduate research assistants, seven graduate research assistants, thirteen principal investigators, and over 120 former student assistants. We are dedicated to the continual expansion of the WomanStats Database, as well as the pursuit of our research agenda assessing the relationship between the situation and security of women, and the dynamics between security, stability, and the behavior of the state.

Women’s Bureau  (US Dept. of Labor)

Here you will find the most recent annual averages for selected labor force characteristics of women. This page is updated annually

Women in the Labor Force  (US Dept. of Labor)

Here you will find current and historical statistics on a broad range of topics and sub-populations of women in the labor force.

Women in the Workplace

"Women in the Workplace is a comprehensive study of the state of women in corporate America. The study is part of a long-term partnership between LeanIn.Org and McKinsey & Company to encourage female leadership and foster gender equality in the workplace." (source: website)  The website also provides access to the 2012 and 2015 reports. 

Womenable: Links to Women's Empowerment Data and Statistics

Womenable is "a for-profit social enterprise, established in 2005, that works to improve the systems -- laws, policies, programs and research-based knowledge -- that support women's enterprise creation and growth." This section of the website provides links to "multi-country rankings, ratings and searchable databases quantifying measures of gender equality and women's empowerment." (source: website)

The World’s Women 2015: Trends and Statistics (UN Statistics)

Here you will find the most recent annual averages for selected labor force characteristics of women. This page is updated annually

The World Bank resources: 

Established in 1944, the World Bank Group is headquartered in Washington, D.C.  The DATA page present a wealth of information by country and topic and includes indicators and a catalog of data.

Datasets were compiled for World Bank research and are provided free of cost to foster the creation of new knowledge. If you use one of these datasets, please include appropriate attribution to the Development Research Group, World Bank, and the link http://econ.worldbank.org/research.

DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. (source: website)

The World Bank "Doing Business" Project

The Doing Business project, launched in 2002, looks at domestic small and medium-size companies and measures the regulations applying to them through their life cycle. The project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 190 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level. (source: website) Explore the data, view the ranking of economies based on their ease of doing business, view reports and economy profiles, create a custom query, and much more. 

World Data Atlas

From Knoema, a U.S. based company

Includes: world statistics, regional statistics, national data, maps, rankings. Data Calendar features data and visualizations relevant to major events worldwide. Data Bulletin includes the latest releases of new datasets and data updates from different sources around the world (data is well-sourced, simplifying the process of locating additional years of data from a particular source). The Data Coverage Matrix is an easy way to locate available data by country/topic.

(Note: free access allows export to PDF or PNG file formats only. However, these exports include source details.)

World Economic Forum: Reports

Includes: The Global Gender Gap Report, The Global Competitiveness Report, The Global Information Technology Report, The Human Capital Report, and more. The Global Competitiveness Report in particular is noteworthy: it assesses the competitiveness landscape of 144 economies, providing insight into the drivers of their productivity and prosperity. This series remains the most comprehensive assessment of national competitiveness worldwide.

The World Factbook

Prepared by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), "The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities...Information in The Factbook is collected from - and coordinated with - a wide variety of US Government agencies, as well as from hundreds of published sources...Although many of the facts presented in The Factbook may be found in various other publications, they are conveniently gathered together in one place only at The World Factbook Web site." 

The Factbook is continuously updated (weekly, on average).

(Note: the 1975 through 1980 editions were produced semiannually in January and July as National Basic Intelligence Factbook and available to the public; in 1981, the publication was renamed The World Factbook and became an annual publication.)

World Health Organization (WHO): Health Data and Statistics

Includes the following:

Also available: WHO's Global Health Expenditure Database, which "provides internationally comparable numbers on national health expenditures. WHO updates the data annually, taking, adjusting, and estimating the numbers based on publicly available reports...This database is the source for the health expenditure tables in the World Health Statistics Report and the WHO Global Health Observatory." (source: website)

World Input-Output Database (WIOD)

The WIOD provides time series of world input-output tables. Data is includes for more than 40 countries covering approximately 85 percent of world GDP. A "rest of world" region covers remaining countries. Also provided are time series of national and international supply and use tables. Release 2013 covers the years 1995-2011. Release 2016 covers the years 2000-2014.

World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)

From The World Bank

The World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS) software provides access to international merchandise data. Browse the Country profile section to obtain countries exports, imports and tariff statistics along with relevant development data. Register and log in to WITS to perform custom analysis, using standard and derived product classifications.

World Population

Total Midyear Population for the World: 1950-2050, gathered and presented online by the U.S. Census Bureau. Also, see Country Rank 

World Resources Institute

World Resources Institute (WRI) is a global research organization that spans more than 50 countries, with offices in Brazil, China, Europe, India, Indonesia, and the United States. (source: website) Offers a wide range of statistical and visual information (charts, graphs, maps) pertaining to environmental, social, and economic topics. 

The World Wealth and Income Database

Time series data on distribution of earnings and wealth by country. Also, includes savings, price, and population data.

WorldwideBoxoffice

Movie ratings

Worldwide Governance Indicators (WGI) project

From The World Bank Group

The WGI project "reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for over 200 countries and territories over the period 1996 to 2015, for six dimensions of governance: voice and accountability, political stability and absence of violence, government effectiveness, regulatory quality, rule of law, control of corruption. These aggregate indicators combine the views of a large number of enterprise, citizen and expert survey respondents in industrial and developing countries. They are based on over 30 individual data sources produced by a variety of survey institutes, think tanks, non-governmental organizations, and private sector firms." (source: website)  The website features an interactive data access tool and the ability to download the full dataset. 

Zap2it.com

Television ratings: Nielsen daily ratings, weekly ratings, DVR and on-demand ratings. Also includes renew/cancel index scores.

 

Zillow Data

Includes: median home value - Zillow Home Value Index (ZHVI), Zillow Rent Index (ZRI) and other rental indices, as well as other metrics and additional data products. Users may also download a single file containing all Zillow metrics. 

 

Zogbyanalytics

Often quoted as "the Zogby poll",  Zogbyanalytics provides custom research and insight to leaders of businesses and communities, as well as to individuals.