It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Can also be referred to as "literature reviews" because they review literature on a particular topic
Summarize science research and identify possible areas of research
Are a good sources for citations of primary articles
Secondary Articles will summarize research on a particular topic. They are often known as Literature Reviews because they will look at many primary articles and give an overview of the primary literature on a topic. They do NOT contain an experiment, study, or research.* If you are unsure, read the abstract (summary) of the article. Often the abstract will contain the word review or summary as a clue.
*Please remember, some secondary articles are setup like primary articles and may contain introduction, materials & methods, results, and discussion sections, but there will not be any original research, an experiment, or study done. Always read the abstract to make sure an article is just reviewing others' research.
Review articles (literature reviews) in the sciences and social sciences.
A searchable collection of comprehensive and critical literature reviews covering a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines, including the Life, Biomedical, and the Social and Physical Sciences. Full text available from 1991 to present (Mobile Device Compatible)
Peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters in the sciences.
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books. The database covers the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and the Humanities.
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Results of medical research studies for use in evidence-based medicine.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contains high-quality evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care. The Cochrane Library can be searched by keyword, subject, or author.