Reference Sources
This page points you to maps, reference books, and online reference sources available in the library.
Maps
Reference maps and atlases are located in the second floor mezzanine area, in the Ref Map Case and Ref Atlas Case. They must be used in the library.
A collection of geological and topographical maps of key areas of the U.S. and the world is currently being developed by the library. Some geological maps are now available (for faculty/staff use only) in the first floor Reserves Room - see the Access Services staff.
E-Reference Sources
These subscription sources are available through the library website.
- Credo Reference - ScienceAn online database which includes many science dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Georef (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive geoscience literature of the world including millions of references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Reference Books
Science reference books are located in the Q section in the 2nd floor Reference Room of Campbell Library. Here are some recommendations:
Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs by
This book is the most authoritative encyclopedia ever prepared on dinosaurs and dinosaur science. In addition to entries on specific animals such as Tyrannosaurus, Triceratops, and Velociraptor, the Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs covers reproduction, behavior, physiology, and extinction. The book is generously illustrated with many detailed drawings and photographs, and includes color pictures and illustrations that feature interpretations of the best known and most important animals.
Call Number: Ref. QE 862 .D5 E53 1997ISBN: 0122268105Publication Date: 1997-09-17
A Geologic Time Scale 2004 by
An international team of over forty stratigraphic experts have helped to build the most up-to-date international stratigraphic framework for the Precambrian and Phanerozoic. This successor to A Geologic Time Scale 1989 by W. Brian Harland et al. (CUP 0521 387655) begins with an introduction to the theory and methodology behind the construction of the new time scale. The main part of the book is devoted to the scale itself, systematically presenting the standard subdivisions at all levels using a variety of correlation markers. Extensive use is made of isotope geochronology, geomathematics and orbital tuning to produce a standard geologic scale of unprecedented detail and accuracy with a full error analysis.
Call Number: Ref. QE508 .G3956ISBN: 0521781426Publication Date: 2005-03-17
The Oxford Companion to the Earth by
How old is the Earth? Is it really likely to be hit by a meteorite? What can Antarctic ice cores and Milankovitch cycles tell us about global warming? What is a Milankovitch cycle anyway? Where would you find black smokers? Are they ever likely to be useful? What causes tornadoes? Should you worry if you live near a transform plate boundary? What is the difference between a tidal wave and a tsunami? Does it matter? Can rocks affect your health? Answers to these and many similar questions will be found in the Oxford Companion to the Earth.
Call Number: Ref. QE5 .O94 2000ISBN: 0198540396Publication Date: 2001-06-07
Roadside Geology of New Jersey by
From the glacially scoured quartzite ridge that hosts the Appalachian Trail to the spectacular columnar basalt of Orange Mountain, New Jersey packs a boatload of geology into a small area.
Call Number: Ref. QE141 .H37 2013ISBN: 9780878426003Publication Date: 2013-04-15
