Museum Directory
Find a Complete List: Desheret's Online Museum Guide
"The purpose of this project is to display and catalogue all museums worldwide containing egyptological collections or objects concerning or relating to Egypt's Archaeological and Philological history. Besides the museums, private collections, public institute collections (e.g. universities... etc.) or any other category are implemented as well". (source:website)
Museums with Significant Collections Related to Ancient Egypt
The Global Egyptian Museum
At a rough estimate, over 2 million objects from ancient Egypt are kept in about 850 public collections, dispersed over 69 countries around the world. This website aims to collect them into a global virtual museum, which can be visited at any time, from any place. The Global Egyptian Museum is a long-term project, carried out under the aegis of the International Committee for Egyptology (CIPEG).(source:website)The Griffith Institute
The Griffith Institute, at the University of Oxford, has been at the heart of Egyptology and Ancient Near Eastern Studies at the University of Oxford for over eighty years.
It is home to two major research projects, the Topographical Bibliography (Porter & Moss) and the Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB), and a collaborating partner on the AHRC-funded project Artefacts of Excavation. (source:website)Institut français d'archéologie orientale
L’IFAO fait partie du Réseau des Écoles françaises à l'étranger; il a pour vocation l’étude des cultures qui se sont succédé en Égypte depuis la préhistoire jusqu’à l’époque moderne.MET Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History at the Met
Not that the Met was not already spectacular, now they have the Heilbrum Timeline of Art History. Prepare to be amazed!
The Oriental Institute University of Chicago
The goal of the Oriental Institute is to be the world’s leading center for the study of ancient Near Eastern civilizations by combining innovation in theory, methodology, and significant empirical discovery with the highest standards of rigorous scholarship.(source:website)The Petrie 3D Museum
See object from the Petrie Museum generated in #D.The Walters Art Museum, Baltimore:Ancient Egypt and Nubia
Statuary, reliefs, stelae, funerary objects, jewelry and objects from daily life, dating from prehistoric to Roman Egypt (5th millennium BC– 4th century AD ), can be found in the Walters’ collection of ancient Egyptian art. Among the most impressive pieces are two monumental 3,000-pound statues of the lion-headed goddess Sekhmet; sarcophagi; an intact mummy, still in its elaborate wrappings; as well as images of private individuals and kings and impressive jewelry.(source:website)