Research Guides: Starting Research in Comp I & II: Peer-reviewed/Scholarly Sources

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-reviewed articles:

By using library resources, you can easily find peer-reviewed information! Many of our databases have boxes to check that will help you:

If you're looking multidisciplinary topics try searching these databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 6,600 journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world.

For more subject specific information, try one of these databases.

Psychology and Sociology:

PsycArticles (APA) This link opens in a new window
Definitive source of searchable full text articles on current issues in psychology. The database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
Sociology Database (1985 - current) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
A definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives. The database includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text.

Science and Medicine:

Education:

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (on the EBSCO platform) This link opens in a new window
ERIC indexes articles (identified as "EJ") and documents (identified as "ED") on all aspects of education. This version of ERIC is provided on the EBSCO platform

Communications and Radio,TV, Film:

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
A research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles; Full text for over 450 journals. (Ebsco)
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index is the definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications (and selected coverage of another 301 sources). Click on the GetIt! button when searching for the full text of a given citation. (Ebsco)

Business:

Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 2,300 business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. (Ebsco)