Research Guides: History of Education: Find Scholarly Articles

Find Scholarly Articles (And More)

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is a major education database, and tends to have the most articles on education history topics. As well as scholarly journal articles, some book chapters and dissertations are also included.
Provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (on the EBSCO platform) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is another top database in education. It overlaps with Education Source, but each covers some areas better than the other, and searching both is highly recommended. ERIC's focus is supporting teaching practice in K-12 education, although it covers other aspects. It includes mostly scholarly journal articles and reports from government agencies.
ERIC indexes articles (identified as "EJ") and documents (identified as "ED") on all aspects of education. This version of ERIC is provided on the EBSCO platform
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in world history outside North America.
Abstracts and some full text of journal articles, citations to books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines, including history and other social sciences.
Coverage includes the full text from volume 1, number 1 through the current date in some cases or, more often, up to a period of embargo from six months to five years depending on the arrangements with the title's vendor.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
JStor can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in a variety of social science journals.
A definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives. The database includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text.

Tip: Getting articles

If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If a message is displayed indicating that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article through our Illiad online system.

Google Scholar

You may prefer to use Google Scholar to find scholarly articles, and that's okay too! Just make sure that you can access the articles you find, by linking Google Scholar to Rowan University Libraries' resources.

From the Google Scholar home page, click the button in the top left with three horizontal lines:
Select Settings.
In the Settings area, click the option in the left navigation that says Library links.
In the search box marked Show library access links for (choose up to five libraries):, search for Rowan University.
An option should appear below the search box that reads "Rowan University - FullText@RowanUniversity" with a check-box next to it. Click the check-box so it is selected.
Click Save in the lower right.

Now when you search in Google Scholar from this browser, your results should link directly to full text of each article, courtesy of Rowan University Libraries.