History Senior Seminar- Prof. Turner: Finding Articles

Peer-reviewed articles:

• Published in academic journals
• Use the language of the field they were published in
• Written by professionals for professionals
• Reviewed by professionals before publication

Articles are often more specific and can be easier to read instead of multiple books.

By using library resources, you can easily find peer-reviewed information!  Many of our article databases have boxes to check that will help you:

Scholarly articles, in comparison to books, are shorter and usually discuss a more focused topic. Below are library resources that provide access to scholarly articles and other resources that are often unavailable on the open web.

• Databases: See the history-focused databases listed in this page, or search the Database Finder.
• Journals:
  • Journal Finder: Find journals by title, ISSN, or keyword.
  • BrowZine: Search for or browse select scholarly online journals to which the Libraries subscribe.
• Citation Linker: Use to find and access a specific  journal article, journal or book.

If the Libraries do not have access to the article, please submit an interlibrary loan request by clicking the "Go to ILLiad" link on the Interlibrary Loan page.

The library databases listed on this page provide access to find scholarly articles, as well as other types of information. If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If you see a message that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article from another library. Often we can get an electronic copy of the article quickly.

You can use library databases to find peer-reviewed articles.  Here are the ones we recommend for History: