Research Guides: Primary Source Research: Research Tools

Research Tools Overview

Primary sources can be found in many online resources and in numerous library databases. Some of these tools cover a range of topics; others focus on a certain time period or topic. Use this page's navigation menu to identify the kinds of resources you need.

See the Search Strategies page for tips on how to search in these different tools.

Research Starting Points for Primary Sources

Below are good starting points for finding primary sources on a wide range of topics.

Background Sources for Gaining Context

If you have a general topic and need background information, these reference databases have short articles that often include references to primary sources or to secondary sources that may lead to key primary sources.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference collection (dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies etc.) for all academic disciplines.
Credo Reference provides a complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotation books, bilingual dictionaries, measurement conversions, and more.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive college-level encyclopedia.

Online Research Tools for Primary Sources on Most Topics

If you have a specific topic in mind, you use a search engine like Google for primary sources or digital collections on the topic (search examples: "digital collections" "atomic bomb", "primary sources" "atomic bomb").

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world and offered directly from the website.
Library of Congress Collections
National Archives
Library Search
On the search results page, you can limit the "Reource Type" or publication years, or include in the search terms the desired material type (e.g., diaries, correspondences, primary sources).
Primary Sources by Subject
Guide links to a large number of subject-specific resources for primary sources.
Archive Grid
Searches over 1000 archival institutions for primary source materials
Google Search
Search by topic and source type (e.g. "Civil War" pamphlets), or search for a specific document by placing quotation marks around the document name (e.g., "Emancipation Proclamation").

Primary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple GALE databases of primary sources. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.

See the Research Tools page for a fuller list of recommended resources.

The Smithsonian
Collections from the world's largest museum

Primary Source Databases

Primary Sources Database Lists (Alphabetical/By Subject)

Note: Some primary source databases include a large number of subcollections. See Subcollections in Large Databases for details on the following databases: Accessible Archives, AM Explorer, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Gale Primary Sources, HIstory Vault, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, and ProQuest Primary Sources.

Primary Sources by Subject
Extensive list of primary source databases

General Primary Source Databases

(Cover a wide range of time periods and topics)

Primary Sources Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Three hundred multidisciplinary resources providing access to thousands of primary source documents, including archival collections, government documents, periodicals, newspapers, and video. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.
AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Archives of searchable historical primary source materials. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.
Accessible Archives makes available vast quantities of archived historical information, not previously furnished available online. Primary source materials have been assembled into databases with a strict attention to detail allowing access to specific information with pinpoint accuracy. Online full-text search capabilities and digital imaging permits the user to search and manipulate this information in ways never before possible.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of historical documents from the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
Primary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple GALE databases of primary sources. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.

Time/Topic Specific

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents from the eighteenth century. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.
The essential digital resource for researching the 18th Century, ECCO, contains over 184,000 English and Foreign Language titles printed in The United Kingdom in the 18th Century, including thousands of works from the Americas.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials about the Nineteenth Century. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.
Includes books, newspapers, periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps and musical scores.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials in world history.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

American History Primary Sources

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection 1684 - 1912 This link opens in a new window
Access to historical periodicals published from 1684 to1912.
Heritagequest This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps.
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Archival collections documenting topics in eighteenth- through twentieth-century American history. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.
Subjects include African American studies, women’s studies, history, political science, military and diplomatic history, immigration.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window
Archive of primary source manuscripts on Jewish life in America from 1654 to 1954
History of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they play today. It will provide an essential resource for teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond. The material is based on a rich variety of original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York; we provide access to six major organisational collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers; all of which have been digitized in their entirety.
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Covering the years 1933 - 2000, includes story-telling through documentary photographs and captions.
Depicts national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.

National Museum of American History: Object Groups from Collections (Smithsonian)
Browse by object group or search tne entire collection

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A transitional archive This link opens in a new window
Collections on the history of the transatlantic slave trade from the sixteenth through the nineteenth centuries.

National Museum of African American History & Culture: Collections (Smithsonian)
The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.

World, Government, and Law Primary Sources

Avalon Project
The Avalon Project, a resource of the Yale Law School, provides full text of documents, online, that are important to law, history and diplomacy online. Over the years the collection has grown extensively and has been organized into various topical areas. About forty documents related to Terrorism are included under this title.
Cold War International History Project
The Project disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist world. This is an endeavor of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents for U.S. national security topics.
Contains a comprehensive collection of primary documents including declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
Global Commodities This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.
Global Commodities brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents from 1972 forward in U.S. government and politics.
Database of primary source materials from 1972 forward. Approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of each year are presented.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a broad range of previously classified U.S. federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Includes over 700,000 of the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies.
Covers major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond.

Newspaper Databases

Newspapers give insight into how an event or issue was reported on at a given historical moment.

Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper digital archive of many significant U.S. and some international newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Access to The New York Times (1851 - 2017).
Presents PDF pages of the newspaper, preserving the visual sense of the publication. This online format replaces the microfiche archival coverage.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Online access to back issues of the Wall Street Journal, 1889 - 1999.
Newspaper coverage is from 1889 through 1996. For more recent issues of the Wall Street Journal, select the Wall Street Journal (current) link.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Online access to back issues of The Washington Post, 1877-1999.
Includes PDF images of nearly all content published in the Washington Post from the beginning, 1877, through 1997. Search the Washington Post Current edition for information after this end date.
African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Online access to 270 African American newspapers published in the U.S. from 1827-1998.
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

More Historical Newspaper Databases

Current Newspapers

New York Times (current) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to articles in The New York Times Late Edition (East Coast).
New York Times Late Edition (East Coast). Full text access to the newspaper’s articles (1980 – present) is within the ProQuest Newsstand database; there are no graphics available.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from a large collection of newspapers worldwide.
NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international sources, including The Washington Post, Miami Herald, Philadelphia Inquirer, Trenton Times, USA Today, London Times, The Economist China Daily (Beijing).
Wall Street Journal (Online) This link opens in a new window
Online e-news content from the Wall Street Journal and Dow Jones
Coverage 2010-current; the same coverage is available in the comprehensive business database ABI. (ProQuest). Older issues can be accessed through the full image database Wall Street Journal Historical.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990. (ProQuest)
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
News articles from regional business publications.
Daily updates provide comprehensive full text for regional business publications including titles from Crain Communications. (Ebsco)

More Current Newspaper Databases

University Archives & Special Collections

University Archives & Special Collections (Campbell Library, 3rd floor) has primary sources related to the history of RU and the surrounding region. Learn more about their physical and online collections.