Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Source Databases: Subcollections

This page lists the subcollections of large aggregate databases, so that users can know where to locate specialized collections of documents

How to Use This Page

This page lists the subcollections of several large aggregate databases, which are too extensive to list on the A-Z Database List. Most of these collections are of primary and archival sources. (list updated November 2022)

If you are looking for a specific collection, you can either use the search box in the upper right of this page or use your keyboard's Ctrl + F function (the Find function) to search on this page for the collection name.

Related Guides:

Accessible Archives

African American Newspapers

African American Newspapers in the South, 1870-1926

America and World War I Parts I-3. American Military Camp Newspapers

American County Histories

American Inventor

Anatomy of Protest in America Series: Books, 1701-1928

Anatomy of Protest in America Series: Newspapers, 1729-1922

The Athens Republique

The Banner-Enterpris

The Bee

The Black Dispatch

The Canadian Observer

The Charleston Mercury

The Christian Recorder

The Civil War Part I. A Newspaper Perspective

The Civil War Part II. The Soldiers' Perspective 

The Civil War Part III. The Generals' Perspective 

The Civil War Part IV. A Midwestern Perspective

The Civil War Part V. Iowa's perspective

The Civil War Part VI. Northeast Regimental Histories

The Civil War Part VII. Abraham Lincoln Library Abolitionist Books

The Colored American

Douglass Monthly

The Educator

Frederick Douglass Paper

The Freedmen's Record (The Freedmen's Journal)

Freedom's Journal

Frank Leslie's Weekly

Godey's Lady's Book

History of Woman Suffrage

Invention and Technology in America

The Liberator

The Lily

The Louisianian

The Maryland Gazette

National Anti Slavery Standard

National Citizen and Ballot Box

The National Era

The National Forum

The National Standard

Native Americans in History: Part I: Newspapers, 1728-1922

Native Americans in History: Part II: Books, 1663-1928

The Negro Business League Herald

The New Citizen (Votes for Woman)

The New York Herald

News of the Day

The 19th Amendment Victory: Books, 1812-1923

The 19th Amendment Victory: A Newspaper History, 1762-1922

The North Star

Old Post Union

The Pennsylvania Gazette

The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog

Pennsylvania Newspaper Record

The Pennsylvania Packet

Provincial Freeman

Quarantine and Infectious Disease Control Series: Books, 1823-1928

Quarantine and Infectious Disease Control Series: Newspapers, 1736-1922

Reconstruction of Southern States

The Remonstrance

The Republican

The Revolution

Richmond Enquirer

Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman

The South Carolina Gazette

The Gazette of the State of South Carolina

The South Carolina Gazette and Country Journal

The South Carolina and American General Gazette

The Stars and Stripes and Old Post Union

Twelve Years a Slave

Vincennes Courant

Vincennes Gazette

Vincennes Weekly Courant and Patriot

Vincennes Weekly Gazette

Weekly Vincennes Gazette

Vincennes Times

The Virginia Gazette

Weekly Advocate

The Western Woman Voter

The Woman's Tribune

Women's Suffrage

AM Explorer

African American Communities

Age of Exploration

American Indian Histories and Cultures

American History, 1493-1945

American Indian Newspapers

American West

Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980

China, American and the Pacific

China: Culture and Society

China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980

Church Missionary Society Periodicals

Colonial America

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966

Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969

Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961

Defining Gender

East India Company

Eighteenth Century Drama

Eighteenth Century Journals

Empire Online

Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800-1920

First World War Portal

Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan

Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952

Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981

Frontier Life

Gender: Identity and Social Change

Global Commodities

India Raj and Empire

J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America

Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954

Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture

Literary Manuscripts Berg

Literary Manuscripts Leeds

Literary Print Culture

London Low Life

Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963

Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965

Mass Observation Online

Medical Services and Welfare

Medieval Family Life

Medieval Travel Writing

Meiji Japan

Migration to New Worlds

Perdita Manuscripts, 1500-1700

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975

Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900

Race Relations in America

Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape

Service Newspapers of World War Two

Shakespeare in Performance

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice

Socialism on Film

The Grand Tour

The Nixon Years, 1969-1974

Trade Catalogues and the American Home

Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History

Victorian Popular Culture

Virginia Company Archives

Women in the National Archives

World's Fairs

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

You can search by Collection through the Advanced Search.

Fine Arts

General Reference

History and Geography

Law

Literature and Language

Religion and Philosophy

Science, Technology and Medicine

Social Sciences

Gale Primary Sources

Many of these collections are larger collections that consist of multiple subcollections (e.g., Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online). In such cases, those collections' contents are listed in more detail in subsequent sections on this page. 

American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Archives Unbound

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (see subcollections)

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (see subcollections)

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

The Sunday Times Historical Archive

The Times Digital Archive

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Women's Studies Archive

History Vault

These History Vault collections are part of the database 'Primary Sources (ProQuest).' They are therefore listed here and again under that database's full list of primary source collections;

Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Parts 1-2

NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files

NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files

NAACP Papers: Special Subjects

NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces

NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files

NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses

African American Police League Records (1961-1988)

Reverend J. H. Jackson and the National Baptist Convention, 1900-1990

Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War

Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century (1636-1880)

Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries (1700-1896)

Slavery and the Law (1775-1867)

Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records

Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army (1854-1870)

Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877)

Women's Studies

Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990

Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights

Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps

Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College Collections and Collected Documents

Southern Women and their Families in the 19th and 20th Centuries, Holdings of the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics

American Federation of Labor Records: The Samuel Gompers Era, 1877-1937

Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO

Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records

Labor Priests: Progressive Politics and the Catholic Church, John A. Ryan Papers, 1892-1945

Socialist Party of America Records

American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971

American Politics and Society

Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933

Thomas A. Edison Papers (1850-1919)

Pinkerton's National Detective Agency Records (1853-1999)

Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal Manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library (1861-1976)

Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights (1872-1934)

Progressive Era: Voices of Reform (1875-1945)

Progressive Era: Robert M. La Follette Papers (1879-1924)

Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930

Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969

New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies (1933-1945)

Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946

American Politics in the Early Cold War: Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961

FBI Confidential Files and Radical Politics in the U.S., 1945-1972

Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the anti-Vietnam War Movement (1958-1981)

American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate (1960-1975)

International Relations and Military Conflicts

U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944

U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945

World War I: British Foreign Office Political Correspondence (1914-1920)

World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces, and Diplomacy in the World War I Era (1915-1927)

CIA Cold War Research Reports and Records on Communism in China and Eastern Europe (1917-1976)

Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948

World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees

Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961

Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process (1942-1998)

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and Middle East, 1960-1969

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969

Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975

Latinx History

Revolutionary War and Early America: Collections from the Massachusetts Historical Society

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Collections exist within archives. This list includes NCCO's "Archives" and the "Collections" within each Archive. The list of Archives can be accessed in NCCO by clicking the arrow to the left of the main search box.

Asia and the West

British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1856-1905

British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1906-1913: Dominance of the Genro

British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1914-1923: Emergence of Japan as a Pacific Power

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Amoy, China, 1844-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Antung, Manchuria, China, 1904-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Bangkok, Siam, 1856-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Batavia, Java, Netherlands East Indies, 1818-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Canton, China, 1790-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chefoo, China, 1863-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chinkiang, China, 1864-1902

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chunking, China, 1896-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Foochow, China, 1849-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hakodate, Japan, 1856-1878

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hangchow, China, 1904-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hankow, China, 1861-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hong Kong, 1844-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Iloilo, Philippine Islands, 1876-1886

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Kanagawa, Japan, 1861-1897

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Macao, China, 1849-1869

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Manila, Philippine Islands, 1817-1899

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Mukden, Manchuria, China, 1904-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Nagasaki, Japan, 1860-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Nanking, China, 1902-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Newchwang, Manchuria, China, 1865-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Ningpo, China, 1853-1896

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Osaka and Hiogo (Kobe), Japan, 1868-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Padang, Sumatra, Netherlands East Indies, 1853-1898

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Saigon, Vietnam, 1889-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Seoul, Korea, 1886-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Shanghai, China, 1847-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Singapore, Straits Settlements, 1833-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Swatow, China, 1860-1881

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Tientsin, China, 1868-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Yokohama, Japan, 1897-1906

Despatches from U.S. Ministers to China, 1843-1906

Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Japan, 1855-1906

Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Korea, 1883-1905

Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Siam, 1882-1906

History of the Philippine Insurrection Against the United States, 1899-1903, and Documents Relating to the War Department Project for Publishing of History, 1899-1903

Minutes of Treaty Conferences between U.S. and Japanese Representatives, and Treaty Drafts, 1872

Missionary and Socio-Economic Journals

Missionary Files: Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912 (China, Japan, Korea)

Missionary Files: Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1912-1949 (China, Japan, Korea)

Notes from the Chinese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1868-1906

Notes from the Japanese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1858-1906

Notes from the Korean Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1883-1906

Notes from the Siamese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1876-1906

Records Relating to the United States Surveying Expedition to the North Pacific Ocean, 1852-1863.

Selected Records of the U.S. Consulate in Bangkok, Siam, 1856-1912

Selected Records of the U.S. Legation in China, 1849-1931

Selected Records of the U.S. Legation in Japan, 1855-1912

British Politics and Society

British Cabinet Papers, 1880-1916

British Labour History Ephemera

British Trade Union History Collection

Civil Disturbance, Chartism and Riots in Nineteenth Century England

Colonial Defence Commission under Lord Carnarvon

Diaries of Sir Frederic Madden

Discontent and Authority, 1820-1840

Economic and Social Investigations in England since 1833: Transactions of the Manchester Statistical Society, Parts One and Two

Home Office Papers and Records

Home Office: Disturbances Entry Books

Home Office: Domestic Correspondence from 1773 to 1861

Home Office: Domestic Entry Books

Home Office: Post Office Correspondence

Home Office: Registered Papers

Hue and Cry and Police Gazette

Ordnance Surveyors' Drawings, 1789-1840

Papers of Great British Statesmen and Politicians, Series One: The Papers and Correspondence of Charles James Fox, 1749-1806

Papers of the Prime Ministers of Great Britain, Series Two: Sir Robert Peel (Prime Minister, 1834-5, 1841-5 and 1845-6)

People's History: Working Class Autobiographies

Public Order, Discontent, and Protest in Nineteenth Century England, 1820-1850

Radical Politics and the Working Man in England

Radicalism, Anti-Radicalism and Reform in England, 1769-1861: Original Papers and Minute Books

Radicals and Reformers in Britain: The Papers of John Cam Hobhouse, 1809-1869

Rare Freethought Militant 19th Century Books

Rare Radical and Labour Periodicals of Great Britain

The Oxford Movement: Tractarian Pamphlets at Pusey House: The Halifax and Church Sub-Collections

The Whitechapel Murders Papers: Letters Relating to the "Jack the Ripper" Killings

Working Class Movement Card Catalogue

British Theatre, Music, and Literature

Archives of the Royal Literary Fund

British Playbills, 1754-1882

Crystal Palace Handel Triennial

Crystal Palace Saturday Concerts

Drury Lane Receipts

Drury Lane Theatre Archive

Drury Lane under Sheridan, 1776-1812: Manuscript Plays and Correspondence

English Stage after the Restoration, 1733-1822

JW Davison Papers

King's Theatre Haymarket Archive

Konzert Programm Austausch

Lord Chamberlain's Plays

Oratorio Concert Programmes

Popular Literature in 18th and 19th Century Britain, Parts Three-Ten: The Barry Ono Collection of Bloods and Penny Dreadfuls

Popular Literature in 18th and 19th Century Britain, Part Two: The Sabine Baring-Gould and Thomas Crampton Collections

Queen's Hall Programmes

Royal Albert Hall

Royal Philharmonic Society Archive

Royal Philharmonic Society Music Manuscripts

Sir George Smart Papers

Sir George Smart Programmes

St James Hall Monday/Saturday Popular Concerts

Wandering Minstrels Archive

Children's Literature and Childhood

Childhood in the Nineteenth Century: Records from the Home Office

Child Welfare and Reform: Records from the Ministry of Health and Department of Health and Social Security

Education in the Nineteenth Century: Records from the Department of Education and Science

Growing Up in America: Children's Literature of Immigrant Communities

The History of Education: Education of the Handicapped

The History of Education: Psychology

The History of Education: Education and Social Issues

Juvenile Crime and Detention: Records from the Prison Commission

Juvenile Journalists: Selected Amateur Newspapers

Learning and Leisure: A Selection of Children's Literature from the British Library

Selected Titles from the Children's Collection at the American Antiquarian Society

Selections from the Baldwin Library Collection of Historical Children's Literature

Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture

African Mail

African World

Annales de l'Extreme Orient et de l'Afrique

Bulletins du Comite de l'Afrique francaise

Colonial Africa Newspapers from the British Library

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Bathurst, Gambia, British Africa, 1857-1889

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Boma, Congo, 1888-1895

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Cape Town, Cape Colony, 1800-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Gaboon, 1856-1888

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Goree Dakar, French Africa, 1883-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Grand Bassa, Liberia, 1868-1882

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Lourenco Marques, Mozambique, Portuguese Africa, 1854-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Pretoria, The Transvaal, 1898-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Santiago, Cape Verde Islands, 1818-1898

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Sierra Leone, British Africa, 1858-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in St. Helena, British West Africa, 1831-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in St. Paul de Loanda, Portuguese Africa, 1854-1893

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Tamatave, Madagascar, 1853-1906

Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Zanzibar, British Africa, 1836-1906

Deutsche Kolonialzeitung

Exploration and Colonization of Africa

German Colonialism in Africa: Selections from the Kolonialbibliothek (Colonial Library) Collection

International Population Census, Africa

Joseph Chamberlain Papers Relating to Africa

Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912: Africa

Personal Narratives and Reminiscences of the Exploration of Africa

Publications of the Cape Colony

Publications of the Natal Colony

Report of the Boundary Survey between British Bechuanaland and German Southwest Africa of 1898-1903

Selected Africa Collections from the Bodleian Library

Selected Cabinet Papers on Africa

Selected Colonial Office Files on Africa

Selected Dominions Office Files on Africa

Selected Foreign Office Files on Africa

Selected India Office Records on Colonial Africa

Selected Maps and Plans Files on Africa

Selected Narratives and Reminiscences on Colonial Africa

Selected War Office Files on Africa

Yale Divinity School Periodicals on Africa

European Literature, the Corvey Collection, 1790-1840

Photography: The World through the Lens

The Bauduin Collection of Photographs

British Admiralty Office Photographs

British Colonial Office: Photographic Collection

British Journal of Photography and Annual, 1854-1914

Early Rare Photographic Books from the Northwestern Museum of Science and Industry Collection

Early Rare Photographs from the Victoria and Albert Museum, London

The Hill and Adamson Albums: photographs by David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson, 1843-1848

The Photographic News, 1859-1908

Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period

The Meiji and Taisho Eras in Photographs

Nineteenth-Century Photographs from the Royal Archives, Windsor

The Photographic News, 1859-1908

Photographs from the India Collection at the British Library

Photographs from the National Media Museum

Photographs from the Royal Photographic Society Collection

Photographs from the Science Museum

Photographs from the Talbot Collection at the British Library

Photographs from the Wellcome Library for the History of Medicine

Portraits of Modern Japanese Historical Figures

Records of the Copyright Office of the Stationers' Company: Photographs

Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925, Part I

Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia: Minutes and Correspondence

American Medical Periodicals

Astronomy and Astrophysics

Civil Engineering

Color Theory and Practice

Electricity and Electromagnetism

Evolution and the Origin of Species

Mathematics

Reports of Explorations Printed in the Documents of the United States Government

Scientific and Technical Periodicals from the Royal Society of London's Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900

Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925, Part II

Academies of Science Publications

Entomology

Natural History

The Rise of Public Health in England and Wales

Women and Transnational Networks

Action Sociale De La Femme Et Le Livre Francaise

Britannia: Official Organ of the Women's Party

British Birth Control Material at the British Library of Political and Economic Sciences: 1800-1947

The Diaries of Elizabeth Fry, 1797-1845

History of Women

The Journal of the American National Women's Trade Union League

Mary Braddon Archive

Myrtilla Miner Papers

Our Corner

Papers of Carrie Chapman Catt

Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton

Quaker Women's Diaries: 18th-19th Centuries

The Reply

Suffragist

Votes for Women

The Woman Worker 1908-1910

Woodull & Claflin's Weekly

Primary Sources (ProQuest)

News, Newspapers, and Periodicals

Historical Newspapers

American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)

American Israelite

Arizona Republican 1890-2007

Atlanta Constitution

Atlanta Daily World

Austin American Statesman

Boston Globe

Calgary Herald

Chicago Defender

Chicago Tribune

Chinese Newspaper Collection

Christian Science Monitor

Cincinnati Enquirer 1841-2009

Civil War Era

Cleveland Call & Post

Communist Newspapers 1917-2013

Dayton Daily News

Detroit Free Press 1831-1999

Edmonton Journal

Globe and Mail

Guardian and Observer

Hartford Courant

Indianapolis Star 1903-2004

Irish Times

Jerusalem Post

Jewish Advocate

Jewish Exponent

Korea Times 1956-2016

Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals

Los Angeles Sentinel

Los Angeles Times

Louisville Courier-Journal (1830-2000)

Michigan Chronicle

Minneapolis Star Tribune 1867-2001

Nashville Tennessean 1812-2002

New York Amsterdam News

New York Tribune 1841-1962

Newsday (Nassau Edition)

Norfolk Journal and Guide

Ottawa Citizen

Philadelphia Inquirer 1860-2001

Philadelphia Tribune

Pittsburgh Courier

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette 1786-2003

Regina Leader-Post

San Francisco Chronicle

Saskatoon Star Phoenix

Scotsman

South China Morning Post Subscription

St. Louis Post Dispatch 1874-2003

St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times

The Province

Times of India

Toronto Star

Vancouver Sun

Victoria Times-Colonist

Windsor Star

News

BBC Landmark Video Collection

Periodicals

American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries

American Periodicals Series

C19: 19th Century Index

Periodicals Archive Online Collections 1-10

Periodicals Index Online, Segments 1-50

Literature

Drama

Asian American Drama

Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection, Volumes I-II

Black Drama, Third Edition

Contemporary World Drama

Latin American Drama

National Theatre Collection: Volume II

North American Indian Drama, 2nd Edition

North American Women’s Drama, 2nd Edition

Performance Design Archive Online

Royal Shakespeare Company Collection

The National Theatre Collection

Threatre in Context Collection

Twentieth Century North American Drama, 2nd Edition

Other Collections

World of Archie Comics Archive

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels: Volumes: I, II, III

History

Black History - Black Freedom

African American Police League Records, 1961-1988

History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records

History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement

History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1-2

Black History - Black Studies

African Diaspora, 1860-present

Black Abolitionist Papers

Black Thought and Culture

Black History - Civil Rights

History Vault: NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files

History Vault: NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files and Youth Department Files

History Vault: NAACP Papers: Special Subjects

History Vault: NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns - Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces

History Vault: NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns - Legal Department Files

History Vault: NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns - Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses

History Vault: Reverend J. H. Jackson and the National Baptist Convention, 1900-1990

Black History - Slavery

History Vault: Slavery and the Law

History Vault: Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries (1700-1896)

History Vault: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century America, 1636-1880

History Vault: Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 1-4

Early Modern History

Early English Books Online

Early European Books, Collections 1-21

Military & Diplomatic History

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA), all modules

History Vault: World War I: British Foreign Office Political Correspondence

History Vault: World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces, and Diplomacy in the World War I Era

History Vault: Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948

History Vault: CIA Cold War Research Reports and Records on Communism in China and Eastern Europe (1917-1976)

History Vault: Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and the Middle East, 1960-1969

History Vault: Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969

History Vault: Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969

History Vault: Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961

History Vault: U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945

History Vault: U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944

History Vault: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975

History Vault: World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees

History Vault: Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process, 1942-1998

Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War

Native American History

History Vault: American Indians and American West, 1809-1971

Indian Claims Insight

North American Indian Thought and Culture

World History

Acta Sanctorum

Colonial Legacies: Empire and Commonwealth Periodicals

Early Encounters in North America

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive

The Far Eastern Economic Review Archive

News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek)

The Newsweek Archive

Patrologia Latina

U.K. History

British History

Annual Register: A Record of World Events

British Periodicals: I-IV

The Cecil Papers 

Colonial State Papers

Documents on British Policy Overseas

John Johnson Collection

Queen Victoria's Journals

U.K. Parliamentary History

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - 18th Century

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - 19th Century

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - 20th Century

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - 21st Century Module 1 (2005-2010)

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - 21st Century Module 2 (2010-2015)

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - 21st Century Module 3 (2015-2020)

House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, 1800-1910

Public Petitions to Parliament, 1833-1918

U.S. History

Digital Sanborn Complete

The Gilded Age

American Politics & Society

History Vault: American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate, 1960-1975

History Vault: American Politics in the Early Cold War - Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961

Americans for Democratic Action Records

History Vault: FBI Confidential Files and Radical Politics in the U.S., 1945-1972

History Vault: Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946

History Vault: Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration

History Vault: Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal Manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library

History Vault: New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies

History Vault: Pinkerton's National Detective Agency Records, 1853-1999

History Vault: Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights

History Vault: Progressive Era: Robert M. La Follette Papers

History Vault: Progressive Era: Voices of Reform, 1875-1945

History Vault: Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969

History Vault: Revolutionary War and Early America: Collections from the Massachusetts Historical Society

History Vault: Socialist Party of America Papers, 1897-1976

History Vault: Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the Anti-Vietnam War Movement

History Vault: Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933

History Vault: Thomas A. Edison Papers

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974

Civil War

History Vault: Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army

History Vault: Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War

The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries

Immigration

History Vault: Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories

U.S. Government - Executive Branch

Historical Statistical Abstracts of the U.S., Parts 1-3 (1878-2012)

ProQuest Executive Branch Documents, Parts 1-3 (1789-1942)

ProQuest Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789-Present

U.S. Government - Legislative Branch

ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection Parts A-B (1824-2003)

ProQuest Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection, Parts A-D 1789-2009

ProQuest Congressional Research Digital Collection, Part A (1830-2003)

ProQuest Congressional Unpublished Hearings Parts A-C (House 1973-1992)

ProQuest Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions 1789-2013

ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 1 Digital Collection 1789-1969

ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Maps Digital Collection

Workers & Labor Unions

History Vault: American Federation of Labor Records: The Samuel Gompers Era, 1877-1937

History Vault: Labor Priests: Progressive Politics and the Catholic Church, John A. Ryan Papers, 1892-1945

History Vault: Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO

History Vault: Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records

The Arts

Art, Design, & Architecture

Art & Architecture Archive, Collections 1-2

The Country Life Archive

The Artforum Archive

Fashion

The GQ Archive

The Harper's Bazaar Archive

The Vogue Archive

The Vogue Italia Archive

The Women's Wear Daily Archive

Film & Media Studies

Film Scripts Online, Volumes I-II

Music & Dance

African American Music Reference

Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection

Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library

Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume I-V

Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

Popular Culture

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive, Collections 1-5

The Rolling Stone Archive

Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive

Social Science

Anthropology

Anthropological Fieldwork Online

Anthropology Online

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online

Ethnographic Video Online, Royal Anthropological Institute Teaching Edition

Counseling & Social Work

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume I

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume II

Psychological Experiments Online

Social Work Online

Education Magazine Archive

Global Studies

Border and Migration Studies Online

Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement

Early Experiences in Australasia

Engineering Case Studies Online

Environmental Issues Online

Food Studies Online

Human Rights Studies Online

Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies

Revolution and Protest Online

Security Issues Online

Religion & Philosophy

Religious Magazine Archive

Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume I, Christianity

Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume II, Islam

Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume III, Judaism

Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume IV, Eastern Religions

Women & Gender Studies

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, Second Edition

The Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs

Health & Fitness Magazine Archive

History Vault: Margaret Sanger Papers

History Vault: Southern Women and their Families in the 19th and 20th Centuries, Holdings of the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

History Vault: Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990

History Vault: Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps

History Vault: Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights

LGBT Magazine Archive

LGBT Thought and Culture

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries

Men’s Magazine Archive

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Queer Pasts

Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919-2019

Women and Social Movements, International: 1840 to Present

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

Women’s Magazine Archive, Collections 1-3