Books on Dance
In-depth and introductory material may be found in online and print books on a variety of topics. Books take much longer to write (and read) and are designed for long-form explanations of fields and larger issues. Use Library Search or the box below to find print and electronic books in Rowan's collection.
Books are organized in our libraries using the Library of Congress Classification System. The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.
Subject Headings in Dance
Subject headings are descriptions of the content of library materials using precise language. You can click on them in a relevant catalog record or search for them in advanced searches.
Following is a list of Subject Headings useful for finding materials on dance and related topics in Library Search, EZBorrow, and Worldcat:
|
|
|
Browse the Stacks
Campbell Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize its books, using call numbers to place items on a physical shelf.
During the renovation of Campbell Library please contact the library for information on how to access the Performing Arts Collection or visit the Performing Arts Collections page for updates.
You can find books on dance under these call numbers in the Performing Arts Collection.
GV 1585 -- Dance dictionaries, encyclopedias
GV 1588 -- Philosophy (and theory) of dance
GV 1589 -- Study and teaching of dance
GV 1590 - GV 1594 -- General works on dance
GV 1595 -- Special aspects on dance as a whole
GV 1597 -- Dancing as a profession
GV 1600 -- Dance criticism, appreciation
GV 1645 - GV 1728 -- Dance history (and historical dance)
GV 1743 -- National dances. Folk dances and dancing (General)
GV 1746 - GV 1771 -- Social dancing. Ballroom dancing
GV 1781 - GV 1795 -- Theatrical dancing (Biography: GV 1785)
GV 1796 - GV 1799 -- Special dances.
M 1450 -- Dance music
M 1520 -- Ballet music
M 1627 - M 1853 -- Folk, national, and ethnic music
MT 950 -- Music to accompany instruction in ballet, folk dancing, gymnastics, etc
Books on related topics can be found under the following call numbers:
ML 3400 - ML 3465 -- History of dance music
N 8217 D -- Dance in art; Dancers in art; Art and dance
NX 456.5 P38 -- Performance art
PN 2085 - PN 2091 -- Stagecraft, lighting, scenery design
QP 310 D35 -- Dance - physiological aspects
RC 489 D3 -- Kinesiology (applied to dance)
RC 1220 D35 -- Dance medicine, injuries, nutrition
RD 97 -- Sports injuries
TT 507 -- Costume and fashion design
Finding Books and Media in Other Libraries
- WorldCatAllows you to search the holdings of over 10,000 libraries throughout the world.
- EZBorrow loginFind and request books that Rowan University Libraries doesn't have, from other libraries in New Jersey and nearby states. Books are delivered to Campbell Library in 2 - 4 days.
- ILLiadObtain journal articles, dissertations, video materials, or other items that are NOT books. Use E-ZBorrow for books. If the book you require is not available from any of the participating libraries in E-ZBorrow, you may then request it through ILLiad
New Books in Dance 2020-2021
Critical Companion to Native American and First Nations Theatre and Performance by
This foundational study offers an accessible introduction to Native American and First Nations theatre by drawing on critical Indigenous and dramaturgical frameworks. It is the first major survey book to introduce Native artists, plays, and theatres within their cultural, aesthetic, spiritual, and socio-political contexts. Native American and First Nations theatre weaves the spiritual and aesthetic traditions of Native cultures into diverse, dynamic, contemporary plays that enact Indigenous human rights through the plays' visionary styles of dramaturgy and performance. The book begins by introducing readers to historical and cultural contexts helpful for reading Native American and First Nations drama, followed by an overview of Indigenous plays and theatre artists from across the century. Finally, it points forward to the ways in which Native American and First Nations theatre artists are continuing to create works that advocate for human rights through transformative Native performance practices.Addressing the complexities of this dynamic field, this volume offers critical grounding in the historical development of Indigenous theatre in North America, while analysing key Native plays and performance traditions from the mainland United States and Canada. In surveying Native theatre from the late 19th century until today, the authors explore the cultural, aesthetic, and spiritual concerns, as well as the political and revitalization efforts of Indigenous peoples. This book frames the major themes of the genre and identifies how such themes are present in the dramaturgy, rehearsal practices, and performance histories of key Native scripts.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9781350035072Publication Date: 2019-10-03
Sistuhs in the Struggle: An Oral History of Black Arts Movement Theater and Performance by
The first oral history to fully explore the contributions of Black women intellectuals to the Black Arts Movement, Sistuhs in the Struggle reclaims a vital yet under-researched chapter in African American, women's, and theater history. This groundbreaking study documents how Black women theater artists and activists--many of whom worked behind the scenes as directors, designers, producers, stage managers, and artistic directors--disseminated the Black aesthetic and emboldened their communities. Drawing on nearly thirty original interviews with well-known artists such as Ntozake Shange and Sonia Sanchez as well as less-studied figures including distinguished lighting designer Shirley Prendergast, dancer and choreographer Halifu Osumare, and three-time Tony-nominated writer and composer Micki Grant, La Donna L. Forsgren centers Black women's cultural work as a crucial component of civil rights and Black power activism. Sistuhs in the Struggle is an essential collection for theater scholars, historians, and students interested in learning how Black women's art and activism both advanced and critiqued the ethos of the Black Arts and Black Power movements.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780810142572Publication Date: 2020-10-15
The Grand Union: Accidental Anarchists of Downtown Dance, 1970-1976 by
The Grand Union was a leaderless improvisation group in SoHo in the 1970s that included people who became some of the biggest names in postmodern dance: Yvonne Rainer, Trisha Brown, Steve Paxton, Barbara Dilley, David Gordon, and Douglas Dunn. Together they unleashed a range of improvised forms from peaceful movement explorations to wildly imaginative collective fantasies. This book delves into the "collective genius" of Grand Union and explores their process of deep play. Drawing on hours of archival videotapes, Wendy Perron seeks to understand the ebb and flow of the performances. Includes 65 photographs.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780819579331Publication Date: 2020-07-03
African Theatre 17: Contemporary Dance by
To date, scholars have tended, with a few exceptions, to write about African dance in primarily ethnographic terms. This collection seeks to challenge this pattern and expand dance research by engaging with the aesthetics and socio-political impact of dance for communities in and out of Africa in an increasingly global context. Contributors to this issue look at the impact that specifically situated indigenous dance forms have had on the development of newforms locally, and the reciprocal impact of local and international infrastructures, including funding bodies, tourism and festivals. African Theatre 17 examines how dance is contributing to a particularly African interculturalism, while analysing the issues of representation of Africa in a postcolonial context. Articles address the efficacy of dance to engage audiences with disavowed issues regarding gender, sexuality and dis/ability both within and beyond Africa. Highlights include a dance photo essay on F.O.D. Gang's 2017 site-specific street performance "Untitled" in Lagos, a new non-themed section, and the playscript Lunatic! by Zimbabwean playwright Thoko Zulu.Volume Editors: YVETTE HUTCHISON & CHUKWUMA OKOYESeries Editors: Yvette Hutchison, Reader, Department of Theatre & Performance Studies, University of Warwick; Chukwuma Okoye, Reader in African Theatre & Performance University of Ibadan; Jane Plastow, Professor of African Theatre, University of Leeds.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9781847011879Publication Date: 2018-11-16
Hot Feet and Social Change: African Dance and Diaspora Communities by
The popularity and profile of African dance have exploded across the African diaspora in the last fifty years. Hot Feet and Social Change presents traditionalists, neo-traditionalists, and contemporary artists, teachers, and scholars telling some of the thousands of stories lived and learned by people in the field. Concentrating on eight major cities in the United States, the essays explode myths about African dance while demonstrating its power to awaken identity, self-worth, and community respect. These voices of experience share personal accounts of living African traditions, their first encounters with and ultimate embrace of dance, and what teaching African-based dance have meant to them and their communities. Throughout, the editors alert readers to established and ongoing research, and provide links to critical contributions by African and Caribbean dance experts.Contributors: Ausettua Amor Amenkum, Abby Carlozzo, Steven Cornelius, Yvonne Daniel, Charles "Chuck" Davis, Esailama G. A. Diouf, Indira Etwaroo, Habib Iddrisu, Julie B. Johnson, C. Kemal Nance, Halifu Osumare, Amaniyea Payne, William Serrano-Franklin, and Kariamu Welsh
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780252084775Publication Date: 2019-11-04
Dances of José Limón and Erick Hawkins by
Dances of José Limón and Erick Hawkins examines stagings of masculinity, whiteness, and Latinidad in the work of US modern dance choreographers, José Limón (1908-1972) and Erick Hawkins (1908-1994). Focusing on the period between 1945 to 1980, this book analyzes Limón and Hawkins' work during a time when modern dance was forming new relationships to academic and governmental institutions, mainstream markets, and notions of embodiment. The pre-war expressionist tradition championed by Limón and Hawkins' mentors faced multiple challenges as ballet and Broadway complicated the tenets of modernism and emerging modern dance choreographers faced an increasingly conservative post-war culture framed by the Cold War and Red Scare. By bringing the work of Limón and Hawkins together in one volume, Dances of José Limón and Erick Hawkins accesses two distinct approaches to training and performance that proved highly influential in creating post-war dialogues on race, gender, and embodiment. This book approaches Limón and Hawkins' training regimes and performing strategies as social practices symbiotically entwined with their geo-political backgrounds. Limón's queer and Latino heritage is put into dialogue with Hawkins' straight and European heritage to examine how their embodied social histories worked co-constitutively with their training regimes and performance strategies to produce influential stagings of masculinity, whiteness, and Latinidad.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780203733417Publication Date: 2020-04-19
Dance Education: A Redefinition by
Dance Education redefines the nature of dance pedagogy today, setting it within a holistic and encompassing framework, and argues for an approach to dance education from a soci-cultural and philosophical perspective. In the past, dance education has focused on the learning of dance, limited to Western-based societies, with little attention to how dance is learned and applied globally. This book seeks to re-frame the way dance education is defined, approached and taught by looking beyond the privileged Western dance forms to compare education from different cultures. Structured into three parts, this book examines the following essential questions:- What is dance? What defines dance as an art form?- How and where is dance performed and for what purpose?- How do social contexts shape the making and interpretation of dance?The first part covers the history of dance education and its definition. The second part discusses current contexts and applications, including global contexts and the ability to apply and comprehend dance education in a variety of contexts. This book opens up definitions, rather than categorising, so that dance is not presented in a hierarchical form. The third part continues to define dance education in ways that have not been discussed in the past: informal contexts. The book then returns to the original definition of dance education as a way of knowing oneself and the world around us, ending on the philosophical application of this self-knowledge as a way to be in the world and to engage with others, regardless of background.This textbook is a refreshing and much-needed contribution to the field of dance studies by one of the most eminent voices in the field.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9781350088023Publication Date: 2021-01-14
Dance, Professional Practice, and the Workplace by
Originally published as a special issue of Research in Dance Education, now with an added chapter, this text acknowledges and celebrates the increasingly diverse careers and employment networks in which dance professionals and dance educators are engaged. Addressing issues and developments relating to the workplace of dance, the text explores what it means to transcend the boundary between dance as passion, and dance as employment. Chapters explore challenges of professional practice including limitations on access, precarity, bodily risk, gender inequality, and sexual harassment, and challenge the status quo to offer readers new ways of thinking about dance, and how this might translate into professional practice and work. Ultimately celebrating the passion which motivates dancers to embark on a professional career, and highlighting the elation and joy which such employment can bring, this volume encourages dance professionals, students, and educators to imagine things differently and develop teaching approaches, curricula, work places, and communities which capitalise on the diversity and dedication of individuals in the field. This text will be of great interest to graduate and postgraduate students, researchers, academics, professionals in the field of Dance, Dance Education, Choreography and related art forms, Curriculum studies and Sociology of Education.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780367822071Publication Date: 2020-01-10
Movement Directors in Contemporary Theatre: Conversations on Craft by
'When directors understand the value of a movement director they remove any sense of hierarchy within the room and place movement directors firmly by their side for they are and should be their co-pilot, navigating and creating the world of the play.' Joan Iyiola Movement directors work with the physical, living bodies at the heart of theatre productions, creating movement languages with actors and directors. Through a series of in-depth interviews with leading theatre practitioners, Ayse Tashkiran charts the growth of the movement director in contemporary theatre. The voices of Jane Gibson, Sue Lefton, Kate Flatt, Toby Sedgwick, Si n Williams, Struan Leslie, Ellen Kane, Peter Darling, Steven Hoggett, Ann Yee, Imogen Knight and Shelley Maxwell explore processes of creativity, collaboration and innovation for the moving body in performance. The conversations open up- Growth of movement direction through the 20th century New insights into embodied theatre practice Diverse movement approaches and creative preparation Physical trainings and influences Working methods with directors and actors in the rehearsal room Movement for actors in opera, film, television and musical theatre Relationships between movement direction and theatre choreography Potential future developments in the field
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9781350054455Publication Date: 2020-07-09
Pina Bausch and Dance Theater: Company, Artistic Practices, and Reception by
Pina Bausch and Dance Theater. The Art of Translating offers new and ground-breaking perspectives on the work of the Tanztheater Wuppertal. The development and performance of its oeuvre, the passing on of choreographic material and reactions by the public are presented as complex, interdependent, and reciprocal processes of translation. For the very first time, this book focuses on the artistic research involved in the company's international co-productions and features extensive empirical material in form of interviews with dancers, collaborators, and spectators, as well as ethnographic insights. This book introduces a praxeology of cultural and aesthetic translation as a viable key concept for research into dance and art.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9783839450550Publication Date: 2020-06-08
Dance Theory: source readings from two millennia of Western dance: a critical anthology by
The history of dance theory has never been told. Writers in every age have theorized prescriptively, according to their own needs and ideals, and theorists themselves having continually asserted the lack of any pre-existing dance theory. Dance Theory: Source Readings from Two Millennia ofWestern Dance revives and reintegrates dance theory as a field of historical dance studies, presenting a coherent reading of the interaction of theory and practice during two millennia of dance history. In fifty-five selected readings with explanatory text, this book follows the variousconstructions of dance theories as they have morphed and evolved in time, from ancient Greece to the twenty-first century.Dance Theory is a collection of source readings that, commensurate with current teaching practice, foregrounds dance and performance theory in its presentation of western dance forms. Divided into nine chapters organized chronologically by historical era and predominant intellectual and artisticcurrents, the book presents a history of an idea from one generation to another. Each chapter contains introductions that not only provide context and significance for the individual source readings, but also create narrative threads that link different chapters and time periods. Based entirely onprimary sources, the book makes no claim to cite every source, but rather, in connecting the dots between significant high points, it attempts to trace a coherent and fair narrative of the evolution of dance theory as a concept in Western culture.
Call Number: PAC GV1588 .D35 2020ISBN: 9780190059767Publication Date: 2020-03-19
