Background Information
- American Ballet Theatre's Ballet DictionaryThis reference resource provides clear and concise definitions of the important terms of Ballet. In addition to the definition, each term also has an accompanying audio clip with the correct pronunciation for the term.
- Dance Notation Bureau LibraryThe Dance Notation Bureau (DNB) Library maintains the world's largest collection of original Labanotated dance scores. This catalog is not a complete inventory of the DNB’s holdings but does include information regarding the most frequently requested materials used by stagers and researchers worldwide. It includes scores in Labanotation but not scores in other forms of notation, e.g., Benesh.
Reference Books on Dance
The Encyclopedia of World Folk Dance by
While there are books about folk dances from individual countries or regions, there isn't a single comprehensive book on folk dances across the globe. This illustrated compendium offers the student, teacher, choreographer, historian, media critic, ethnographer, and general reader an overview of the evolution and social and religious significance of folk dance. The Encyclopedia of World Folk Dance focuses on the uniqueness of kinetic performance and its contribution to the study and appreciation of rhythmic expression around the globe. Following a chronology of momentous events dating from prehistory to the present day, the entries in this volume include material on technical terms, character roles, and specific dances. The entries also summarize the historical and ethnic milieu of each style and execution, highlighting, among other elements, such features as: -origins -purpose -rituals and traditions -props -dress -holidays -themes
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 1442257482Publication Date: 2016-08-08
Undergraduate Research in Dance by
Undergraduate Research in Dance: A Guide for Studentssupplies tools for scaffolding research skills alongside examples of undergraduate research in dance scholarship. Dance can be studied as an expressive embodied art form with physical, cognitive, and affective domains, and as an integral part of society, history, and vast areas of interdisciplinary content. To this end, the guidance provided by this book will equip future dance professionals with the means to move the field of dance forward. Chapters 1-9 guide students through the fundamentals of research methods, providing a foundation to help students get started in understanding research protocols and processes. Students will learn skills such as how to choose a research topic, refine research questions, conduct literature reviews, cite sources, synthesize and analyze data, develop conclusions and results, and present their findings. Chapters 10-19 detail forms of undergraduate research in a rich diversity of fields within dance that are taught in many collegiate dance programs including dance therapy, history, science, psychology, education, and technology, in addition to public scholarship, choreography, and interdisciplinary topics. The book also includes a final chapter which provides annotated online resources, and many of its chapters are supported by examples of abstracts of capstone projects, senior theses, and conference presentations by undergraduate researchers across the United States. Suitable for both professors and students, Undergraduate Research in Danceis an ideal reference book for any course that has a significant opportunity for the creation of new knowledge, or as an essential interdisciplinary connection between dance and other disciplines.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 1138484113Publication Date: 2019-01-21
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by
With over 2,600 entries, the second edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Dance is a unique single volume reference on all aspects of dance performance written by two leading dance writers, Debra Craine and Judith Mackrell. The work covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies. During the last thirty years the boundaries of dance have been radically redrawn. There has been an explosion of new activity within traditional forms like ballet, a stream of new dance languages invented by fresh generations of choreographers, and there is a growing appreciation of cultural dance forms from around the world. Fans today are likely to attend performances as varied as Spanish flamenco, Indian bharata natyam, Japanese butoh, classical ballet, and post-modern dance. With an emphasis on performance - the dance we see in our theatres today - readers will find both fact and analysis on a wide range of subjects, from styles of dance and the history of dance companies and their productions, to dancers, choreographers, and technical terms. With 150 new entries, this new edition charts developments that have occurred over the last ten years, including the rise of new digital technology in the creation and staging of dance and the move to the mainstream of formerly fringe genres such as hip-hop, as well as the arrival of a new generation of dancers and choreographers to the scene.
Call Number: PAC GV1585 .C78 2010ISBN: 9780199563449Publication Date: 2010-09-10
Dance History: An Introduction by
Originally published in 1983 the first edition rapidly established itself as a core student text. Now fully revised and up-dated it remains the only book to address the rationale, process, techniques and methodologies specific to the study of dance history. For the main body of the text which covers historical studies of dance in its traditional and performance contexts, the editors have brought together a team of internationally known dance historians. Roger Copeland and Deborah Jowitt each take a controversial look at the modern American dance. Kenneth Archer and Millicent Hodson explain the processes they use when reconstructing 'lost' ballets, and Theresa Buckland and Georgina Gore write on traditional dance in England and West Africa respectively. With other contributions on social dance, ballet, early European modern dance and feminist perspectives on dance history this book offers a multitude of starting points for studying dance history as well as presenting examples of dance writing at its very best. Dance History will be an essential purchase for all students of dance.
Call Number: PAC GV1589 .D38 1994ISBN: 041509030XPublication Date: 1994-10-28
Studying Dance by
Studying Dance: A Guide for Campus and Beyond is a comprehensive bridge for students transitioning into the first year of a college dance program. Through this text, students will understand dance in new and exciting ways, embrace it as an academic discipline, navigate and take charge of their dance education, and visualize potential careers after graduation. Studying Dance: A Guide for Campus and Beyond opens students' eyes to all the artistic, cultural, and educational aspects of dance. By expanding their thinking, students will move to a deeper understanding of themselves as dancers and the world around them. The author demystifies the entire first-year experience while guiding students in the discovery of dance as a multifaceted discipline. Students will examine academic expectations, time management, the importance of staying focused, and balancing school and life. They will delve into the various areas of dance and a range of careers and paths available to them. They will learn the differences in types of college dance courses, the approaches used, and how to personalize their dance education through individualized instructional opportunities and peer collaboration. The text also will prompt students to visualize and plan their dance lives beyond campus so they can set clear goals for studying and succeeding as young professionals. Studying Dance: A Guide for Campus and Beyond contains many student-friendly features: * 15 easy-to-digest chapters provide the rules of the road that lead to a successful freshman year and future career * 49 interviews with current dance students, recent graduates, and dance professionals encourage students to reflect on and take charge of their learning * Web resource with learning activities, glossary lists, web links, and other tools personalize each student's journey through the content With this text, teachers can help students expand their thinking about dance in ways that will lead to success on campus and beyond.
Call Number: PAC GV1589 .S38 2015ISBN: 9781450437165Publication Date: 2014-10-27
Dance Studies: The Basics by
A concise introduction to the study of dance ranging from the practical aspects such as technique and choreography to more theoretical considerations such as aesthetic appreciation and the place of dance in different cultures. This book answers questions such as: Exactly how do we define dance? What kinds of people dance and what kind of training is necessary? How are dances made? What do we know about dance history? Featuring a glossary, chronology of dance history and list of useful websites, this book is the ideal starting point for anyone interested in the study of dance.
Call Number: PAC GV1594 .B88 2012ISBN: 9780415582551Publication Date: 2012-01-10
Writing about Dance by
Writing About Dance guides students through various processes of writing about dance, from the informal (journal writing and free writing) to the formal (critiques, essays, and research papers). When students learn both practical and artistic aspects of writing, they become better critical thinkers and writers as they deepen their understanding of dance technique, dance creativity, and dance as an art form. This book includes * 14 teacher-tested writing exercises, ranging from reflection to the creative process to writing about dance, that are appropriate for all dance classes; * rubrics for evaluating critiques, essays, and research papers; * an appendix that helps students prepare to write dance critiques; and * easy-to-use checklists to facilitate writing assignments and help students organize their thoughts and address aspects of each type of dance writing.
Call Number: PAC GV1594 .O45 2010ISBN: 9780736076104Publication Date: 2010-01-11
International Dictionary of Ballet by Call Number: Ref. GV 1585 .I57 1993ISBN: 1558620842Publication Date: 1993-09-01The International Dictionary of Ballet has as its subject all of ballet, from its beginnings in the Renaissance to contemporary dance.
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by Call Number: Ref. GV 1585 B46 1998ISBN: 1558623590Publication Date: 1998-05-01Offering an up-to-date and comprehensive examination of modern dance, this reference offers alphabetically arranged essays, selected, written and reviewed by expert contributors.
International Encyclopedia of Dance by
Since the dawn of human history, dance has been a vital form of expression in virtually every culture. From the minuet to the tango to kabuki theater to square dancing, it is a part of the social fabric of all societies, as well as an important art form. Now, Oxford presents the first reference to document all types of dance around the world and throughout history. In six volumes, with nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from over fifty countries, the Encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set is alphabetically arranged, with an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than 2,300 illustrations. Amazing in its scope and dazzling in its diversity, the Encyclopedia is like no other reference work on dance. Accessibly written and arranged for use by a wide audience, it is an essential addition to any arts and humanities collection.
Call Number: Ref. GV 1585 I586 1998ISBN: 019509462XPublication Date: 1998-03-26
