Research Guides: Inclusive Citation: Research Starting Points

Research starting points

The resources on this page are merely starting points for your research. Specific disciplines may have other databases that promote inclusive citation that are not listed on this guide. You may wish to search for these subject-specific materials with an internet search like expert database diverse [DISCIPLINE/SUBJECT AREA].

Databases for Academic & Professional Expertise

The process for including individuals in these databases varies from resource to resource. Some require that an expert be selected for inclusion, while others are based on self-nominations. Cross-disciplinary resources are listed first, and followed by discipline-specific ones.

All Disciplines

AcademiaNet
Database of profiles of selected female researchers from across disciplines. A project of the Swiss National Science Foundation.
Cite Black Authors: Resources
Curated list below of resources for further amplifying black voices in academia.
Cite Black Authors Database
A growing database of peer-reviewed and published work by Black academic authors
Cite Black Women
Website with resources and advocacy for citing black women
Reflect Reality - Women Expert Sources
A list of resources for finding women experts in various disciplines and professions. Can also search by geographic regions.

Discipline-Specific

500 Queer Scientists
Visibility campaign for LGBTQ+ people and their allies in STEM-related jobs
500 Women Scientists
Database of women and gender diverse STEMM professionals (science, technology, engineering, math, and medicine)
Commission on the Status of Minorities: Fighting for Diversity in Media, Academia & AEJMC
Database of experts on diversity in media. Also includes resources on multiculturalism in the journalism and mass communications.
Diverse Sources
Database of experts in science, health, and the environment from underrepresented groups
Diverse Sources Database (NPR)
Experts from racial and ethnic groups underrepresented in the media. Included in National Public Radio's (NPR) training materials
Interruptrr Experts List
Women experts in various areas of foreign policy
SheSource (Women Media Center)
Online database of media-experienced women experts who may be contacted by journalists, bookers, and producers.
Women Also Know History
Women Also Know Stuff
Database of experts in political science

News sources

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine and journal articles on the impact of gender.
Full text database of periodical articles and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990. (ProQuest)

Newspaper Map
Website with a map of newspapers across the world and links to those newspapers