Music Sources for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

First Published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Now in its third edition, Latin American Classical Composers: A Biographical Dictionary provides a singular English-language resource for biographical information on hundreds of composers from Central and South America and the Hispanic Caribbean. Painstakingly gathered from a wide variety of sources, the information updates and expands previous editions and fills in the gaps left by the other major English-language music dictionaries and encyclopedias. Entries provide biographical data comprising full names, birth and death dates and locations, background, education, and training, as well as selective works lists more than 2,300 composers. An index of composers by country and women composers of Latin America complement the volume. An essential part of any music library, Latin American Classical Composers is an invaluable reference for librarians, musicologists, ethnomusicologists, researchers, and music students.

The few in earlier times who gained some renown were as often as not the sisters, daughters, wives, or muses of well-known men--the surnames of Fanny Mendelssohn and Clara Schumann speak for themselves. Even with the present-day increase in their number, women composers have largely failed to draw the attention of the public.In recognition of these nearly invisible yet greatly talented musicians, Julie Anne Sadie and Rhian Samuel have brought together an international corps of experts to produce The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers. This definitive source provides detailed biographies of more than 1,000 creators of Western classical music. In signed articles, the Dictionary chronicles the lives and works of women composers from all corners of the world. Here you can read about the Medieval mystic Hildgard von Bingen, the Renaissance madrigalist Maddalena Casulana, the flamboyant seventeenth-century vocal composer Barbara Strozzi, the prolific New Englander Amy Beach, and the Pulitzer Prize winner Ellen Taaffe Zwilich.

Jackson has culminated her lifelong research in producing this bibliographically arranged guide. "Say Can You Deny Me" lists the locations of the printed and manuscript sources of Renaissance, baroque, classic, and some early romantic women composers. With listings from over 400 libraries worldwide, the guide is the definitive work documenting a substantial contribution to the world of music by women.

Women in Music: A Research and Information Guide is an annotated bibliography emerging from more than twenty-five years of feminist scholarship on music. This book testifies to the great variety of subjects and approaches represented in over two decades of published writings on women, their work, and the important roles that feminist outlooks have played in formerly male-oriented academic scholarship or journalistic musings on women and music.

Wilson's The Art Song in Latin America-Selected Works by 20th Century Composers includes art songs by 20th-century Latin Americans, including important composers such as Carlos Guastavino (Argentina), Carlos Chávez (Mexico) and Juan Orrego-Salas (Chile). The first anthology of its kind published in the United States, it includes translations, textual transcriptions of the Spanish using International Phonetic Alphabet,and historical and biographical entries for each song. A singer,musicologist, and voice teacher with extensive experience teaching in Latin America as a Fulbright Scholar, Kathleen Wilson understands the need for a practical and accessible source of vocal literature by Latin American composers. As a vocal pedagogue, Wilson has been careful to choose songs that are technically appropriate for young singers and sophisticated enough musically for professionals.

"... a valuable resource for students and teachers, women and men, who wish to enlarge their understanding of women's contributions to classical new music." --Women & Music "... an important collection that should quickly find its way into courses on the music of our century.... This anthology offers a significant step toward our richer understanding of musical expressiveness in the late twentieth century." --Notes The creativity of women in contemporary art, literature, and general culture is well recognized, but their excellence in musical composition remains largely unrecognized. To remedy that oversight, this book brings together scores by 30 composers from around the world in a single, accessible collection encompassing concert and religious music as well as jazz, pop, experimental, and cross-over works. Each piece is introduced by a short biography of the composer, including the formative influences on her life, her role models, the obstacles she encountered, the recognition she has attained, bibliographic references, and discographies.

.."". will enlighten students of music history and serve as a source of programming ideas for performers."" -- Library Journal .."". a significant contribution to the literature about, and the music of, women composers."" -- American Music Teacher

A diverse repertoire of art songs for piano and voice The art song--a delicate and inspiring blend of mu­sic and poetry--has been performed by singers and pianists and appreciated by audiences around the world for more than two hundred years. While collec­tions of art songs abound, this welcome volume and its accompanying compact discs make readily avail­able the contributions of contemporary African American composers to the popular genre. Including thirty-nine pieces for voice and piano created since 1968 by eighteen artists, ANew Anthology of Art Songs by African American Composers navigates a varied musical terrain from classical European tradi­tions to jazz and spirituals. With nearly half of the featured songs composed by women and with others by lesser-known and emerging composers, this im­portant collection offers a diverse, representative sampling of African American art songs and works to secure the places of these songs and artists in the canon of contemporary American music. Selected by Jeanine Wagner and Margaret R. Simmons, prolific and celebrated performers who have presented recitals throughout the world featur­ing the art songs of African American composers, this dazzling new repertoire of twentieth-century music is cogently framed by a thorough introduction and sub­stantial biographies of each composer. The compact discs feature piano tracks of all thirty-nine composi­tions. The featured composers are H. Leslie Adams, Mable Bailey, Charles S. Brown, Wallace McClain Cheatham, Adolphus Hailstork, Jacqueline B. Hairston, William H. Henderson, Jeraldine Saunders Herbison, Betty Jackson King, William Foster McDaniel, Undine Smith Moore, Byron Motley, Bar­bara Sherrill, Robert Owens, Nadine Shanti, Frederick Tillis, Dolores White, and Julius P. Williams.

This work represents a comprehensive historical overview of music created by women from the 9th to the 20th century. Each volume features 10-25 complete musical scores or complete movements from multi-movement compositions, many of which have been previously difficult to access. Expert scholars provide original essays about the composers, including biographical information, a discussion of the music in historical content, and critical analysis of each work. Entries also include a bibliography, a list of works by the composer and a discography. This first volume about composers born before 1600, covers music by women of the convent, women of nobility, and the trobaritz (women troubadors). The music is predominantly sacred, vocal and a capella.