Music Sources for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

In recent years, academics and professionals in the social sciences have forged significant advances in quantitative research methodologies specific to their respective disciplines. Although new and sophisticated techniques for large-scale data analyses have become commonplace in generaleducational, psychological, sociological, and econometric fields, many researchers in music education have yet to be exposed to such techniques.Design and Analysis of Quantitative Research in Music Education is a comprehensive reference for those involved with research in music education and related fields, providing a foundational understanding of quantitative inquiry methods. Authors Peter Miksza and Kenneth Elpus update and expand theset of resources that music researchers have at their disposal for conceptualizing and analyzing data pertaining to music-related phenomena. This text is designed to familiarize readers with foundational issues of quantitative inquiry as a point of view, introduce and elaborate upon issues offundamental quantitative research design and analysis, and expose researchers to new, innovative, and exciting methods for dealing with complex research questions and analyzing large samples of data in a rigorous and thorough manner. With this resource, researchers will be better equipped fordealing with the challenges of the increasingly information-rich and data-driven environment surrounding music education. An accompanying companion website provides valuable supplementary exercises and videos.

While qualitative research has become increasingly popular in music education over the last decade, there is no source that explains the terms, approaches and issues associated with this method. In The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research in American Music Education, editor Colleen Conwayand the contributing music educators will provide that clarification, as well as models of qualitative studies within various music education disciplines.The handbook outlines the history of qualitative research in music education and explores the contemporary use of qualitative approaches in examining issues related to music teaching and learning. It includes 32 chapters and is divided into five parts. Part I defines qualitative research andexamines historical, philosophical and ethical issues associated with its use in music education. Part II discusses ways of approaching qualitative research including: case study, ethnography, phenomenology, narrative inquiry, practitioner inquiry, and mixed methods. Ways of collecting and analyzingdata are examined in the third part of the text (observations, interviews, document analysis, music as data and technology). Part IV examines various music teaching and learning contexts that have been studied using qualitative approaches including: early childhood, general, instrumental-band,instrumental-string, choral, preservice and inservice teacher education, adult and community settings, student with exceptionalities, underserved populations, and world music. The final section of the book tackles permission to conduct research, teacher qualitative research, publishing qualitativeresearch and direction for the future.An ambitious and much-needed volume, this handbook will stand as a key resource for drawing meaning from the experiences of students and teachers in music classrooms and communities.

In higher music education, learning in social settings (orchestras, choirs, bands, chamber music and so on) is prevalent, yet understanding of such learning rests heavily on the transmission of knowledge and skill from master to apprentice. This narrow view of learning trajectories pervades in both one-to-one and one-to-many contexts. This is surprising given the growing body of knowledge about the power of collaborative learning in general, underpinned by theoretical developments in educational psychology: the social dimensions of learning, situational learning and concepts of communities of learners. Collaborative Learning in Higher Music Education seeks to respond to the challenge of becoming more conscious of the creative and multiple dimensions of social interaction in learning music, in contexts ranging from interdisciplinary projects to one-to-one tuition, and not least in the contemporary context of rapid change in the cultural industries and higher education as a whole. It brings together theoretical papers and case studies of practice. Themes covered include collaborative creativity, communities of practice, peer-learning, co-teaching as co-learning, assessment and curriculum structures. Chapters illuminate reasons for enabling collaborative learning, and provide exemplars of innovative practice and designs for collaborative learning environments in higher music education. A central purpose of the book is to scaffold change, to help in meeting the rapid changes in society and to find constructive stepping stones or signposts for teachers and students.

The MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning, Volume 2: Applications brings together the best and most current research on best practice for music learning, focusing squarely on the profession's empirical and conceptual knowledge of how students gain competence in music at various ages andin different contexts. The collection of chapters, written by the foremost figures active in the field, addresses a range of best practices for approaching current and important areas in the field, including cognition and perception, music listening, vocal/choral learning, and the needs of speciallearners. The book's companion volume, Strategies, provides the solid theoretical framework and extensive research upon which these practices stand.Throughout both volumes in this essential set, focus is placed on the musical knowledge and musical skills needed to perform, create, understand, reflect on, enjoy, value, and respond to music. A key point of emphasis rests on the relationship between music learning and finding meaning in music, andas music technology plays an increasingly important role in learning today, chapters move beyond exclusively formal classroom instruction into other forms of systematic learning and informal instruction.Either individually or paired with its companion Volume 1: Strategies, this indispensable overview of this growing area of inquiry will appeal to students and scholars in Music Education, as well as front-line music educators in the classroom.

Kenneth H. Phillips, Ph.D., is Professor of Music and Director of Graduate Studies in Music Education at Gordon College and Professor Emeritus of the University of Iowa. An award-winning researcher and teacher, he has been recognized by the National Association of Music Education (MENC) as oneof the nation's most accomplished music educators. Dr. Phillips is the author of Teaching Kids to Sing (Schirmer Books/Thompson), Basic Techniques of Conducting (OUP), and Directing the Choral Music Program (OUP), and has written over 90 articles published in leading music education journals. He hasmade numerous presentations of his research throughout the United States, and in Canada, China, Australia, and New Zealand.

Combining key selections from the classic MENC Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning (Schirmer, 1992) and the widely acclaimed New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning (Oxford, 2002), the MENC Handbook of Research Methodologies presents comprehensive coverage ofthe most important issues in music education research in a handy and accessible format. A distinguished team of internationally recognized experts offers cogent and concise insights that provide readers with up-to-date information and references. The volume covers the most important topics in thisfield, including the role of research in music education, philosophical, historical, qualitative, and quantitative research, as well as assessment and its relationship to research.Practical and affordable, this volume will prove essential for students and scholars of music education. It is both an excellent starting point for those looking to gain an orientation to the field, and an up-to-date reference guide to the most effective strategies for experienced researchers,instructors, and pedagogues.