This read and publish agreement contains hybrid Open Access journals also known as subscription journals. Hybrid journals allow for articles to be published with an Open Access license at the discretion of the author. Typically this option is offered so journals can comply with external funding Open Access mandates.
This read and publish agreement contains Gold Open Access journals. Gold Open Access means that all articles in the publication are made freely available to the public immediately upon publication. All articles must be published with an Open Access license.
This read and publish agreement has an annual cap on the total number of Article Processing Charges (APCs) it will cover for Rowan-affiliated authors. Please contact the library if you would like to inquire about the remaining APCs for a specific agreement.
This read and publish agreement has no annual cap on the total number of Article Processing Charges (APCs) it will cover for Rowan-affiliated authors.
Associate Professor in the Library (Scholarly Publishing & Open Research Librarian)
Questions?
If you have questions about Read and Publish Agreements please contact Ben Saracco using the email me button above or you can contact your Subject Librarian for assistance.
As demand for Open Access journal content increases worldwide, publishers have begun creating a new type of contract with institutional subscribers known as "Read and Publish Agreements" or "Transformative (Open Access) Agreements."
Rowan University Libraries have recently signed agreements with most of the top academic publishers to allow Rowan-affiliated corresponding authors, including students, faculty, and staff, to publish their research with an Open Access license without the need to pay an article processing charge.
Each agreement has a specific list of journals it covers, some agreements have an annual cap on the number of publications it covers, and some agreements have specific steps authors must complete to qualify. Additionally, some agreements only cover certain peer-reviewed study/designs while excluding others such as letters to editors or correspondences.
Please consult this guide for further details about each agreement and send your specific or unanswered questions about these agreements to Rowan University Libraries.
Navigate between each guide using the menu on the left-hand side of this page. Also, consult the icon legend featuring important details about each agreement.
American Chemical Society (ACS)
Academic disciplines covered: Chemistry, Chemical Physics, Chemical and Biological Engineering and Imaging, Environmental Sciences.
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
Academic disciplines covered: Computer Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Robotics, Data Sciences
BMJ
Academic disciplines covered: Medicine and health sciences, Nursing, Medical ethics, Medical humanities, Research protocols, Psychology, Case Reports, Global Health, Nutrition, Sports and Exercise Science
- List of covered journals
- List of covered hybrid OA journals
- List of covered gold OA journals
- Also includes The BMJ and BMJ Case Reports
- Instructions for authors
Cambridge University Press
Academic Disciplines Covered: Anthropology, Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Dance Theatre, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Economics, Education, Engineering, Film Media Mass Communications, Geography, History, Language and Linguistics, Law, Life Sciences, Literature, Management
Company of Biologists
Academic disciplines covered: Biology, Biochemistry, Cell Science
- List of covered journals: Development; Journal of Cell Science; Journal of Experimental Biology; Disease Models & Mechanisms, Biology Open
- Instructions for authors
Elsevier
Academic disciplines covered: Multidisciplinary (Over 1800 journals)
(APCs capped at 44 APCs per year)
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Disciplines covered: Engineering (multiple fields), Computer Science, Information Technology,
- List of covered journals
- Information for authors is available at the following webpage: https://open.ieee.org/partners/rowan-university/
- If you are a Rowan corresponding author and your manuscript has been accepted by IEEE, you will be notified in IEEE’s submission portal of the open access publishing options under the agreement, presented with IEEE’s standard APC (article processing charge), and asked to indicate whether you have research funds available to pay the APC. If you select the OA publishing option (whether or not you have research funds to pay the APC), you will receive an invitation to log into the payment processing system used by IEEE, CCC RightsLink, to complete the process.
- This agreement will cover the entire APC for gold open access titles and provide a discount towards the APC for hybrid open access titles.
(APCs capped at 5 total per year)
Institutes of Physics (IOP Publishing)
Academic disciplines covered: Physics (multiple fields), Engineering (multiple fields) Materials Science, Nano Science and Technology, Electrical and Industrial Engineering, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Environmental Science, Sustainability, Ecology, Food Systems, Mathematics, Pulmonary Medicine, Biology,
- List of covered journals: (Select Rowan University under Institutions option)
- Instructions for authors
MIT Press Direct to Open
Rowan University Libraries is a participating library in the MIT Press Direct to Open initiative, which supports the publishing of scholarly books.
- Direct to Open (D2O) moves the MIT Press’s new scholarly books from a solely market-based, purchase model where individuals and libraries buy single eBooks to a collaborative, library-supported open access model. Each year, participating libraries come together to open access to the Press’s new scholarly monographs and edited collections which are published under a Creative Commons license and hosted at https://direct.mit.edu/books for readers everywhere to freely read and openly share.
- Thanks to our library’s participation in the model, the world has open access to these new titles and we also receive access to a backlist collection of over 2,400 eBooks including classic works from authors such as Rosalind Krauss, Daniel Dennett, Noam Chomsky, Paul Krugman, Sherry Turkle, and many more.
- Access the eBooks in this collection at http://mitpress.mit.edu/D2O_Books
For more information about proposing a book project to the press, please see our information for prospective authors.
Oxford
Academic disciplines covered: Multidisciplinary (Over 500 journals)
- Oxford Author GuideStep-by-step guide on taking advantage of this read and publish agreement.
PLoS
Academic disciplines covered: Biology, Climate and Sustainability, Computer Science, Digital Health, Genetics, Public health, Medicine, Mental Health, protocols and preprints, Environmental sciences
- List of covered journal
- Information for authors: The corresponding author must have a rowan.edu email address. The article will be automatically published with an Open Access license and your article processing charge should be automatically waived.
- Additional information for authors is available in the PDF below.
- Additional information for authors is available in the PDF below.
Royal Society of Chemistry
Academic disciplines covered: Chemistry, Environmental Sciences, Food Science, Materials Science, Engineering, Pharmaceuticals, Energy and Fuels
Sage
Academic disciplines covered: Multidisciplinary (900+ journals)
- List of covered journals
- Instructions for authors
(APCs are capped at 15 APC/year for the term of the agreement)
SCOAP3
Academic disciplines covered: Physics (multiple disciplines),
Rowan University is a member of SCOAP3 (Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics) through the library consortium Lyrasis.
"SCOAP3 is a one-of-its-kind partnership of over three thousand libraries, key funding agencies and research centers in 44 countries, regions or territories and three intergovernmental organisations. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access and continues to support OA publishing in these journals at no cost for authors. In addition, existing Open Access journals and even books and monographs are centrally supported, removing existing financial barrier for authors and allowing a free and easy scientific discourse in High-Energy Physics. Each country, region or territory contributes in a way commensurate to its scientific output in the field.
SCOAP3 journals are open for any scientist to publish in without any financial barriers. Copyright stays with authors, and a permissive CC-BY license allows text- and data-mining. SCOAP3 addresses Open Access mandates at no burden for authors. All articles appear in the SCOAP3 repository for further distribution, as well as being Open Access on publishers’ websites. Metadata are freely available and an API (SCOAP3 partner exclusive) allows easy ingestion of all articles in national or institutional repositories." (from https://scoap3.org/what-is-scoap3/, 10/12/22)
Springer
Academic disciplines covered: Multidisciplinary (Over 2000 journals)
(APC's capped at 24 in 2024, with one 1 additional APC each year of three three-year contract)
Taylor and Francis
Academic disciplines covered: Multidisciplinary (Over 2000 journals)
(Total APCs are capped at 15 APC 2024, 20 APC 2025, 25 APC 2026)
Wiley
Academic disciplines covered: Multidisciplinary
- List of covered gold Open Access journals
- List of covered hybrid Open Access journals
- General instructions for authors
(APCs are capped at 31 APC in 2024, 32 APC 2025, 33 APC 2026)