Disciplinary Resources
This page lists resources that are useful for individual disciplines in surgery.
Basic Surgical Instruments
Advanced Surgical Recall, 4e by
Written in rapid-fire question-and-answer format, Advanced Surgical Recall, 4e provides a quick, efficient review of commonly tested information covered on the ABSITE and Oral Board exams. This portable quick-reference contains detailed illustrations of anatomic landmarks, concise coverage of surgical techniques, and a practical two-column format with questions on the left and answers on the right. The Fourth Edition offers an increased focus on ABSITE review throughout, including a new Rapid Fire Review for the ABSITE section that provides quick sample cases to test recall.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 1451116535Publication Date: 2014-09-04
General Surgery
Atlas of Advanced Operative Surgery E-Book by
Advance your surgical expertise with Atlas of Advanced Operative Surgery! This new resource picks up where other surgical references leave off, providing highly visual, step-by-step guidance on more than 100 advanced and complex procedures in both general and subspecialty areas. Visualize every procedure thanks to more than 1,000 illustrations, most in full color - including intraoperative photos, beautifully illustrated color drawings that highlight the relevant anatomy and techniques in specific surgeries, and radiologic images that help you identify variations in anatomy prior to surgery. Grasp each procedure and review key steps quickly with a consistent, highly focused, bulleted format. See the advantages and disadvantages of variations in technique with a Pro/Con section written by expert surgeons. Focus on the advanced practice skills that are of particular value to those poised to begin practice, as well as surgeons who are already in practice. Benefit from the masterful guidance of Dr. Vijay Khatri, a respected expert and experienced mentor of trainees, junior faculty, and community surgeons. Learn new procedures or refresh your memory on operative details prior to surgery with an easy-to-follow, step-by-step format: pre-operative preparation, operative technique, position, incision, main dissection, closure, alternative technical approaches (with pros/cons), and post-operative care.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 145575398XPublication Date: 2012-01-01
Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, 10th Edition by
The classic surgical atlas, more comprehensive than ever A Doody's Core Title for 2019 For more than half-a-century, Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations has been the gold-standard reference for learning howto perform the most common surgical procedures using safe, well-established techniques. The tenth edition continues this tradition of excellence. The atlas covers gastrointestinal, hepatobiliary, pancreatic, vascular, gynecologic, and additional procedures, including hernia repair, vascular access, breast procedures, sentinel lymph node biopsy, thyroidectomy, and many more. The illustrations in this atlas have withstood the test of time. They allow you to visualize both the anatomy and the operation, making the book useful as a refresher or for learning the steps of a particular procedure. The tenth edition of Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations expands the content to include 19 new operations. Each chapter contains beautifully rendered line drawings with color highlights that depict every important action you must consider while performing the operation. Each chapter also includes consistently formatted coverage of indications, preoperative preparation, anesthesia, position, operative preparation, incision and exposure, procedure, closure, and postoperative care.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780071797566Publication Date: 2016-04-22
Cardiac Surgery
Cardiac Surgery in the Adult Fifth Edition by
The most comprehensive and current full-color cardiac surgery resource - updated by leading surgeons In Cardiac Surgery in the Adult, Fifth Edition, the world's foremost cardiovascular surgeons deliver thorough, up-to-date coverage of operative strategy, decision making, technique, and pre- and post-operative management for treating the adult cardiac patient. Unmatched in both scope and clinical rigor, this classic text contains 63 chapters that highlight every important topic in cardiovascular surgery. Presented in full color, Cardiac Surgery in the Adult takes readers through the optimal treatment of congenital, acquired, infectious, and traumatic diseases of the heart and great vessels. The book opens with a history of cardiac surgery and basic cardiac science, then moves into all types of cardiac surgery, providing both practicing surgeons and residents with insight into the very latest surgical protocols. Cardiac Surgery in the Adult is logically divided into ten sections: * Basics (includes history, anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, computed tomography, risk assessment, simulation, and the fully integrated cardiovascular center) * Perioperative/Intraoperative Care * Ischemic Heart Disease * Aortic Valve Disease * Mitral Valve Disease * Surgery of the Great Vessels * Rhythm Surgery * Other Cardiac Operations (including congenital heart disease, pericardial disease, and cardiac neoplasms) * Transplant and Mechanical Circulatory Support The Fifth Edition has been updated throughout, and includes the latest advances in minimally invasive surgery and simulation.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 0071844872Publication Date: 2017-08-28
Vascular Surgery
Rutherford's Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy, 2-Volume Set by
Through nine outstanding editions, Rutherford's Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy has been the gold standard text in this fast-changing, complex field. Published in association with the Society for Vascular Surgery, this state-of-the-art reference by Drs. Anton N. Sidawy and Bruce A. Perler is a must-have for vascular surgeons, interventionalists, vascular medicine specialists, and trainees, as well as general surgeons, interventional radiologists, and cardiologists that depend upon "Rutherford's" in their practice. It offers authoritative guidance from the most respected and innovative global thought leaders and clinical and basic science experts in the diagnosis and treatment of circulatory disease. Incorporates medical, endovascular, and surgical treatment, as well as diagnostic techniques, decision making, and fundamental vascular biology. Features all vascular imaging techniques, offering a non-invasive evaluation of both the morphology and hemodynamics of the vascular system. Provides unparalleled insight from multidisciplinary leaders worldwide, who share their expertise on the most appropriate contemporary and future treatment of circulatory disease. Employs a full-color layout, images and online video so you can view clinical and physical findings and operative techniques more vividly. Includes 40 new chapters incorporating a shorter, more focused format with a summary for each chapter that provides a quick access to key information - ideal for consultation situations as well as daily practice. Some of these chapters are organized in new sections dedicated to open operative exposure and vessel dissection techniques, diabetic foot, Pediatric Vascular Disease, and practice management issues; areas in the specialty that clinicians frequently face but seldom detailed in other vascular texts nor in earlier Rutherford editions. Covers hot topics such as endovascular therapy of aortic arch and thoracoabdominal aortic aneurysm disease, including the evolving management of aortic dissections. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780323427913Publication Date: 2018-06-05
Obstetrics and Gynecology (ObGyn)
Williams Gynecology, Fourth Edition by
The only gynecological text that combines a medical reference and surgical procedural atlas into one volume has been fully updated and revised A cost-effective option to purchasing two separate textbooks, this lavishly illustrated guide brings you fully up to date on the latest topics, including minimally invasive procedures, benign gynecology, and the subspecialties of urogynecology, gynecologic oncology, and reproductive endocrinology. With 1,200 photos and illustrations--including 450 full-color figures depicting operative techniques, Williams Gynecology provides comprehensive coverage of the full spectrum of gynecologic healthcare and disease management, including benign general gynecology; reproductive endocrinology, infertility, and menopause; female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery; and gynecologic oncology. Its extensive use of treatment algorithms, differential diagnosis boxes, and other elements, make finding the right answers a quick, efficient process. The Aspects of Gynecologic Surgery and Atlas of Gynecologic Surgery section covers benign gynecologic conditions, minimally invasive surgery, surgeries for female pelvic reconstruction, and surgeries for gynecologic malignancies.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9781260456868Publication Date: 2020-04-24
Williams Obstetrics, 25th Edition by
The world's premier obstetrics guide-now updated with a greater focus on maternal-fetal medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The obstetrics text that has defined the discipline for generations of obstetrician-gynecologists is now more timely--and essential--than ever. Written by authors from the nationally known University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Williams Obstetrics maintains its trademark comprehensive coverage and applicability at the bedside, while offering the most current perspective of the field. This landmark text begins with fundamental discussions of reproductive anatomy and physiology. These dovetail into clinical chapters covering obstetrical complications such as preterm labor, pregnancy-related infection, hemorrhage, and hypertension, among others. Representing the culmination of a century of clinical thought, the new Twenty-Fifth Edition is enhanced by more than 1,000 full-color illustrations plus an increased emphasis on the fast-growing subspecialty of maternal-fetal medicine. Features * Entire section on the diagnosis and treatment of fetal disorders, providing deeper insights into fetal complications in utero * Traditional focus on the varied medical and surgical disorders that can complicate pregnancy * 1,000 eye-catching illustrations, including updated graphs, sonograms, MRIs, photographs, and photomicrographs * Solid evidence-based approach highlights the scientific underpinnings of clinical obstetrics, with special emphasis on physiological principles * Current professional and academic guidelines are incorporated into the text and appear in easy-to-read tables * Updated with 3,000 new literature citations through 2017 No other text can match the long-established scientific rigor and accessibility of Williams Obstetrics. With its state-of-the-art design and review of the newest advances and protocols, this not-be-missed clinical companion brings positive outcomes within reach.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 1259644324Publication Date: 2018-04-12
Ear, Nose and Throat (ENT)
Operative Otolaryngology by
Emergent operative technologies and surgical approaches have transformed today's otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, and the 3rd Edition of Operative Otolaryngology brings you up to date with all that's new in the field. You'll find detailed, superbly illustrated guidance on all of the endoscopic, microscopic, laser, surgically-implantable, radio-surgical, neurophysiological monitoring, and MR- and CT-imaging technological advances that now define contemporary operative OHNS - all in one comprehensive, two-volume reference. Covers everything from why a procedure should be performed to the latest surgical techniques to post-operative management and outcomes - from experts in otolaryngology, plastic surgery, oral and maxillofacial surgery, neurological surgery, and ophthalmology. Features a newly streamlined, templated chapter format that makes information easier to access quickly. Includes all-new videos (more than 150 videos in all) showing step-by-step techniques and procedures such as management of tracheal stenosis and transoral and robotic tonsil surgery for cancers of the base of tongue and pharynx, plus new full-color clinical photographs and line drawings throughout the text. Combines all pediatric procedures into one comprehensive section for quick reference. Offers expanded coverage of endoscopic techniques for cranial base surgery, plus information on the latest endoscopic cancer techniques including robotic surgery, minimally invasive thyroid surgery, and new techniques for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea including implantable nerve stimulators. Contains state-of-the-art guidance on the ear/temporal bone/skull base, including fully- and semi-implantable auditory implants, vestibular implants, imaging advances, radiosurgical treatment of posterior fossa and skull base neoplasms, intraoperative monitoring of cranial nerve and CNS function, minimally-invasive surgical approaches to the entire skull base, vertigo and postural disequilibrium, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 0323401503Publication Date: 2017-09-28
