Skip to main content

Management & Entrepreneurship Research

Resources for the study of all aspects of management and entrepreneurship, including books, databases of journal and newspaper articles, and recommended websites.

Home - Business Databases

Start Here - Search Business Databases

Library databases are collections of articles, reports, or information that are not easily available for free via a Google search. These licensed resources are purchased by the library for use by our students, faculty, and staff, and thus require you to login with your Rowan credentials. Click the links below to start your research on companies, industries, consumers, and more!

Bloomberg terminals in Bunce Hall

Additional Databases, such as Bloomberg (in Bunce Hall Room 156) and Capital IQ (online access by specially assigned username/password only) are available in the Rohrer College of Business for certain courses. Contact your professor for more information.

Some Tips for Class Assignments in Management and Entrepreneurship

Remember to always start your search from the Campbell Library home page.

To cite business databases properly, use tips located here http://libguides.bentley.edu/citingsources-apa (under each yellow bar).

  • Company Research is found in databases like Mergent Online, Privco, Hoovers, and PassportGMID (all are 'best databases' linked in box above). Also, try these videos for the ABI/Inform Annual Reports tutorial and the ReferenceUSA Company Search tutorial (especially for finding local companies).
  • SWOT analyses can be found in multiple places:
    • In Business Source Elite, to find SWOT analyses of particular companies, choose 'Company Profiles' from top blue menu before searching, then pick company from the list. Each company's MarketLine PDF contains a SWOT section.
    • In ABI/Inform, try this video for the ABI/Inform SWOT tutorial
    • In Mergent Online, also look at the 'Government Filings' tab to find companies' annual 10-K reports to the SEC, in which they will also explain some of their business risks.
  • NAICS codes can be found here http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/
  • Market share data also appears in Market Share Reporter 2015 ebook edition (search for your topic or company within this directory).

Try the new Census Business Builder: Regional Edition for demographics of our local area. Choose the 'businesses' tab or the 'consumer spending' tab to see total numbers of local employers in a particular industry along with their payroll and employee counts, or total consumer expenditures on transportation, travel, housing and more, all for our local area.  A similar resource is the ReferenceUSA database, which can create heat maps of various demographics and company locations.

Business Plan examples are in Business Plans Handbook (32-volume ebook from Gale), which has basic examples from every industry. Be sure to check out our ever-growing list of e-books and print books from the library on how to write a business plan.

The popular NOLO Business Start-up books such as Legal Guide for Starting and Running a Small Business are in the Small Business Reference Center database.

And don't forget to prepare your business model/business plan (fall) and elevator pitch (spring) for each year's competitions at Rowan!

Research Insight (For Graduate Student Projects)

Graduate students need to know that Research Insight (Compustat) software is now on the Rowan Cloud. 

Some directions and tutorials for using Research Insight that may be helpful:

https://mason.wm.edu/about/library/documents/researchinsight.pdf

http://business.etsu.edu/acct/resources/compustat/primna80.pdf

http://biblioteca.ugr.es/pages/biblioteca_electronica/bases_datos/compustat_north_america/!

http://www.financect.net/main/index.php?option=com_wrapper&view=wrapper&Itemid=114​

http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/ref/dbdesc/researchhowto.htm ("Beyond the Basics" link)

FAQs within Research Insight software under the software's Help menu

For more, search “research insight” on YouTube!

And of course, check with your professor.

Find Journals and News Articles

Management & Entrepreneurship Journals to Browse

Browse by clicking on the dates of each journal's issues, or search for a keyword within that journal's articles.  If you are off campus, you will be required to authenticate by logging in with your Rowan user name and password.

Remember, the links below are for individual journals that you can browse. In order to search multiple journals at once, use the Best Databases for Management and Entrepreneurship link, or the All Business Databases at Rowan link.

Find Articles in Business Newspapers

The websites of major newspapers often do not have the same contents as the printed or subscribed versions of those newspapers. Websites often include user-generated content like comments, blogs, etc. in addition to real articles from journalists. Use these databases to find the official versions of newspaper articles which have been editor-reviewed.

As always, request other books or articles that Rowan does not own by using the forms on the Interlibrary Loan page, http://www.lib.rowan.edu/services/ill

Find Print Books and E-books

Featured E-Books from Campbell Library

Print books on the shelves and electronic books online both count as real books in your bibliographies for papers.  Books may give lots of information on a particular topic, or they may give more detail on a particular aspect of that topic or offer how-to assistance in a subject.  There are a few main ways to find books in Campbell Library:

Below are some examples of e-books that are useful to accounting and finance majors.  If you need help finding more books, please contact the library.

Browsing for Management Books

You can browse the library catalog using business subject headings like these.  If you need any assistance in accessing an e-book (electronic resource) or locating an item on the shelf (print book), please contact the library.

Business Communication

Entrepreneurship

Entrepreneurship--Case studies

Entrepreneurship--History

Entrepreneurship--United States

Business Incubators

Business Planning

New Business Enterprises

Communication in Management

Comparative Management

Leadership

Leadership and Management

Organizational Change

Small Business -- Management

Women Executives

Suggested Print Books in Campbell Library

Some books just do not come in electronic formats. In addition to browsing the e-books above, you can also browse print books on the shelves in Campbell Library. Most business books are on the third floor, in between call numbers HA and HF. When you find a book you like, just take it off the shelf and bring it with your Rowan student ID to the front desk for check-out.  Borrowing books and videos is free for students, as long as you return them on time.

World Cat Search for Items not Owned by Rowan

Search other universities' library catalogs:

If Rowan does not own the item, ask us!  http://www.lib.rowan.edu/services/ill

Specifically for Human Resources

Subject Headings for Browsing HR Print Books and E-books

Using the library's catalog, you can conduct subject searches which will result in a list of book titles that focus on a topic you need.  From the library's homepage, simply click on the  LibraryCatalog link and try a few keywords.

While searching is a useful strategy, it is also sometimes helpful to browse our list of materials, since not every book will have the words 'human resources' in its title.  The list below includes just some of the subject headings you might browse to find print books and e-books on specific topics in the field of human resource management.

Personnel management (note the subject heading is not 'human resource management' in this system)

Career Development

Civil Service--personnel management

Communication in personnel management

Compensation management

Diversity in the workplace

Employee assistance programs

Employee morale

Employee retention

Employees--Recruitin

Incentives in industry

Labor discipline

Labor turnover

Manpower planning

Psychology, Industrial

Employees

Supervision of employees

. . .or . . .
 

Call number for browsing on the 3rd floor: HF5549

 

HR Journals for Browsing and Keeping Up-to-Date

Career Resources Guide

Don't forget to check out our other guide for job seekers, the Career Resources
library research guide.

Specifically for Data Analytics

And don't forget ... Learn with Lynda.com

Contact Subject Librarian