Library databases are collections of articles, reports, or information that are not easily available for free via a Google search. These licensed resources are purchased by the library and university for use by our students, faculty, and staff -- therefore you are required to login with your Rowan credentials. Click the links below to start your research on companies, industries, consumers, and more!
Additional databases, such as Bloomberg (terminals in Trading Room in Business Hall) or Capital IQ and Wharton Research Data Service/WRDS (online access by specially assigned username/password only) are available to Rohrer College of Business students for certain courses. Contact your professor for more information on these. POM for Excel, SAP, Stata, and other software applications can be accessed on the Rowan cloud (to access, download the Rowan Citrix client and login with your Rowan credentials). Faculty, check with your colleagues for passwords to these and the instructor notes for the Sage Business Cases database. Not all library databases provide their article links via the Library Search "big box" -- you need to go to the individual business databases too!
Remember to always start your search from the Campbell Library home page, where links to all of our database subscriptions are located.
Need more library database tutorials? Check the menu of this page for more info.
Need to cite a business database for your bibliography? Use the tips located at https://libguides.bentley.edu/citingsources-apa/references (choose database name by scrolling to get the APA citation example for each library database). Want to practice in-text citations of sources in APA format? Try our Citing Sources tutorial module for explanations.
Journal articles usually report on the results of experiments, studies, or projects, and often include advice on best practices and "what works" in various areas of business. Articles and reports of business information are usually found in library databases.
For a quick search of your topic in some of the databases at once, try your topic in Library Search (sometimes called "Primo"). Although it says that you are searching library resources in Rowan Library, you are mostly searching the business databases with traditional newspaper and journal articles here, such as ABI/Inform or ProQuest Central, and some ebooks such as those from Springer. Remember that this search does not search most business databases with 'non-article' type content like the reports in IBIS World or the data in Passport or PrivCo. For those, you'll need to go to the business database links above and choose the particular database for the type of information you need.
You can also use the Library Search for Specific Journal Titles in order to find articles from a specific periodical (journal, newspaper, magazine), by typing its title or ISSN #. Sometimes it is helpful in this Journal Title box to include the title of the item in quotes (such as "Financial Times"). As you can see below, we have MANY business publications for you to search. Here are some examples:
Most Common Newspapers
The websites of major newspapers often do not have the same contents as the printed or subscribed versions of those newspapers. Websites often include user-generated content like comments, blogs, etc. in addition to real articles from journalists. BOTH of these types of articles will often appear in the library's holdings. Use the Library Search/Journal Search to query a specific periodical (journal, newspaper, magazine) by its title or ISSN #. Sometimes it is helpful to include the title of the journal in quotes (such as "Financial Times"). Then be sure to choose the right version from the list.
Library Databases to Find Even More Newspapers
In addition, some library databases serve as aggregators for newswire articles and newspaper articles from around the country or around the world. As an alternate way to search, choose a newspaper database first, then see if that database has the particular newspaper title and/or dates that you need. Below are some library databases that have business news articles, both current and historical:
The PREP STEP database on library home page provides practice tests online.
We are pleased to provide you with a curated repository of resources available to Rowan faculty who seek to help their students develop an entrepreneurial mindset. The resources below are all freely available online and/or licensed through Rowan University Libraries (log in with your usual credentials if needed). The Rowan Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, in partnership with the Faculty Center, also run an annual certificate program for faculty who wish to take a deeper dive into how to integrate entrepreneurial mindset into their courses. For more information on this program please contact RCIE@rowan.edu