Computer Science

This guide will help you get started searching the computer science "literature" for research papers on your topic and finding other resources such as books, journals, government websites, and published theses and dissertations.

Be sure to visit the different pages of this guide using the tabs on the left.

Library Search connects you to books, articles, and a variety of other library sources.

Schedule an appointment with me:

We recommend that you use the specialized subscription databases on the library website to search for engineering "literature" (papers) because you will see only content that the library subscribes to. 

However if you prefer to use Google Scholar, you can create a Google Scholar profile with your Rowan University credentials, which will give you access to the library's subscription content.

Then when you search in Google Scholar, you will see links to the right of some results labeled Full Text @Rowan University. Selecting one of these links will take you to the subscribed content.

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for the Chrome, Firefox, and Edge web browsers.

*Important Note* The Rowan University Information Security Office has blocked access to the Chrome browser extension library on Rowan managed laptops and desktops of Rowan faculty and staff that have access to PHI (Protected Healthcare Information). Those users will not be able to install LibKey Nomad on Chrome.  A work-around is to install and use LibKey Nomad on a different browser.  

Once you install LibKey Nomad, you can use it to download full text articles to which we subscribe, from any publisher website where you find them. (Otherwise you would need to go to the library website to access the full text if you are off campus.)

When the full text PDF is available to you, you will see a LibKey Download PDF icon in the bottom left corner of the page.

If it is not, you will see a button labeled Access Options which will direct you to our Interlibrary Loan system.

Watch the short video shown below to learn how to download the extension for the browser you use.  

The following subscription databases available through the library website contain scholarly articles in Computer Science.

This page explains ways to find computer science books through the library.

Computer science books are located in the QA76 section on the 4th floor of Campbell Library. Most programming books are in QA76 but some are in the TK (computer engineering) section.

These subscription sources are available through the library website.

This page highlights good websites for computer science research. 

This page offers several options for finding scientific journals containing research on computer science.

To discover whether the library subscribes to a specific journal, and see content in that journal, go to the Search Tools section of the Campbell Library home page. Click on the Journal Finder option.

Enter the complete name of the journal (no abbreviations) - for example, "Environmental & Engineering Geoscience."

If the journal is listed in the results, click on Available Online. Then scroll down to View Online and choose a database link. In this example there should be a link for the database GeoScienceWorld.

If you are looking for a specific issue of the journal, there is usually a way to browse volumes and issues to drill down to the desired issue.

Or, search within the journal using the Search box in the top right corner to find articles on a topic.

Journal articles to which we do not have full text access may be requested through our online Interlibrary Loan request system, Illiad. Articles are usually sent to your email address within a few days.