Reference Resources
Directions in Applied Linguistics by
The essays and research papers in this collection explore current issues in Language Education, English for Academic Purposes, Contrastive Discourse Analysis, and Language Policy and Planning, and outline promising directions for theory and practice in applied linguistics. The collection also honours the life-long contribution of Robert B. Kaplan to the field.
ISBN: 9781853598494Publication Date: 2005-10-06
Language, Culture, and Society by
For four previous editions, professor have turned to Zdenek Salzmann’s Language, Culture, and Society for its comprehensive coverage of all critical aspects of linguistic anthropology, as well as for its reputation as a pedagogically sound, student-friendly text. New coauthors James Stanlaw and Nobuko Adachi join Salzmann in revising this classic text. With extensive updates and expanded discussions of fundamental issues, the fifth edition continues to be the essential teaching text for the introductory linguistic anthropology course. The fifth edition of Language, Culture, and Society features: * Three new chapters on language and thought, language and ideology, and language in a globalized world, as well as expanded consideration of the role of linguistics as a key subfield of anthropology. * An updated built-in resource manual and study guide for students and instructors. * Sidebars and boxes throughout to provide ethnographic detail, enhance student comprehension, and illustrate the practical experience of conducting linguistic research. * End-of-chapter summary and conclusion sections and a glossary for easy review, as well as an updated bibliography for further research.
ISBN: 9780813345406Publication Date: 2011-09-13
Rowan Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reference collection (dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies etc.) for all academic disciplines.
- Ebooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive of full-text scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text database of current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Internet Resources
- EthnologueAn encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world's 6,912 known living languages
- SIL Linguistic ResourcesSummer Institute of Linguistics presents a topically organized list of resources on the Internet that may be of interest to the linguist
Print Applied Linguistic Books
Language, Culture, and Society by
This fourth edition expands its coverage of the fundamental issues in the field, including language and gender, and language and ethnicity. Now with a built-in Resource Manual and Study Guide, Language, Culture, and Society is the teaching text for the linguistic anthropology course.
Call Number: P35 .S18 2007 4th floorISBN: 0813343429Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Linguistic Fieldwork by
This book is a collection of original essays on the practice of linguistic fieldwork and language documentation. Twelve of the leading field linguists in the world have written personal essays about the study of languages in a natural setting. Drawing on extensive research experience, they pass on the lessons they have learnt, review the techniques that they found worked best in practice, and discuss a variety of relevant topics, including the attitude of the linguist, the structure and content of the work session, the varied roles of native speakers, and the practical and personal challenges of doing research in an unfamiliar environment. Covering a wide range of field areas, and written in an accessible manner, the book will be indispensable to fieldworkers in linguistics, anthropology, folklore and oral history.
Call Number: P128.F53 L56 2001 4th floorISBN: 0521660491Publication Date: 2001-06-21
Beyond Ebonics by
Beyond Ebonics offers the first comprehensive survey of events surrounding the Oakland, California school board's resolutions declaring Ebonics as the official language of their African American students. Baugh's research uncovers untold facts surrounding this controversy, exposing linguistic stereotypes, conflicting definitions for Ebonics, and the political firestorm that ensued. His conslusions touch upon the race relations, including calls for increased national unity and greater linguistic tolerance.
Call Number: PE3102.N42 B37 2000, 4th floor-- print & ebookISBN: 9780195120462Publication Date: 2000-02-10
