Research Guides: Communication Research Resources: Find Articles

Databases to Help You Find Articles

Databases are collections of many articles based on a topic or theme, on a certain publisher's journal titles, or just on a wide variety of useful subjects. Search for articles using any of the database links below. Use the Get it! button to retrieve full text if you do not see a PDF or full text link.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database which covers many subject areas and has lots of full-text articles, as well as the 'Get It' button which helps link to other databases or the interlibrary loan form.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
One of the primary communication databases which has many articles and journals not found elsewhere.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
A useful database for controversial issues topics, with encyclopedia-type coverage of most debatable issues; includes information on many sides of any argument.
Contains resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Individual resources available in the Library include the following: CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher Plus Archives; CQ Weekly; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; and the Supreme Court Yearbook.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Useful for topics related to education and schooling, or to childhood development and learning, like video game effects or media violence.
Provides full text, indexing, and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A central location for the gender aspect of many subject areas and issues. Good for finding sources about bias, training, the media, and many other topics.
Full text database of periodical articles and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A classic database that has many current articles added every week. Use for wide coverage of humanities and social science topics, as well as issues in the biological and environmental sciences.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Contains newspaper articles from many areas of the country and details news from many big and small U.S. cities, as well as the national news wires.
NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international sources, including The Washington Post, Miami Herald, Philadelphia Inquirer, Trenton Times, USA Today, London Times, The Economist China Daily (Beijing).
New York Times (current) This link opens in a new window
NYT articles are inside the database called ProQuest Newsstand. Use this database to find current New York Times newspaper articles, from 2010 to the present. Remember, these are the print publication's articles, not necessarily the same as those from nytimes.com
New York Times Late Edition (East Coast). Full text access to the newspaper’s articles (1980 – present) is within the ProQuest Newsstand database; there are no graphics available.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find New York Times articles from both the recent past and the distant past. Good for finding primary sources from decades and centuries ago.
Presents PDF pages of the newspaper, preserving the visual sense of the publication. This online format replaces the microfiche archival coverage.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International news and information from foreign countries, useful for obtaining a different perspective on various cultural, historical, and current issues.
Contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages.
PsycArticles (APA) This link opens in a new window
Database which contains articles about human behavior, decisions, attitudes, and perceptions; useful for primary source research on experiments and studies.
Definitive source of searchable full text articles on current issues in psychology. The database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Useful database of articles about psychology, the brain, memory, behavior, and preferences. Contains many articles not found in other databases.
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations; it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Sociological Abstracts (1952-current) This link opens in a new window
Database of studies about society and its patterns, problems, and environments. Good companion to psychology databases when narrowing down aspects of a topic.
Index to publications in the fields of sociology, social sciences and related disciplines from 1952 to the present. Click the Get-It button to link to full text, when available.

Search for New York Times Articles Now

Remember, there are two different database links for New York Times articles (current & historical); this box searches for current news.