Skip to main content

Communication Research Resources: Web Sites

Provides direction for research in communication theory and practice from interpersonal, group, organizational, intercultural, rhetorical, and mass communication sources.

Before You Start: Evaluation of Internet Sources

Internet sources can vary in quality and usefulness as information for scholary research.  This is true of the souces listed on this page.  If you need to use scholarly or peer-reviewed sources, look at the evaluation criteria from the Cornell University Libraries at the link below.  Cornell provides five simple criteria that can help solve the puzzle of whether the information found on the web is credible.

But if you really want more detailed ways of assessing a website's credibility, check out the University of California-Berkeley page.

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

While a self promotional website for the film industry, this is a good place to get news of Hollywood.  Also, the Academy's film archive may be of use to serious researchers who are willing to abide by the rules and responsibilities for borrowing film prints.  These are the people who create the annual Academy Awards extravaganza.

Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

While often self-congratulatory and with the obvious agenda of promoting the television industry, the organization's website contains a wealth of information, although the researcher should be wary of its bias.  Check out the archives section for historical information and the news section for what is hot in Hollywood.  These are the people who award themselves Emmys.

ACRL (Association of College Research Libraries) Opinion Poll Guide and Directory

ACRL provides hypertext links to polls by major news organizations, private research companies, government agencies and international organizations.  The scope is worldwide and the list of polls is extensive.

American Rhetoric

This website is a gateway to examples of various kinds of speeches and a discussion of public speaking.

Beyond Intractability.org

While this website has an agenda, it presents serious information based on research regarding communication and conflict resolution, from the interpersonal level to the international arena, making it a reasonable place to get ideas about how to proceed with one's own research.

Bibliography and History of the Book

This web page lists multiple hypertext links to sites that address book history and the development of the publishing industry.

CCMS: Communication, Cultural and Media Studies Research Centre

Maintained by the University of Salford (UK), this is one of the larger media studies programs in Britain.

Center for Public Integrity

A non-profit organization conducting journalistic investigations of major national and international issues that can provide an alternative voice about political and social concerns. 

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)

This is a major project to provide PDF images of many of America's historic newspapers. At this stage of development, the site offers more than 226,000 pages of public domain newspapers from California, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, Virginia and the District of Columbia published between 1900 and 1910.  It is a work in progress, but is a searchable database that can serve as a supplement to the Historic New York Times.  Regional newspapers during earlier times were much less likely to mirror what New York said than what newspapers, unfortunately, often do today.

Citizen Journalism Websites

Citizen journalism (aka community journalism) stresses the participation of citizen voices in the dissemination of information about communities, making the media a more democratic forum.  This is a list of websites that discuss issues associated with the topic.

Communication Law: WashLaw

Washburn Universtiy's School of Law provides an extensive list of links to websites for electronic law journals, special interest law groups, and scholarly discussion of issues associated with media law and regulation.

Communication Research Measures

These are measures that have been developed by researchers who are, or at one time were, faculty members or graduate students at West Virginia University. They were developed for use by researchers and may be used for research or instructional purposes with no individualized permission. There is no cost for this use. Please cite the source(s) noted at the bottom of the measure when publishing articles based on research using these instruments.

Communication Theories: University of Twente (Netherlands)

This overview of multiple communication theories allows students to easily choose a theory for an assignment or report by browsing through the different theories. This Dutch university advises students to be critical when using a theory. Students should use their own judgment about the usefulness of a theory to describe a communicative situation.

Covering Crime and Justice: A Guide for Journalists

Under the auspices of the Center for Justice and Journalism of the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Southern California, this searchable website focuses on issues related to the often conflicting rights of the First and Sixth Amendments to the US Constitution.

Ctheory.com

This online journal of communication and culture deals with a wide variety of topics and may require some diligent searching to find articles that address common research topics.  Hoiwever, its esoteric nature can yield some thought provoking articles.

C-Span.com (The Communicators)

The website describes itself by saying:  "The Communicators is C-SPAN's weekly series featuring a half-hour interview with the people who shape our digital future. The Communicators airs Saturdays on C-SPAN at 6:30pm (ET) and Monday on C-SPAN2 at 8am (ET) & 8pm (ET)."  It is a way of following who is saying what about key issues in politics and the media. 

Critical Theory and Critical Theorists

A web portal to the key ideas of critical theory and theorists who have had a significant impact on the study of media in the postmodern age.

Duke University Ad*Access

Explore over 7000 ads that appeared in American media from 1911 to 1955, a tour de force of ads as cultural icons of American consumerism in the early 20th century.

Encyclpedia of Television

This online encyclopedia provides overview information on televison programming and personalities, especially for the earlier days of television.  It can be a good source to browse for research topics and basic information, but users should remember that all encylopedias only provide sketchy information and should not be cited as sources in academic research.

Federal Communications Commission: Statistical Data

The FCC provides statistical data on an array of broadcast media that can serve as a supplement to other data from commercial publishers.

FlowTV

FlowTV is a critical forum on television and media culture published by the Department of Radio, Television, and Film at the University of Texas at Austin. Flow’s mission is to provide a space where the public can discuss the changing landscape of contemporary media.

Google Scholar

While articles found on this website are usually peer reviewed, results can be inconsistent, with many returns guiding the user to buy a book from a commercial website or requiring the user to purchase a copy of the article.  Although this is a reasonable search engine to use in an emergency or as a supplement to library databases, it is too inconsistent to be used as the primary vehicle for locating scholarly information.

GradSchools.com

Locate graduate programs in communication and related subjects in the United States and abroad.

Harvard Business Online: Public Speaking

This is Harvard University's online searchable site for articles related to public speaking to internal and external audiences, and the skills needed to address them.

How Americans Communicate: A Roper Survey Commissioned by the National Communication Association

This 1999 survey concentrates on interpersonal, family, and workplace communication.  It can provide some interesting information and a perspective for further research in these areas.

Infomine

The subtitle for this site promises access to "scholarly internet reseource collections" but not all sources located here will live up to the website's promise.  Many are not scholarly.  However, this is a searchable multidisciplinary portal to varied kinds of sources that can provide information for communication researchers.

Institute for the Future of the Book

This organization's website investigates how the book is likely to change in the future and how the accummulated information of humankind may become more accessible to more people in years to come.

Intuit: Information Science Resources

Multiple websites that provide a wealth of information for those researchers interested in information science

Journalism Ethics

An annotated list of websites that discuss ethical issues facing journalists in the postmodern era.

Librarian's Internet Index

Vetted for appropriateness for scholarly research by a group of California librarians, this website covers multiple areas in the social sciences, including media and film research topics.

Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs

The Prints & Photographs collection contains about one million digital images of historical American events that may be useful for the researcher who wants to examine illustrations in journalism history.  But be careful of what you choose to use, because not all the images are in the public domain and some restrictions on use may apply.

Media Law Resource Center

Look to this website to explain the difference between libel and slander or a host of other media related legal topics.  Check out their "Topics Page," "Model Briefs & Guides," and "Publications" pages from the left-hand menu as well.

Media Research Hub

As "part of Social Science Research Council's Necessary Knowledge for a Democratic Public Sphere program, which works to ensure that debates about communications technologies and the media are shaped by high-quality research and a rich understanding of the public interest," the Hub serves to connect scholars, media professionals, and advocacy groups.

Mother Jones

Often critical and sometimes irreverent, this website casts an analytical eye on coverage of current events.  While not a scholarly site, it nonetheless offers a perspective that may differ from that of mainstream news organizations.

NewsLink: Radio and Television

Search for local radio and television stations nationwide, information about how they serve their markets, and the latest news about the media in various localities.

Online Journalism Review: Annenberg School for Communication (USC)

An electronic review of current media issues that looks beyond the headlines and provides analysis and comment on journalistic practices.

On the Media from NPR

National Public Radio uses this website as a forum for discussion of how meaning is made within media itself and how that meaning is broadcast to the public.

Open J-Gate

While this general purpose search engine from India covers a variety of topics, type in a communication related topic for resources that reflect a varied international perspective on research.

Paley Center for Media

The website offers an online database that searches the Center's collection of more than 140,000 television and radio programs, providing synopses, along with production credits for the programs.

Pew Research Center

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling and social science research; by reporting news and analyzing news coverage; and by holding forums and briefings. It does not take positions on policy issues.

PMC: Postmodern Culture

PMC: Postmodern Culture, founded in 1990 as one of the early electronic journals, provides an interdisciplinary forum for "thought on contemporary cultures, publishing the work of such noted authors and critics as Kathy Acker, Charles Bernstein, Bruce Robbins, bell hooks, and Susan Howe. PMC combines high scholarly standards with broad appeal for non-academic readers. As an entirely web-based journal, PMC can publish still images, sound, animation, and full-motion video as well as text."

PRCA: Personal Report of Communication Apprehension

This commonly accepted survey instrument is designed to allow both researchers and individuals to assess the communication apprehension of either a group of research subjects, or one's own personal level of apprehension in several different kinds of communicative situations.

Professional Cartoonists' Index

Review this searchable website for how cartoonists from a variety of media outlets see current and past soocial, political, and economic issues.

UCLA Film & Television Archive

Search this database for thousands of feature film and television programs.