Skip to main content

Law and Justice Studies

A selection of resource to help you get started with research in the filed of Criminal Justice.

Law and Justice Resources

Academic Search Complete

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 6,600 journals.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly; 1987 to current. (CSA) VALE

CQ Press Electronic Library

This “library” is composed of two modules:  CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly.  Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news with controversial topics addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner. Coverage 1923 to present.  CQ Weekly reports weekly on the workings of Congress.

Criminal Justice Abstracts

Contains more than 200,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.  (Ebsco)  

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index

This comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.  Coverage: 1981-Current.  (ProQuest)

Criminology FT (Sage)

The journals that comprised this database are now part of Sage Journals Online.

JSTOR

Archive of full-text scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines.

Project Muse

Full text database of  current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. JStor can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.

Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)

Found on the Web of Knowledge Platform, The Web of Science includes science, social science and humanities resource in its  database.

WestLaw Next Campus Research

An easy-to-use online research service that provides a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. Includes New Jersey Administrative Code.

Primary Documents

Archives Unbound

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

Avalon Project

Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government, under the direction of Yale Law School.  We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.”

Statistics and Data Sources

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

The organization, financial expenditures, and employment of law enforcement, courts, and corrections systems in the United States are the focus of this section. Legislation related to driving and alcohol use also is covered.

Uniform Crime Reports (UCR)

The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program and the data it contains is an invaluable tool those in law enforcement, from student to executive level.

United Nations Crime and Justice Information Network

A massive collection of crime data from countries throughout the world.